Do thrown weapons get sharpshooter?

Do Thrown Weapons Benefit from Sharpshooter in D&D 5e? A Definitive Guide

The question of whether thrown weapons benefit from the Sharpshooter feat in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition is a surprisingly nuanced one. The short answer is: it depends on the specific benefit you’re talking about. Some aspects of Sharpshooter apply, while others don’t, creating a potentially confusing situation. Let’s break it down.

The Sharpshooter feat has three distinct benefits:

  1. Ignoring disadvantage from long range attacks and ignoring half and three-quarters cover.
  2. Eliminating the penalty for attacking at long range.
  3. Taking a -5 penalty to your attack roll for a +10 bonus to damage.

Here’s how each applies to thrown weapons:

  • Benefit #1 (Ignoring Disadvantage and Cover): This benefit does apply to thrown weapons. When you make a ranged attack with a thrown weapon, you treat it as a ranged attack. Thus, the portion of Sharpshooter that negates disadvantage from long range and ignores cover applies. However, remember that being in melee range of a hostile creature still grants disadvantage, irrespective of Sharpshooter.

  • Benefit #2 (Eliminating Long Range Penalty): The penalty for attacking at long range is eliminated by this benefit. A lot of thrown weapons have a range so short that there are no penalties or other benefits.

  • Benefit #3 (The -5/+10 Tradeoff): This is where things get tricky. This benefit does not generally apply to thrown weapons. The feat specifically states “Before you make an attack with a ranged weapon that you are proficient with…”. The important distinction here is the difference between a “ranged attack” and a “ranged weapon.” A thrown weapon is used to make a ranged attack, but many (but not all!) aren’t considered ranged weapons. Most weapons that you throw are melee weapons with the thrown property.

The key lies in whether the thrown weapon is classified as a ranged weapon on the weapons table in the Player’s Handbook. The most prominent example is the Dart. The Dart is listed under the “Ranged Weapons” section, and it also has the thrown property. Therefore, the -5/+10 benefit does apply to Darts, but does not apply to thrown Daggers, Handaxes, Javelins, etc.

Therefore, to summarize, you gain the benefits of ignoring disadvantage from range and cover, but you do not get the -5/+10 damage benefit unless the thrown weapon is explicitly listed as a ranged weapon, like the Dart. It’s all about the specific wording and weapon classification.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Thrown Weapons and Sharpshooter

Here are 15 frequently asked questions to further clarify the rules surrounding thrown weapons and the Sharpshooter feat:

Can I use the Sharpshooter’s “-5 to hit, +10 to damage” with a thrown dagger?

No. A dagger is a melee weapon with the thrown property. The Sharpshooter feat’s damage bonus only applies to attacks made with ranged weapons.

Does the Thrown Weapon Fighting Style affect Sharpshooter?

The Thrown Weapon Fighting Style grants a +2 damage bonus to thrown weapons, and allows you to draw thrown weapons as part of the attack. It does not make thrown melee weapons into ranged weapons, so it doesn’t enable the -5/+10 from Sharpshooter on weapons like thrown daggers.

Does the Archery Fighting Style work with thrown weapons?

No. The Archery Fighting Style specifically grants a +2 bonus to attack rolls made with ranged weapons. Thrown weapons are not ranged weapons (with the exception of darts), so this bonus does not apply.

If I throw a javelin, do I get disadvantage if an enemy is next to me?

Yes. The Sharpshooter feat helps in ranged weapon attacks, but the basic rule for being in melee with an enemy overrides the benefits. The feat says nothing about negating disadvantage when you are making a ranged attack and you are in melee with an enemy.

Can I throw multiple daggers as an action and a bonus action?

Yes, but only if you follow the Two-Weapon Fighting rules. This requires you to use the Attack action to throw one dagger, and then use your bonus action to throw another. You won’t add your ability modifier to the damage of the second dagger unless you have the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style.

Does Rage damage apply to thrown weapon attacks?

Generally, no. Rage damage applies to melee weapon attacks using Strength. Throwing a weapon makes it a ranged attack, not a melee attack. However, a DM could rule that if you’re using Strength to throw the weapon (as is usually the case), the Rage damage applies.

Does the Dueling fighting style apply to thrown weapons?

Yes. The Dueling fighting style grants a +2 bonus to damage rolls when wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons. This does apply when throwing a melee weapon, as you’re still technically wielding it in one hand.

Is a dart considered a ranged weapon?

Yes. The dart is explicitly listed under the Ranged Weapons section of the equipment table, making it eligible for the Sharpshooter feat’s -5/+10 damage bonus.

What ability modifier do I use for thrown weapons?

If the thrown weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier as you would for a melee attack with that weapon (usually Strength, but Dexterity if the weapon has the Finesse property, like a dagger). If the thrown weapon is a ranged weapon, you use Dexterity.

Can I use Booming Blade with a thrown weapon?

No. Booming Blade requires you to make a melee attack with a weapon. Throwing a weapon turns the attack into a ranged attack, making it ineligible.

Can I use Sharpshooter with an improvised thrown weapon?

No, you can’t. Sharpshooter requires proficiency with the weapon being used. Improvised weapons do not grant proficiency, unless the DM determines that the improvised weapon is close enough to a real weapon that you are proficient with.

What are the range increments for thrown weapons?

The range increments for thrown weapons vary by weapon. Check the weapon’s properties in the Player’s Handbook. Beyond the listed range, you have disadvantage on the attack roll.

If I have the Crossbow Expert feat, does it help with thrown weapons?

The Crossbow Expert feat has several benefits, but none of them directly apply to thrown weapons. The feat allows you to ignore the loading property of crossbows and to make a ranged attack as a bonus action if you attack with a one-handed weapon.

Does high ground advantage apply to thrown weapons?

Yes. Any attack made from higher ground grants a +2 bonus to the attack roll in Baldur’s Gate 3. This applies to thrown weapons as well. This isn’t part of the 5e ruleset, but relevant to Baldur’s Gate 3.

Where can I learn more about the mechanics of D&D and game-based learning?

For more information about the intersection of games and learning, visit the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. They offer resources and insights into how games can be used for educational purposes.

Hopefully, this comprehensive guide clarifies the somewhat complex interaction between thrown weapons and the Sharpshooter feat in D&D 5e. Happy adventuring!

Leave a Comment