Do Rogues Get a Second Bonus Action?
The short, direct answer is no, rogues do not get a second bonus action in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e). Regardless of class features, feats, or items, a character, including a rogue, is limited to one bonus action per turn. While rogues have a lot of versatile options for using their bonus action, particularly through their Cunning Action feature, they can only ever take one per turn.
Let’s delve deeper into the mechanics of bonus actions and specifically how they apply to rogues, answering common questions along the way.
Understanding Bonus Actions in 5e
The Basics of Actions
In D&D 5e, each character gets a standard set of actions on their turn. These include:
- Action: The primary action you take, like attacking, casting a spell, or using an object.
- Move: Allows you to move up to your speed. This movement can be broken up around your other actions.
- Bonus Action: A special action that is typically faster or less intensive than a full action. Only one bonus action can be taken per turn.
- Reaction: A response to something that occurs, either on your turn or another creature’s turn, and only one reaction per round is allowed.
Bonus actions are crucial to the combat mechanics, providing opportunities for tactical maneuvering, quick spells, or class-specific abilities. They are not merely “extra actions”, but a specifically designated type of action, and you cannot exchange an Action for a bonus action, or vice versa.
Rogue’s Cunning Action
Rogues are one of the classes that heavily rely on bonus actions through their Cunning Action feature, gained at 2nd level. This feature allows them to use their bonus action to Dash, Disengage, or Hide. This enhances their mobility and survivability, allowing them to get into advantageous positions or retreat from danger more effectively.
It’s important to note that the specific wording is crucial here. Cunning Action allows you to use your bonus action in a specific way, it does not grant you an additional bonus action. Therefore, even if you have multiple abilities that use a bonus action, you can still only pick one per turn.
Why No Second Bonus Action?
The one-bonus-action-per-turn rule is a core part of 5e’s action economy, which is designed to balance character abilities and make strategic choices more impactful. It prevents the stacking of effects or actions which can unbalance the game.
While it might be tempting to want to dash and then still attack with your offhand, these are different actions and must be strategically decided. This helps to create meaningful choices in combat, forcing players to prioritize which actions will be most effective.
Related Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 FAQs related to bonus actions, specifically concerning rogues and the rules within D&D 5e:
1. Can a rogue attack with a second weapon as a bonus action?
Yes, if a rogue is dual-wielding light weapons and has taken the Attack action to make an attack with one of those weapons, they can make one attack with their second light weapon as a bonus action. This attack is separate from their Sneak Attack which can only trigger once per turn.
2. Do rogues get Sneak Attack if they use a bonus action attack?
Yes, if all the requirements for Sneak Attack are met, the rogue can use Sneak Attack when they make a weapon attack with their bonus action if it is their turn. The rule is that it is only once per turn, not once per action.
3. Can a rogue Dash twice in one turn?
Yes. They can use their Action to Dash, and then use Cunning Action to Dash as a bonus action. This effectively triples their movement speed if you factor in their regular movement as well.
4. Does the “Haste” spell grant a second bonus action?
No. The Haste spell grants an additional action on each of the target’s turns. This extra action can only be used for the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object actions. Haste does not grant a second bonus action or reaction.
5. Can I use a bonus action spell as an action?
Unfortunately, no. Spells with a casting time of one bonus action can only be cast as a bonus action. There’s no way to cast them using your regular action, unless your Dungeon Master chooses to make a homebrew ruling on this.
6. Can you take 2 bonus actions instead of an action in 5e?
No, absolutely not. You cannot substitute or trade actions. A bonus action is a specifically designated action that is used when a certain ability or trigger is met, it cannot replace or take the place of an action on the turn.
7. Can I use a bonus action spell and then an action cantrip?
Yes. You can use your bonus action to cast a spell with a casting time of one bonus action, and then you can use your action to cast a cantrip, provided the cantrip has a casting time of one action. You cannot cast a leveled spell using your action when you have cast a bonus action spell.
8. Can a rogue use a bonus action to ready an action?
No. Ready is an action on its own and not a bonus action. A character cannot prepare both an action and a bonus action, since they can only hold one action (which cannot be a bonus action) when waiting for that trigger.
9. What is the ‘bonus action aim’ for rogues?
Some rogue subclasses gain a bonus action to aim. For example, the Assassin subclass can use a bonus action to gain advantage on their next attack roll provided they have not moved before taking this action, however, their speed becomes zero for the rest of the turn. This is a class-specific bonus action, not a general one.
10. Can a rogue use a bonus action to disengage and then move?
Yes. Disengage allows you to move without provoking opportunity attacks. A rogue can disengage as a bonus action with their Cunning Action and then move away.
11. Can a rogue use a bonus action to hide in plain sight?
Rogues can attempt to hide, as a bonus action, but only if they are lightly or heavily obscured, have cover, or can otherwise hide as outlined in the core rules. A rogue cannot just automatically hide in plain sight.
12. Can you use a reaction on your own turn?
Yes, but only if a trigger for that reaction has been met. A reaction can be used on anyone’s turn if the trigger occurs.
13. What is the best way for a rogue to gain advantage?
Rogues have several means of gaining advantage for sneak attacks, through their Steady Aim feature if they have it, by having an ally within 5 feet of the target, or by using the Hide action. Advantage can be gained in other ways by having spells or other abilities grant them an advantage on the attack roll.
14. Can a rogue still sneak attack if they do not have advantage?
Yes, as long as another enemy of the target is within 5 feet of it, that enemy isn’t incapacitated, and the rogue does not have disadvantage, then the rogue can use their Sneak Attack ability.
15. Is a dagger a finesse weapon?
Yes. A dagger is a finesse weapon, meaning you can use either Strength or Dexterity for attack and damage rolls when wielding one.
Conclusion
While it may be tempting to find ways to squeeze extra bonus actions out of the game, the rules for bonus actions in D&D 5e are clear. You only get one bonus action per turn. Rogues have fantastic utility with their Cunning Action, allowing them to use that one bonus action very effectively with the Dash, Disengage, and Hide actions. By understanding these core mechanics, you can make informed decisions, and be an effective rogue in your D&D games!