Do vehicles get summoning sickness in MTG?

Do Vehicles Get Summoning Sickness in MTG?

Vehicles in Magic: The Gathering (MTG) do indeed become subject to summoning sickness once they are crewed and become artifact creatures, meaning they cannot attack the turn they are played unless they have haste. This is crucial to understand as it affects how vehicles can be utilized in gameplay, especially in terms of attacking and blocking.

Understanding Vehicles and Summoning Sickness

To delve deeper into the relationship between vehicles and summoning sickness, it’s essential to grasp what vehicles are and how they function in MTG. Vehicles are a type of artifact that can become creature-like when crewed by other creatures. This transformation allows them to attack and block, but it also means they are susceptible to the summoning sickness rule if they were crewed on the same turn they were played.

How Crewing Affects Vehicles

Crewing a vehicle involves tapping creatures with total power equal to or greater than the vehicle’s crew cost. This action transforms the vehicle into an artifact creature for as long as it remains crewed. Understanding the implications of this transformation, including the onset of summoning sickness, is vital for strategic gameplay.

Frequently Asked Questions

Below are some key questions and answers to further clarify the relationship between vehicles, summoning sickness, and other relevant aspects of MTG gameplay:

  1. Can Vehicles be Crewed with Summoning Sickness?
  • Yes, vehicles can be crewed with creatures that have summoning sickness, as the crew ability does not require the creatures to be untapped, just that they are not already tapped.
  1. Do Vehicles Become Creatures When Crewed?
  • When crewed, vehicles become artifact creatures but do not gain a creature type. They retain their artifact type and gain the ability to attack and block like other creatures.
  1. Do Vehicles Have Haste?
  • No, vehicles do not inherently have haste. They are subject to summoning sickness unless they have an ability that grants them haste.
  1. Can Vehicles Attack the Turn They Are Played?
  • Vehicles cannot attack the turn they are played unless they have haste or are crewed by creatures that allow them to bypass summoning sickness.
  1. What is Crew in MTG?
  • Crew is a keyword ability that allows a vehicle to become an artifact creature if the total power of creatures tapped to crew it equals or exceeds the vehicle’s crew cost.
  1. How Does Summoning Sickness Work with Vehicles?
  • Vehicles, once crewed and becoming artifact creatures, are subject to summoning sickness just like any other creature, preventing them from attacking unless they have haste.
  1. Can You Tap a Vehicle to Crew Another Vehicle?
  • Yes, you can use a crewed vehicle to crew another vehicle, allowing for complex interactions and strategies.
  1. Can You Crew a Vehicle on Your Opponent’s Turn?
  • Yes, vehicles can be crewed at any time, including during your opponent’s turn, as long as you have the necessary creatures to meet the crew cost.
  1. Does Deathtouch Work on Vehicles?
  • Deathtouch works on vehicles only when they are crewed and have become artifact creatures. It does not affect the creatures that were tapped to crew the vehicle.
  1. Can You Crew an Already Crewed Vehicle?

    • Yes, you can crew a vehicle that is already crewed, as long as you have sufficient power among your creatures to meet the crew cost again.
  2. Do Counters Fall Off Vehicles When Crewed?

    • When creatures board a vehicle, any counters, enchantments, or equipment on those creatures fall off, and the creatures lose their abilities.
  3. Does Blinking Cause Summoning Sickness?

    • Blinking (or flickering) a creature can cause it to regain summoning sickness if it is returned to the battlefield in the same turn it was blinked.
  4. Can Vehicles with Shroud Be Crewed?

    • Yes, vehicles with shroud can be crewed because the crew ability does not target the vehicle.
  5. Can You Crew Vehicles to Defend?

    • Yes, you can crew a vehicle to use it as a defender during combat, but you must do so before the declare blockers step.
  6. Can a 0 Power Creature Crew a Vehicle?

    • No, a creature with 0 power cannot contribute to crewing a vehicle because the total power of the creatures must equal or exceed the vehicle’s crew cost.

By understanding these aspects of vehicles and summoning sickness in MTG, players can better navigate the complexities of the game and develop more effective strategies for including vehicles in their decks. Whether attacking, blocking, or defending, knowing how vehicles interact with summoning sickness and other game mechanics is crucial for success.

Leave a Comment