Do you add rage damage to two weapon fighting?

Unleash the Fury: Rage Damage and Two-Weapon Fighting in D&D 5e

Yes, absolutely! If you’re a raging Barbarian in D&D 5e wielding two weapons, you add your Rage damage bonus to every successful melee weapon attack, including those made with your off-hand weapon using the Two-Weapon Fighting rules. There’s no ambiguity here; it’s a core feature of the Barbarian class and how Rage interacts with melee combat. Let’s delve deeper into how this works and clear up any confusion.

Rage: The Barbarian’s Defining Feature

Rage is the cornerstone of the Barbarian class, transforming them into formidable combatants. When a Barbarian rages, they gain several benefits, the most relevant for our discussion being:

  • Advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws.
  • Resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage.
  • An additional damage bonus to weapon attacks. This bonus, indicated as “+X damage,” is added to each successful hit with a weapon attack while raging. The amount of the bonus increases as the Barbarian levels up.

The key here is that the damage bonus applies to “weapon attacks.” This is where some confusion can arise, especially when Two-Weapon Fighting enters the equation.

Two-Weapon Fighting: A Quick Overview

Two-Weapon Fighting (TWF) is a combat option available to any character in 5e. It allows you to make an additional attack with a light weapon held in your other hand, using your bonus action.

The basic rules of TWF state:

  • You must take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon.
  • You must be holding a different light melee weapon in the other hand.
  • As a bonus action, you can make an attack with that second light melee weapon.
  • You don’t add your ability modifier (Strength or Dexterity) to the damage roll of the bonus action attack, unless you have the Two-Weapon Fighting fighting style.

It’s important to note that the off-hand attack is still a “weapon attack.”

Rage + Two-Weapon Fighting: A Synergistic Combination

Because the Rage damage bonus applies to all weapon attacks, it absolutely applies to the attack you make as a bonus action using Two-Weapon Fighting. Think of it this way: Rage empowers you, not just your primary weapon.

Example:

Let’s say a 3rd-level Barbarian, Grok, is raging. Grok has two shortswords, each dealing 1d6 piercing damage. His Strength modifier is +3, and his Rage damage bonus is +2. Grok takes the Attack action and hits with his first shortsword. He deals 1d6 + 3 (Strength) + 2 (Rage) damage. He then uses his bonus action to attack with his off-hand shortsword. He hits! He deals 1d6 + 2 (Rage) damage.

Notice that Grok doesn’t add his Strength modifier to the off-hand attack, as per the standard Two-Weapon Fighting rules. However, he does add his Rage damage bonus.

Addressing Common Misconceptions

Some DMs might incorrectly rule that the Rage damage only applies to the primary attack, but this is a misinterpretation of the rules. Rage is not tied to a specific weapon; it’s a buff to the character. Therefore, any weapon attack made while raging benefits from the extra damage.

FAQs: Rage and Two-Weapon Fighting

Here are some frequently asked questions to clarify the interaction between Rage and Two-Weapon Fighting even further:

  1. Does the Dual Wielder feat change how Rage damage applies to two-weapon fighting? No, the Dual Wielder feat allows you to use non-light weapons for two-weapon fighting and grants a +1 AC bonus. It doesn’t impact how Rage damage is applied. You still add the Rage bonus to every successful attack.

  2. If I have the Two-Weapon Fighting style, do I add my ability modifier and Rage damage to my off-hand attack? Yes! The Two-Weapon Fighting style removes the penalty of not adding your ability modifier to the damage roll of the off-hand attack. So you will add your ability modifier and Rage damage to your off-hand attack.

  3. Does Rage damage apply to thrown weapon attacks made as part of two-weapon fighting? Yes! If you are using daggers and throwing them as part of your attack action and bonus action from two weapon fighting, you add your rage damage.

  4. If I have Extra Attack, do I add Rage damage to all of those attacks? Yes, assuming they are melee weapon attacks. Each hit benefits from the Rage damage bonus.

  5. Does Rage damage apply to opportunity attacks made with a melee weapon? Absolutely! An opportunity attack is still a weapon attack, so it gets the Rage damage bonus.

  6. Can I use Rage with unarmed strikes as part of two weapon fighting? No. While the Unarmed Fighting Style is great, it is not considered a weapon, and therefore does not apply to two weapon fighting.

  7. Is there any case where Rage damage doesn’t apply to a melee weapon attack? The only exception is when the attack is not made with a weapon. Rage specifies a weapon attack.

  8. If I use a bonus action to make an off-hand attack, and I have some other bonus action that would be better, do I lose my Rage bonus? No, Rage continues as long as you attack (hit or miss) or take damage. Using a different bonus action doesn’t end your Rage prematurely.

  9. What happens if I drop one of my weapons while raging? You can still benefit from rage. If you pick your weapon back up, or draw a new weapon and attack, you are good to go.

  10. Does Rage half all damage? Rage itself does not. Rage grants resistance to Piercing, Bludgeoning and Slashing damage (Bear Totem Barbarians get resistance to ALL damage types while raging, except psychic).

  11. Does rage end if you take damage? No. If you attack, whether you hit or miss, your rage continues. If you take any damage, your rage continues. If you do neither, your rage ends.

  12. Do I have to attack a creature to keep my Rage going? You can attack an object.

  13. What happens if I’m dual-wielding but I am frightened and can’t willingly move closer to an enemy, but no enemies are within range to attack? Unless you can find another way to attack (such as throwing a dagger), your rage will end if you can’t reach or don’t have a target to attack.

  14. Can I rage more than once per long rest at level 1? No. At 1st level, you can rage twice between long rests.

  15. Can you use two weapon fighting with unarmed attacks? No. Even with the Unarmed Fighting Style, an unarmed strike is not a weapon, and definitely doesn’t have the Light property, so it cannot be used with the Two-Weapon Fighting rules. Unless you have a feature like Martial Arts that specifically allows you to do so, you can’t make an unarmed strike attack as a bonus action.

Optimizing Your Dual-Wielding Barbarian

If you’re building a dual-wielding Barbarian, keep these tips in mind:

  • Prioritize Strength: Strength is your primary stat for attack rolls, damage, and many Barbarian class features.

  • Consider the Dual Wielder Feat: While not essential, the Dual Wielder feat allows you to use non-light weapons, potentially increasing your damage output with weapons like battleaxes or longswords. The additional +1 AC is also a nice perk.

  • Choose the Path of the Totem Warrior: The Path of the Totem Warrior offers excellent defensive options, particularly the Bear Totem, which grants resistance to almost all damage types while raging.

  • Don’t Neglect Constitution: High Constitution improves your hit points and makes it harder for enemies to break your concentration on spells (if you multiclass) or abilities.

Conclusion

Rage damage and Two-Weapon Fighting are a potent combination for Barbarians in 5e. By understanding the rules and optimizing your build, you can create a fierce and effective combatant who unleashes a whirlwind of fury upon their enemies. Now go forth, embrace the Rage, and cleave your foes asunder! To further enhance your understanding of D&D mechanics and game design, consider exploring the resources available at Games Learning Society or GamesLearningSociety.org. These platforms often provide valuable insights into the underlying principles that govern role-playing games.

Leave a Comment