Does attacking with spiritual weapon use an action?

Does Attacking with Spiritual Weapon Use an Action? A Deep Dive into D&D’s Spectral Blade

No, attacking with Spiritual Weapon does not use an action. Instead, you use a bonus action to command the spectral weapon to attack a creature within 5 feet of it. This allows you to take other actions, such as casting spells or making weapon attacks, during the same turn. This efficiency is a significant part of the spell’s appeal, allowing for a powerful combination of offense and support.

Understanding Spiritual Weapon

The Spiritual Weapon spell is a 2nd-level evocation spell available to clerics and paladins (through certain subclasses) in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition. It conjures a floating, spectral weapon that you control with your mind. The beauty of Spiritual Weapon lies in its action economy. Unlike spells that require your action each round to maintain or trigger their effect, Spiritual Weapon only requires an initial action to cast. Afterwards, you can command it to attack using only your bonus action, freeing up your action for other strategic maneuvers. This allows for tactical flexibility and maximizing your damage output per round.

Key Features of Spiritual Weapon

  • Casting Time: 1 bonus action
  • Range: 60 feet
  • Duration: 1 minute (10 rounds of combat)
  • Attack Type: Melee spell attack, using your spell attack bonus.
  • Damage: 1d8 force damage + your spellcasting ability modifier (Wisdom for Clerics)
  • Bonus Action Control: After casting, you use a bonus action on subsequent turns to move the weapon up to 20 feet and make an attack.

Strategic Implications

The bonus action attack is what makes Spiritual Weapon incredibly valuable. Consider these scenarios:

  • Cleric Casting Healing Word: A cleric can cast Healing Word (a bonus action spell) to heal an ally and still command their Spiritual Weapon to attack an enemy.
  • Cleric Casting Sacred Flame: A cleric can cast Sacred Flame (an action spell) to damage an enemy and still command their Spiritual Weapon to attack another enemy. This provides both single target and sustained damage options.
  • Paladin Smite Combos: A Paladin can make a weapon attack with their action and use Divine Smite if they hit. They can then use a bonus action to have Spiritual Weapon attack for extra damage as well.
  • Action Surge with Fighters: A Fighter who also has levels in Cleric or Paladin can use action surge to cast the Spiritual Weapon spell.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Spiritual Weapon

Here are some frequently asked questions about Spiritual Weapon and its interactions with other game mechanics:

FAQ 1: Does Spiritual Weapon require concentration?

No, Spiritual Weapon does not require concentration. This is a huge advantage because it means you can cast other concentration spells simultaneously, such as Bless or Spirit Guardians.

FAQ 2: Can I cast Spiritual Weapon and another spell in the same turn?

Yes, you can cast Spiritual Weapon as a bonus action and then cast another spell that requires an action, provided it isn’t another bonus action spell. Remember the general rule: You can only cast one bonus action spell per turn, and if you cast a bonus action spell, you can only cast a cantrip as your action.

FAQ 3: How do I determine the attack roll for Spiritual Weapon?

You use your Spell Attack Bonus. This is calculated as 8 + your proficiency bonus + your spellcasting ability modifier (typically Wisdom for clerics).

FAQ 4: Does Spiritual Weapon provoke opportunity attacks?

No, the Spiritual Weapon itself does not provoke opportunity attacks. It is a spell effect, not a creature. However, you might provoke an opportunity attack if you move out of an enemy’s reach while controlling it.

FAQ 5: Can Spiritual Weapon be destroyed or targeted by enemy attacks?

No, Spiritual Weapon is a spell effect and cannot be targeted or destroyed by enemy attacks. It is not a physical object or creature.

FAQ 6: What happens to Spiritual Weapon if I am incapacitated or go unconscious?

The Spiritual Weapon remains active even if you are incapacitated or go unconscious. However, you cannot use your bonus action to command it to attack, so it effectively becomes dormant until you regain consciousness or can otherwise use bonus actions.

FAQ 7: Can Spiritual Weapon flank an enemy?

While the Spiritual Weapon can be positioned to create a flanking situation, it doesn’t technically contribute to flanking for the purpose of gaining advantage on attack rolls. Flanking requires two creatures to be positioned on opposite sides of an enemy. Since Spiritual Weapon isn’t considered a creature, it doesn’t count.

FAQ 8: Does Spiritual Weapon require line of sight to attack?

No, Spiritual Weapon does not require line of sight to attack. The spell only states that the weapon appears within range (60 feet). You need line of sight to initially cast it, but not to command it on subsequent turns.

FAQ 9: Can Spiritual Weapon be used to trigger Booming Blade?

This is a point of contention, but generally, the answer is no. Booming Blade requires you to make a melee attack with a weapon. While the Spiritual Weapon resembles a weapon, it is ultimately a spell effect and not a physical weapon you are wielding.

FAQ 10: Can Spiritual Weapon be used in conjunction with Divine Smite?

No, Divine Smite requires a melee weapon attack, and Spiritual Weapon is a melee spell attack. Divine Smite only works on weapon attacks.

FAQ 11: How is the damage of Spiritual Weapon calculated?

Spiritual Weapon deals 1d8 force damage + your spellcasting ability modifier. Force damage is one of the least resisted damage types in the game, making it consistently effective.

FAQ 12: What happens if the target of my Spiritual Weapon moves out of range?

You can use your bonus action to move the Spiritual Weapon up to 20 feet each turn, allowing you to chase after mobile targets. If the target moves out of range entirely, you simply can’t attack them with the weapon until you can move it back into range on a subsequent turn.

FAQ 13: Can an enemy grab or disarm my Spiritual Weapon?

No, Spiritual Weapon cannot be grabbed or disarmed. It’s a spell effect, not a physical object.

FAQ 14: Can I use Spiritual Weapon in an antimagic field?

Yes, it will disappear while you remain in the anti-magic field as the anti-magic field suppresses the magic, but will reappear when you leave.

FAQ 15: Is Spiritual Weapon a good spell?

Yes, absolutely! Despite some claiming it is BAD in DnD 5e, Spiritual Weapon is an excellent spell, particularly for clerics, due to its efficient use of bonus actions, consistent damage output, and lack of concentration requirement. It allows you to contribute significantly to both offense and support, making it a valuable asset to any adventuring party.

Remember that understanding the rules and interactions of spells like Spiritual Weapon is crucial for maximizing their effectiveness in your D&D games. Learning more about the strategic elements of tabletop role-playing games can greatly enhance your enjoyment. For more resources on gaming and education, check out the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.

Leave a Comment