Do Ritual Cards Go in the Main Deck? Unraveling the Yu-Gi-Oh! Ritual Summoning Mystery
The question of where Ritual Monsters belong is a fundamental one for any Yu-Gi-Oh! player, especially those new to the game or those looking to refine their understanding of specific card types. The short, definitive answer is: Yes, Ritual Monsters go into the Main Deck at the start of a duel. This distinction is crucial because it separates them from other types of powerful monsters that reside in the Extra Deck. Let’s delve deeper into why this is the case and explore the nuances of Ritual Summoning.
Ritual Monsters: A Main Deck Staple
Unlike Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, and Link Monsters which occupy the Extra Deck, Ritual Monsters are part of your standard Main Deck. This means that, like your standard effect and normal monsters, you need to draw them into your hand to initiate a Ritual Summon. This requirement adds a layer of strategy to building a Ritual-focused deck.
The Ritual Summoning Process
The process to bring a Ritual Monster onto the field isn’t as simple as a regular Normal Summon or even a Special Summon of Extra Deck monsters. To Ritual Summon a monster, you need:
- The Ritual Monster Card in your hand.
- The corresponding Ritual Spell Card in your hand.
- Monster(s) on your hand or field whose total Levels meet or exceed the requirement stated on the Ritual Spell Card.
Once you have all these components, you activate the Ritual Spell Card. You then Tribute the monster(s) indicated and Special Summon the Ritual Monster from your hand to your Monster Zone. This is a Special Summon, not a Normal Summon.
Why the Main Deck Placement Matters
The placement of Ritual Monsters in the Main Deck fundamentally impacts how you strategize your deckbuilding and gameplay. Since Ritual Monsters need to be in your hand for you to Ritual Summon, deck consistency and card draw becomes vitally important to ensure you can get the pieces you need together in your hand. Unlike other special summon types that reside in your extra deck, there’s no real ‘searching’ them. It is more akin to regular effect monsters and thus your deck needs to reflect that.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Ritual Monsters
To further clarify how Ritual Monsters function, let’s address some common questions.
1. What happens if I don’t have the Ritual Monster in my hand?
If you don’t have the Ritual Monster card in your hand, you cannot Ritual Summon it. You need the specific Ritual Spell Card and the monster itself, in addition to the monsters to tribute to complete a successful Ritual Summon.
2. Can I Special Summon a Ritual Monster from the Deck?
Usually, no. The standard method for Ritual Summoning requires the monster to be in your hand. There are, however, specific cards that have effects that can summon them from the deck. However, these are specific exceptions and not the general rule.
3. Do Ritual Monsters have to be Ritual Summoned first before being Special Summoned?
Yes. Generally, Ritual Monsters must first be properly Ritual Summoned using their Ritual Spell Card before they can be Special Summoned by other means, such as “Monster Reborn”. Attempting to revive them from the Graveyard with cards like “Call of the Haunted” before having first Ritual Summoned them will not work.
4. Can I use monsters in the Extra Deck as tributes for Ritual Summons?
Monsters in the Extra Deck, like Fusion, Synchro, Xyz, or Link Monsters can be used as tribute for ritual summons. However, they must be on the field, not in the extra deck.
5. Does Ritual Summoning count as a Normal Summon?
No, a Ritual Summon is a type of Special Summon. You can still perform your Normal Summon for the turn even after a Ritual Summon has been performed.
6. What if a Ritual Monster is sent to the Graveyard without being Ritual Summoned first?
If a Ritual Monster is discarded to the Graveyard before it has been properly Ritual Summoned, you cannot revive it from the Graveyard with most cards. It must be sent to the graveyard after it was summoned to be able to be summoned again.
7. Can Ritual Monsters be Pendulum Summoned?
Yes, some Ritual Monsters are also Pendulum Monsters. These are called Ritual Pendulum Monsters. They are placed in the Extra Deck face-up when sent from the field to the Graveyard and can be Pendulum Summoned if they were properly Ritual Summoned first.
8. Do Ritual Spells count towards my Spell/Trap Zones?
Yes, like other Spell Cards, Ritual Spell Cards occupy a Spell/Trap Zone when activated.
9. Are Ritual Monsters good in Yu-Gi-Oh!?
While they may not be as common as other special summon types, Ritual Monsters can be incredibly powerful and have their dedicated decks and playstyles. When they are good, they’re really good.
10. What’s the key difference between Ritual and Fusion Summoning?
The primary difference is that Ritual Monsters are in the Main Deck, needing to be in your hand to be Ritual Summoned, while Fusion Monsters are in the Extra Deck and are summoned by a fusion spell card and material. Ritual Monsters also do not necessarily require fusion materials.
11. Can I use tokens for Ritual Summons?
Yes. Token Monsters can be used for Ritual Summons as they have levels and count as monsters on the field.
12. What happens if my Ritual Spell is negated?
If your Ritual Spell Card is negated by a card like Solemn Judgment, the Ritual Summon will fail, and no monster will be summoned from your hand.
13. Can I use monster with level zero for ritual summon?
No. Xyz Monsters and other monsters with a rank or level zero cannot be used for Ritual summons. This is due to the fact that the requirements of the ritual spell cards often require the tribute to have a total level.
14. Do Ritual Spells need to be cast as rituals?
In most cases, Ritual Spells are cast as their own thing. In other TCG’s that is not the case, where it becomes a variant of casting a different type of spell. It is important to note that the game’s “Ritual” type spells are not the same.
15. Can a ritual monster be summoned face-down?
No. Ritual Monsters are always Special Summoned face-up. Face-down summon is for normal or tribute summoned monsters, not special summoned.
Conclusion
Understanding that Ritual Monsters reside in the Main Deck is essential for mastering Yu-Gi-Oh! Their unique summoning requirements and mechanics set them apart from other monster types. The need to draw them into your hand, along with the appropriate Ritual Spell Card and tribute material, adds a distinctive strategic layer to deck construction and gameplay. By understanding how they function, you can unlock the power of Ritual Monsters to create formidable and unique decks.