Mastering the Metal: Do You Have to Crew a Vehicle Every Turn in Magic: The Gathering?
Yes, in Magic: The Gathering, you absolutely need to crew a vehicle every turn if you wish to use it as a creature. The effect of crewing a vehicle lasts only until the end of the turn. At the end of your turn, it reverts back to being a non-creature artifact. So, if you want to attack or block with your trusty metallic steed on your next turn, you’ll need to tap those creatures and get behind the wheel once more!
Let’s dive into the nitty-gritty with some frequently asked questions to help you navigate the world of vehicles in MTG.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Crewing Vehicles
What is Crew, and How Does It Work?
Crew is an activated ability found on Vehicle artifact cards. To crew a vehicle, you tap any number of untapped creatures you control whose total power is greater than or equal to the vehicle’s crew cost. For example, if a vehicle has “Crew 3,” you must tap creatures with a combined power of at least 3 to crew it. Once you do, the vehicle becomes an artifact creature with the power and toughness printed on the card until the end of the turn. Think of it like jump-starting a car – you need the power source (creatures) to bring it to life (creature status).
Can I Crew a Vehicle Multiple Times in a Turn?
Yes, you can activate the Crew ability multiple times in a turn, provided you have the untapped creatures to do so. While typically doing so doesn’t provide much benefit as the vehicle is already a creature for the turn, certain cards, such as ones that trigger when a vehicle is crewed, make this a valuable tactic.
Can I Crew a Vehicle at Instant Speed?
Absolutely! The crew ability can be activated at instant speed. This means you can crew a vehicle in response to an opponent’s action, or even during combat. Imagine your opponent declares an attack, and you suddenly animate your vehicle to block! This adds a layer of tactical depth. You can crew a vehicle any time you have priority.
Can I Crew a Vehicle with Another Vehicle?
Yes! A Vehicle that has already been crewed can, in turn, be used to crew another Vehicle. This can lead to some interesting “Vehicle chains,” where you’re essentially using one animated artifact to power up another.
Do Crewed Vehicles Have Summoning Sickness?
Yes, crewed vehicles are subject to summoning sickness just like any other creature that enters the battlefield. If you crew a vehicle on the turn it enters the battlefield, it cannot attack unless it has haste. However, it can still block, as blocking doesn’t involve tapping to attack. This is a very important aspect of vehicle play to remember.
Can I Block with an Uncrewed Vehicle?
No. Uncrewed vehicles are not creatures. Only creatures can block (or artifacts turned into creatures by other effects). If you want your vehicle to block, you must crew it before the declare blockers step. Keep those pilots on standby!
Can a Creature with Summoning Sickness Crew a Vehicle?
Yes! A creature with summoning sickness can crew a vehicle. This is because crewing a vehicle is an activated ability, not a tap ability of the creature itself. The creature can still be tapped as part of activating the crew ability.
How Long Does Crewing Last?
The effect of crewing a vehicle is temporary. It lasts only until the end of the turn. During the cleanup step, the vehicle reverts back to being a non-creature artifact.
Can I Crew a Vehicle on the Turn It Comes Out?
Yes, you can. Furthermore, you can crew a vehicle that came under your control that turn. However, the vehicle will have summoning sickness as soon as it becomes a creature, meaning it can’t attack that turn unless it has haste.
Can You Crew a Vehicle with Less Power Than the Crew Cost?
No, you cannot. The game rules require you to tap creatures with a combined power equal to or greater than the vehicle’s crew cost. You can’t skimp on the power needed to get that engine running!
Do Vehicles Tap After Attacking?
Yes. Similar to other creatures, if a vehicle attacks and doesn’t have vigilance, it gets tapped and stays tapped when it reverts back to being a non-creature until it has reason to untap.
Can I Respond to Someone Crewing a Vehicle?
Yes, you can respond to the activation of the Crew ability. Your opponent must activate the ability, which goes on the stack like any other ability. You can then cast instants or activate abilities in response. However, remember that if your response doesn’t stop the ability from resolving (e.g., removing the vehicle), it will still be crewed when the ability resolves.
Does Deathtouch Work on Vehicles?
If a vehicle is crewed and therefore becomes a creature, deathtouch will work against it. If a creature with deathtouch deals damage to a vehicle creature, the vehicle is destroyed. However, deathtouch does not affect the creatures used to crew the vehicle.
Can You Crew a Vehicle During the Upkeep Step?
No, you cannot crew during the untap step. The first opportunity you have to activate the crew ability is during your upkeep step, however by then, the vehicle will not untap if you have an effect that causes creatures to not untap.
Where Can I Learn More About Magic: The Gathering?
For insights into the broader impacts and educational applications of games like Magic: The Gathering, explore resources like the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. They delve into the cognitive and social benefits of gaming.
Conclusion: The Art of the Crew
Mastering the art of crewing vehicles in Magic: The Gathering is essential for anyone looking to leverage these powerful artifacts in their decks. Remember, the temporary nature of the crew effect means you’ll need to re-crew your vehicles each turn if you want to keep them in the fight. So, keep those creatures untapped and ready to take the wheel!