Does a vehicle become a creature?

Does a Vehicle Become a Creature?

A vehicle in Magic: The Gathering does not inherently become a creature but can become an Artifact Creature when crewed by tapping a number of creatures with total power equal to or greater than the vehicle’s Crew value. The vehicle retains its artifact type and gains creature properties until the end of the turn, allowing it to attack, block, or be affected by abilities and spells that target creatures.

Understanding Vehicles and Creatures

To delve deeper into how vehicles interact with the game and other cards, let’s explore some key concepts and frequently asked questions about vehicles and their relationship with creatures.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. Are Vehicles Considered Creatures?

  • Vehicles are not inherently creatures but can become Artifact Creatures when crewed.

2. Do Vehicles Have Summoning Sickness?

  • Yes, vehicles that become creatures are subject to summoning sickness, meaning they cannot attack the turn they are crewed unless they have an ability that allows them to do so, like Haste.

3. How Do Vehicles Work in Magic?

  • Vehicles can be crewed by tapping creatures with total power equal to or greater than the vehicle’s Crew value, turning the vehicle into an Artifact Creature until the end of the turn.

4. Do Vehicles Go to the Graveyard?

  • Yes, vehicles can go to the graveyard if they are destroyed or if an effect puts them there.

5. Do Vehicles Count as Creatures in the Graveyard?

  • No, vehicles do not count as creatures in the graveyard unless they were creatures when they were put there.

6. Can Vehicles Block?

  • Vehicles can block if they are creatures, which happens when they are crewed.

7. Can You Crew a Tapped Vehicle?

  • Yes, you can crew a tapped or untapped vehicle, but crewing it won’t untap it.

8. What is an Artifact Vehicle?

  • An artifact vehicle is a type of artifact that has the vehicle subtype and often has a crew ability.

9. Can a Creature with Summoning Sickness Block?

  • Yes, creatures with summoning sickness can block as normal.

10. Can Vehicles Crew Themselves?

  • No, the rules were changed to prevent a vehicle from being tapped for its own crew ability.

11. How Long Does a Vehicle Stay a Creature?

  • A vehicle stays a creature until the end of the turn it was crewed.

12. What Counts as a Creature?

  • Generally, anything living or non-living that can take actions and is not an object can be considered a creature.

13. Are Vehicles Considered Creatures When Crewed?

  • Vehicles become Artifact Creatures when crewed, allowing them to act like creatures until the end of the turn.

14. Does Deathtouch Work on Vehicles?

  • Deathtouch works on vehicles that are creatures, destroying them if they are dealt damage by a source with deathtouch.

15. Do Counters Stay on Vehicles?

  • Yes, if a vehicle has a +1/+1 counter placed on it while it is a creature, the counter remains on the vehicle even when it is not a creature, affecting its power and toughness the next time it becomes a creature.

By understanding these nuances, players can better utilize vehicles in their Magic: The Gathering games, leveraging their unique capabilities to outmaneuver opponents. Whether crewed to become formidable Artifact Creatures or used in their artifact form, vehicles add a rich layer of strategy to the game.

Leave a Comment