Does Copying a Spell Count as Casting for Storm? Unraveling the Magic
The short answer is a resounding no. Copying a spell in Magic: The Gathering does not count as casting it for the purposes of the storm mechanic or other similar triggered abilities. Understanding this crucial distinction is essential for anyone looking to master the intricacies of the game, especially when building and playing combo-centric decks. The storm mechanic specifically triggers when a spell is cast, and copying a spell bypasses this process.
The Foundation: Casting vs. Copying
To truly understand why copying a spell doesn’t trigger storm, we need to delve into the fundamental definitions of casting and copying within the game’s rules.
Casting a Spell: This involves taking a card (usually from your hand), placing it on the stack, and paying its associated costs (mana, additional costs, etc.). The spell then resolves (assuming it isn’t countered), and its effects occur.
Copying a Spell: This process puts a copy of a spell directly onto the stack. Crucially, you don’t pay any costs, nor do you take the card from your hand. The copy is simply created, and it will resolve independently of the original.
The difference is significant. Storm (and other abilities that trigger “when you cast a spell”) looks for the act of casting, not just the existence of a spell on the stack. Because copying circumvents the casting process, it doesn’t trigger these abilities.
Why This Matters for Storm
Storm is a powerful ability that creates copies of a spell for each other spell cast before it that turn. This can lead to explosive turns where a single storm spell creates a multitude of copies, overwhelming your opponent. However, this potential is dependent on actually casting the initial spell to start the storm count.
If you copy a spell with storm, the copy will have the storm ability. However, the copy itself won’t create additional copies because it wasn’t cast. Similarly, the act of copying the spell won’t increase the storm count for any subsequent storm spells you might cast later in the turn.
Example Scenarios
- You cast Lightning Bolt. Then you cast Reverberate, targeting Lightning Bolt. You have now cast two spells. Reverberate creates a copy of Lightning Bolt, but that copy wasn’t cast, meaning the storm count remains at 2.
- You cast a cheap instant, followed by another, then cast Grapeshot. Grapeshot will deal 1 damage, then create two copies of itself due to storm’s ability. These copies do not trigger storm as they are not cast.
- You have a Thousand-Year Storm on the battlefield. When you cast Lightning Bolt, Thousand-Year Storm triggers, creating a copy of Lightning Bolt. This copy resolves before the original. Neither spell has triggered the storm ability because neither has it, but subsequent spells will be copied by Thousand-Year Storm.
- Understanding these interactions and the nuances of the rules surrounding casting and copying spells is crucial for optimizing your gameplay.
Implications for Deck Building
When building a storm deck, it’s vital to focus on efficient, low-cost spells that allow you to maximize your storm count before unleashing your finisher. Cards that copy spells (like Twincast or Fork) can be useful, but remember they don’t contribute to the storm count. Their value lies in doubling the effect of a powerful spell or creating additional targets for your opponent’s removal. The Games Learning Society and sites like GamesLearningSociety.org often provide valuable insights into deck building strategies, emphasizing the need for understanding core mechanics like casting and copying.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Does copying a spell with cascade trigger cascade?
No. Cascade triggers when you cast a spell. Copying a spell, even one with cascade, doesn’t count as casting it, so cascade won’t trigger.
2. Do copies of Grapeshot have storm?
Yes, copies of Grapeshot will have the storm ability printed on them. However, because they aren’t cast, the storm ability won’t trigger on the copies themselves.
3. Does copying a spell increase the storm count?
No. The storm ability only counts spells that are cast. Copying a spell puts a copy directly onto the stack, bypassing the casting process.
4. Can I kick a copy of a spell?
No. Kicker costs are paid when you cast a spell. Since copies are not cast, you cannot pay a kicker cost for them. However, if the original spell was kicked, the copy will be kicked.
5. Does Eye of the Storm cast spells?
Yes, Eye of the Storm specifically instructs you to cast spells. The triggered ability exiles the cards then lets you cast them. Therefore, spells cast through Eye of the Storm do count towards storm.
6. Do copied spells have a mana value?
Yes, copied spells retain the mana value of the original spell. The copy inherits all the characteristics of the original, including its mana cost and mana value.
7. What happens if I copy an Adventure spell?
If an effect copies an Adventure spell on the stack, the copy is exiled as it resolves, just like the original spell.
8. Does copying a creature spell count as creating a token?
While a copy of a permanent spell becomes a token as it resolves, it is not considered “created” for effects that trigger or replace token creation.
9. Does Flusterstorm count itself for storm?
No. The copies of Flusterstorm are put directly onto the stack and are not cast, thus they won’t be counted by other storm spells cast later in the turn.
10. Does copying a spell trigger Rhystic Study?
No. Rhystic Study triggers when a player casts a spell. Copying a spell does not count as casting it, so it won’t trigger Rhystic Study.
11. Do storm copies count for storm?
No. Copies created by storm are put directly onto the stack. They aren’t cast, and they won’t increase the storm count.
12. Does Cascade count as casting a spell?
Yes. Cascade triggers when you cast a spell, then it tells you to cast a spell revealed from the top of your library. The second spell cast will also count for Storm.
13. Do copied spells trigger Orvar, the All-Form?
No. Orvar, the All-Form only triggers when a spell you control targets a permanent you control. If you copy a spell that targets, the copy doesn’t interact with Orvar as the copies aren’t considered “cast.”
14. Does Minds Desire count as casting?
No, Mind’s Desire’s copies are not cast and won’t increase the storm count. However, any nonland cards you play off of Mind’s Desire will count as being cast.
15. What counts as casting a spell?
To cast a spell is to take a card from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs, so that it will eventually resolve and have its effect.
In conclusion, the distinction between casting and copying spells is fundamental to understanding how storm and related mechanics function in Magic: The Gathering. By mastering this concept, you’ll be well-equipped to build and play more effective decks and make informed decisions during gameplay.