The Copycat Conundrum: Does a Copy of a Spell Count as a Spell?
Yes, unequivocally, a copy of a spell counts as a spell… sort of. While it might seem like a simple question, the nuances of how copies function in games can be surprisingly complex. Understanding these intricacies is crucial for anyone wanting to master the mechanics of many strategy and trading card games. Let’s delve into the details to clarify exactly what this means.
What Defines a “Spell” Anyway?
Before we can dissect the nature of copies, we need a firm grasp on what constitutes a “spell” in the first place. In most card and strategy games, a spell is an action initiated by a player that follows specific rules and has a defined effect. Usually spells are cast from your hand, but in special cases can be cast from other zones. Land cards are generally not considered spells.
The key here is the initiation of the action, and the game mechanics consider spell-related rules separately from card-related rules. This brings us to the tricky part: copies.
The Nature of Copies: Spells Without a Source
A copy of a spell is exactly what it sounds like: a duplicate of an existing spell. This duplication happens when the game rules allow it, for example, through an instant or an ability that instructs you to “copy target spell”.
Now, the crucial difference between a spell and a copy is the casting action. When you cast a spell, you are paying its mana cost (if any), announcing your intention, and placing it on the “stack” (a game zone where spells wait to resolve). When you copy a spell, you bypass this casting process. The copy simply appears on the stack.
Why This Distinction Matters
This seemingly subtle difference has significant ramifications. Because a copy isn’t “cast”, it doesn’t trigger abilities or effects that trigger specifically when a spell is cast. This is where things get nuanced.
Common Misconceptions and Clarifications
Many players mistakenly assume that since a copy acts like a spell, it must be treated exactly like one. However, the game mechanics differentiate between being a spell and being cast as a spell. A copy is a spell on the stack, but it was not cast. This distinction is crucial.
FAQs: Unraveling the Copycat Enigma
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the complex world of spell copies:
1. Do copied spells trigger cast abilities?
No. Cast triggers, such as Storm or Prowess, only activate when a spell is cast, not when a copy is put on the stack.
2. Does copying a spell count towards Storm count?
A copy of a spell with Storm will have Storm, but copying the spell will not trigger Storm — copying a spell is not the same as casting it.
3. Does a copy of a spell trigger cascade?
No. Cascade triggers when you cast a spell with a certain converted mana cost. Copying a spell, even one with cascade, doesn’t count as casting, so cascade won’t trigger.
4. Are copies of spells considered “kicked” if the original was?
Yes. Kicker costs don’t change a spell’s mana cost or mana value. If a kicked spell is copied, the copy is also kicked because copiable characteristics include whether a spell was kicked.
5. Do copies of spells have a mana value?
Yes. Mana cost is a copiable value. The copy will have the same mana value (converted mana cost, or CMC) as the original spell.
6. Can you copy a spell multiple times?
Yes. Nothing prevents you from copying the same spell multiple times, if you have the means to do so. Each copy is a separate spell on the stack.
7. If I copy an Adventure spell, can I cast the copy as a creature later?
No. If an effect copies an Adventure spell, that copy is exiled as it resolves. It ceases to exist and cannot be cast as a creature.
8. What happens if the original spell is countered? Does the copy still resolve?
Yes. The copy is a separate entity on the stack. Countering the original spell has no effect on the copy (unless the copy specifically refers to the original spell in some way).
9. Does replicating a spell count as casting?
No, replicate doesn’t count as casting. Replicate creates copies of the spell on the stack, but doesn’t involve casting the copies themselves.
10. Are copies of spells considered to be controlled by the player who created them?
Yes. A copy of a spell is controlled by the player who put it on the stack. This is important for determining targets and resolving effects.
11. If a spell has additional costs, are those costs copied as well?
Additional costs, such as paying life or sacrificing permanents, are generally not copiable characteristics. Only effects that explicitly state they are copied will be applied to the copy.
12. Do copied spells count for prowess?
Prowess triggers when you cast a noncreature spell. When you copy a spell, you’re just creating that copy on the stack. It isn’t cast, so it won’t trigger certain abilities like prowess.
13. What spells should trigger copy spells?
Certain spells or abilities are designed to interact with copies or the act of copying. Examples include:
- Twincast and Reverberate: Directly copy target spell.
- Isochron Scepter: Allows you to cast copies of an imprinted instant spell.
- Swarm Intelligence: Doubles noncreature spells you cast (but not copies).
14. Do copies of spells still count as spells?
Yes. Copies of spells are indeed considered spells while they are on the stack. They have all the properties of a spell, except for the fact that they were not cast.
15. What counts as a replicate?
Replicates are multiple experimental runs with the same factor settings (levels). Replicates are subject to the same sources of variability, independently of each other. You can replicate combinations of factor levels, groups of factor level combinations, or entire designs.
Mastering the Art of Copying
Understanding the distinction between casting a spell and creating a copy is paramount for strategic gameplay. It affects card selection, deck building, and in-game decision-making. Knowledge of these rules allows you to leverage copy effects to their full potential and avoid common pitfalls.
Consider the implications for deck building: While a “copy” strategy can be powerful, it’s important to incorporate cards that either capitalize on the copies themselves or mitigate the disadvantage of not triggering cast abilities.
Remember to visit the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org to explore further information on game-based learning and other insightful articles!