Does Copying a Spell Count as Casting It?
In the intricate world of trading card games (TCGs), understanding the nuances of card mechanics is crucial for strategic gameplay. A common question that arises, especially in games like Magic: The Gathering, is whether copying a spell counts as casting it. The short answer is a resounding no. While a copy of a spell lands on the stack and eventually resolves, the act of copying is distinct from the act of casting. This distinction has significant implications for various card abilities and game mechanics. Let’s delve deeper into this concept and explore its ramifications.
The Core Difference: Copying vs. Casting
To fully grasp the distinction, it’s essential to understand what each term entails.
-
Casting a Spell: This involves taking a card, typically from your hand, placing it on the stack, and paying its associated costs (mana, life, etc.). Once on the stack, the spell awaits resolution. The act of casting is a deliberate action initiated by the player.
-
Copying a Spell: Copying, on the other hand, involves creating a duplicate of a spell that already exists on the stack. This copy is placed directly onto the stack without requiring any payment of costs. The copy behaves like the original spell, but it isn’t considered to have been “cast.”
The key difference lies in the initiation of the spell. Casting is the origin of the spell’s existence on the stack, while copying is merely a duplication process. This fundamental difference affects many triggered abilities and game rules.
Implications for Card Abilities
Many card abilities are triggered specifically when a player casts a spell. Understanding the copying vs. casting distinction is crucial for using these cards effectively.
Storm
Storm is a powerful ability that creates copies of a spell for each other spell cast before it that turn. However, a copy of a spell with storm will have storm, but the storm ability will not trigger because the copy itself wasn’t cast. The storm ability is a “cast trigger” and will only trigger when the initial spell is cast.
Prowess
Prowess is an ability that grants a creature +1/+1 until the end of the turn whenever you cast a noncreature spell. If you copy a noncreature spell, prowess will not trigger. Prowess specifically looks for the action of casting a noncreature spell, and since copying does not qualify as casting, the ability remains dormant.
Cascade
Similarly, if you put a copy of a spell with Cascade on the stack (maybe using Cloven Casting or Twincast), Cascade won’t trigger because you didn’t cast the copy.
Orvar, the All-Form
If a spell or ability tells you to copy a spell, it doesn’t interact with Orvar, as the copies aren’t considered “cast” for the purpose of any triggers that care.
FAQs: Copying Spells and Their Consequences
To further clarify the nuances of copying spells, here are some frequently asked questions:
1. Does suspending a card count as casting a spell?
No. Exiling a card with its suspend ability is not casting that card. This action doesn’t use the stack and cannot be responded to.
2. Do copies trigger cast triggers?
Generally, copies of spells are not considered cast. They will not trigger abilities like cascade or enchantments like Swarm Intelligence. Also, the “bonus” effects on spells like Apex of Power or Approach of the Second Sun won’t trigger with copied spells.
3. Do clones get cast triggers?
When you copy a spell, that copy is created on the stack, so it’s not “cast.” Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won’t trigger.
4. Is putting a card onto the battlefield casting a spell?
No. When a spell or ability tells you to put something onto the battlefield, you move that card into the battlefield zone. This is different from casting it—you just put it onto the battlefield without paying its costs.
5. Is playing a land casting a spell?
No. Playing a land is a special action; it doesn’t use the stack. Instead, you put the land onto the battlefield. Because the land doesn’t go on the stack, it’s never a spell, and players can’t respond to it with instants or activated abilities.
6. Do copied spells trigger heroic?
Heroic abilities won’t trigger when a copy of a spell is created on the stack or when a spell’s targets are changed to include a creature with a heroic ability. However, if the spell that caused heroic to be triggered is countered, heroic will still resolve.
7. Do copies have mana value?
Yes. If the mana cost is able to be copied, the mana value is copied also. If the mana value cannot be copied, the mana value of the copy is 0.
8. Does returning a card from the graveyard count as casting a spell?
No. Reanimating doesn’t count as casting because reanimation cards return permanents from the graveyard to the battlefield.
9. Does playing a card from the top of your library count as casting a spell?
When a card says that you may play cards from the top of your library, there’s no distinction. In this case, you play lands from the top of your library, and “playing” spells from here is equivalent to “casting” them. Playing lands doesn’t use the stack, but casting spells does.
10. If I copy a permanent, is it cast?
No. If a spell or ability instructs you to create a copy of a permanent, that copy enters the battlefield directly, and is not considered cast.
11. Does countering a spell stop a copied spell?
No, countering the original spell does not counter copies that have already been put on the stack. The copies will resolve independently of the original spell.
12. Who controls the copy of a spell?
If you copy a spell, you control the copy. It will resolve before the original spell does.
13. Can I change the targets of a copied spell?
Yes, you can generally choose new targets for a copied spell, unless the spell specifically states otherwise.
14. If a card says “When you cast this spell…” and it is copied, does that ability happen?
No. As previously stated, a copy of a spell is not considered to be cast and therefore, the ability will not trigger.
15. How are copies represented in paper magic?
Copies of spells are often represented by writing the spell details on a piece of paper or using a token card to indicate the copied spell.
The Strategic Significance
Understanding the distinction between casting and copying spells is vital for strategic play in TCGs. Knowing which abilities trigger upon casting versus copying allows players to optimize their card interactions, plan their turns effectively, and make informed decisions that can turn the tide of a game.
For example, in a deck built around “Storm,” players need to focus on casting as many spells as possible before casting their “Storm” payoff spell to maximize the number of copies created. Conversely, if facing an opponent with “Prowess” creatures, players can leverage copy effects to avoid triggering the Prowess ability, thus minimizing the opponent’s offensive capabilities.
Ultimately, the distinction between casting and copying spells highlights the intricate rules and strategic depth that makes TCGs so engaging and rewarding. Keep learning and exploring the rule system! For more in-depth insights into games and learning, explore resources at the Games Learning Society website: https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/ or GamesLearningSociety.org.