Do returned cards have summoning sickness?

Do Returned Cards Have Summoning Sickness?

Returned cards do have summoning sickness, meaning that any card that returns from exile returns as if you just played it, and a creature will have summoning sickness and any card that had any effects placed on it prior to exile will no longer have those effects. The concept of summoning sickness is crucial in understanding how returned cards interact with the game, and it is essential to comprehend the rules and restrictions associated with creature cards.

Understanding Summoning Sickness

The concept of summoning sickness is straightforward: a creature cannot attack or use activated abilities that require tapping until you have continuously controlled it since the beginning of the controller’s most recent turn. This restriction is in place to balance the game and prevent creatures from being too powerful.

Frequently Asked Questions

The following FAQs provide additional information and clarity on summoning sickness and returned cards:

  1. What is summoning sickness in Return to Play?: Summoning Sickness means that a creature cannot attack or use activated abilities that require tapping until you have continuously controlled it since the beginning of the controller’s most recent turn.
  2. Does return to battlefield cause summoning sickness?: Creatures have summoning sickness if you have not controlled them continuously since the beginning of your most recent turn, regardless of where they enter from.
  3. Can you tap a permanent with summoning sickness?: A creature with Summoning Sickness is neither able to attack nor use any tap abilities.
  4. Can you crew a vehicle with summoning sickness?: You can tap any untapped creature you control to activate a crew ability, including creatures with summoning sickness and even other crewed Vehicles.
  5. Do lands enter with summoning sickness?: A land that becomes a creature may be affected by summoning sickness, but a land itself does not have summoning sickness.
  6. Can you sacrifice a creature with summoning sickness?: Yes, unless it’s a cost of its own ability that includes tapping, it won’t be affected by summoning sickness.
  7. Does blinking cause summoning sickness?: If you flicker a creature in your turn, it’ll have summoning sickness for the rest of your turn plus your opponent’s turn.
  8. Does haste remove summoning sickness?: Having haste allows the creature to bypass or ignore summoning sickness, but it doesn’t prevent the creature from having it outright.
  9. Do incubate tokens have summoning sickness?: If you transform an Incubator the same turn it enters the battlefield, the transformed Phyrexian creature will have summoning sickness.
  10. Do Planeswalkers have summoning sickness?: No, only creatures have summoning sickness; Planeswalkers do not.
  11. Do vehicles tap after attacking?: Vehicles do not tap when attacking, but they do get tapped and stay tapped when they stop being a creature until there’s a reason for it to untap.
  12. Can I crew without haste?: You can always crew a vehicle and use it to block, but you can’t attack with it the turn it comes into play unless it has haste.
  13. Does crew ignore summoning sickness?: Yes, a creature can crew a vehicle if it has summoning sickness because it’s not a tap ability of the creature.
  14. Can you tap an uncrewed vehicle MTG?: Because the crew ability doesn’t use the tap symbol, you can tap any untapped creature you control, even one that just entered the battlefield.
  15. Does playing a card from exile count as casting it?: Yes, playing a card from exile counts as casting it, and it is subject to the same rules and restrictions as casting a card from your hand.

By understanding summoning sickness and how it applies to returned cards, players can better navigate the game and make informed decisions about their creatures and strategies. Whether you’re a seasoned player or just starting out, grasping the concepts of summoning sickness and returned cards is essential to improving your gameplay and staying competitive.

Leave a Comment