Does a Forest Count as a Green Spell in Magic: The Gathering?
The straightforward answer is no, a Forest does not count as a green spell in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). While a Forest is a fundamental land that produces green mana, it isn’t a spell and it doesn’t inherently possess a color. This distinction is crucial for understanding the game’s mechanics and interactions. This article will delve into the specifics of why a Forest is not considered a green spell and explore related topics through a comprehensive FAQ.
Understanding Color and Spells in MTG
In MTG, color is primarily determined by the mana symbols present in a card’s mana cost. Cards with colored mana symbols in their upper-right cost are the color associated with those symbols. For instance, a card with a {G} symbol is considered green, while one with {W} is white, and so on. Spells are cards that are cast from your hand. When you cast a spell, it goes on the stack, and other players have the opportunity to respond to it with their own spells or abilities before it resolves.
Why Lands Are Different
Lands, including Forests, are fundamentally different from spells. They don’t have a mana cost, and therefore, they don’t have a color. Lands are colorless by default. This means a basic Forest, although associated with green mana, isn’t itself a green card. They are placed directly onto the battlefield without going on the stack, so you can’t respond to a player putting down a land.
The Significance of the Distinction
This distinction between a land and a spell is vital. Many cards in MTG interact differently with spells compared to permanents, which is a category lands fall under. For example, a card that reads “counter target spell” would be unable to affect a land. Similarly, effects that trigger when a green spell is cast wouldn’t be activated by playing a Forest. Understanding that lands are colorless and not spells is vital for playing the game effectively.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are 15 frequently asked questions to expand your understanding of the nuances of lands, color, and spells in MTG:
1. Are Lands Considered Permanents?
Yes, lands are considered permanents in MTG. The six types of permanents are: artifacts, battles, creatures, enchantments, lands, and planeswalkers. A permanent is simply a card that enters the battlefield and remains there until removed. Unlike instants or sorceries that are spells then are placed into the graveyard after resolving.
2. Do Lands Have a Color?
By default, lands are colorless. Unless an effect specifically states otherwise, lands do not have a color. This is regardless of the color mana they produce. This can sometimes be confusing when playing the game but it is consistent with the rules.
3. Is a Forest a Green Permanent?
While a basic Forest produces green mana, it isn’t considered a green permanent simply because it’s a Forest. It’s a colorless permanent unless another effect specifically gives it a color.
4. Does a Forest Count as a Green Card?
No, a Forest does not inherently count as a green card. It lacks the colored mana symbols in its cost, which is what defines color in MTG. Although its producing of green mana can lead to thinking that it is, it is ultimately a colorless card.
5. Can Ancient Stirrings Get a Land?
Yes, Ancient Stirrings can find any Land in your deck. All lands are colorless, with the exception of Dryad Arbor that has a color indicator, Ancient Stirrings can search for them.
6. Does Tapping a Land Pass Priority?
No, tapping a land for mana is not a triggered ability, therefore it does not pass priority to the other player. Using the mana is a mana ability. You can tap land for mana at any time that you have priority, and if the tapping of the mana changes the board in any way, your opponent then recieves priority once that change has happened.
7. Can You Respond to a Land Being Played?
No, you cannot respond to a land being played. Lands are not spells and do not go on the stack. Thus, there is no opportunity to counter or interfere with them being played.
8. Does Playing a Land Count as a Spell?
No, playing a land is not casting a spell. Lands are placed directly onto the battlefield, they do not use the stack and therefore cannot be considered a spell.
9. What is the Color Identity of a Forest?
The color identity is most important in the Commander format. While a Forest itself is colorless, it has a green color identity. This means that you can only put a Forest into a Commander deck that has green as part of its commander’s color identity. The implicit green mana it represents gives it this distinction.
10. Does Deathtouch Cancel Deathtouch?
Yes, if two creatures with deathtouch deal damage to each other in the combat phase, the combat will happen normally. This is because “any two instances of the Deathtouch ability against one another cancel out the Deathtouch ability.”.
11. Is a Forest Colorless?
Yes, a Forest is considered colorless unless something says otherwise. This is because it lacks a mana cost, and therefore it lacks colored mana symbols.
12. What Does “All Is Dust” Do to Lands?
All Is Dust forces players to sacrifice their colored permanents. Since lands are colorless they are not affected by All is Dust. All is Dust forces players to sacrifice their colored permanents. This is different than destroying them.
13. Can You Stifle Bojuka Bog’s Trigger?
Yes, cards like Stifle, Trickbind, and Voidslime can counter Bojuka Bog’s triggered ability. These abilities stop triggered abilities from resolving, but they are all blue so you need to make sure they are within your deck’s color identity.
14. Does Ground Seal Stop Bojuka Bog?
No, Ground Seal does not stop Bojuka Bog. The ability on Bojuka Bog targets a player, not the cards in their graveyard, so the protection granted by Ground Seal is not effective.
15. How Can You Protect Your Graveyard From Hate?
To protect your graveyard from hate, you can use these strategies:
- Redundancy: Use multiple cards with the same function.
- Don’t Overextend: Avoid placing too many cards in your graveyard too early, as this will make you more vulnerable.
- Identify and Fight: Recognize the variety of graveyard hate and use cards to counter those specific types. Cards such as Torpor Orb, Cursed Totem, Collector Ouphe, or Null Rod can be very useful.
Conclusion
In summary, a Forest does not count as a green spell in Magic: The Gathering. It’s a colorless permanent that provides green mana but lacks the mana cost necessary to be a spell of any color. This distinction is crucial for understanding various card interactions and game mechanics. By carefully considering these factors, players can better navigate the intricate world of MTG.