Does copying a spell count towards storm?

Does Copying a Spell Count Towards Storm? The Definitive Guide

No, copying a spell does NOT count towards the storm count. The storm ability specifically triggers “Whenever you cast a spell with storm…” Copying a spell, whether through an effect like Reverberate or Twincast, is not the same as casting it. Only spells that are physically cast from your hand (or another zone where casting is permitted) contribute to the storm count for subsequent spells with the storm ability.

This distinction is crucial for understanding how storm decks operate and how to effectively counter them. Let’s delve into the intricacies with some frequently asked questions.

Understanding Storm and Copies: Your FAQs Answered

What Exactly is the Storm Ability?

Storm is a triggered ability in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). When you cast a spell with storm, the ability triggers and creates a copy of that spell for each other spell that has been cast earlier in the same turn. This means if you’ve already cast three spells this turn, and then you cast a spell with storm, the storm ability will create three copies of that spell.

Why Doesn’t Copying Count Towards Storm?

The key word in the storm ability is “cast.” Casting a spell is a specific action defined by the game rules, typically involving moving a card from your hand to the stack and paying its costs. Copying a spell, on the other hand, places a copy of that spell directly onto the stack without requiring it to be cast. Since copies are not cast, they don’t increment the storm count.

If I Cast Grapeshot, Then Copy it with Twincast, How Many Grapeshot Copies Will There Be?

Let’s break this down. First, you cast Grapeshot. This triggers the storm ability. Assuming no other spells have been cast this turn, the storm ability will create zero copies initially. Then, you cast Twincast, targeting Grapeshot. This adds one to the storm count. Twincast resolves, creating one copy of Grapeshot. In total, there is one spell on the stack from storm and one from Twincast, along with your originally cast Grapeshot.

Does Pyromancer Ascension Affect Storm Count?

Pyromancer Ascension, when fully charged, creates a copy of instant and sorcery spells you cast. While it creates copies of spells, it doesn’t affect the storm count. The storm count only increases when you cast spells from your hand (or another zone allowing casting), not when copies are created.

Can My Opponent’s Spells Increase My Storm Count?

Yes! The storm ability counts all spells cast during the turn, regardless of who cast them. So, if your opponent casts three spells before you cast your Grapeshot, your Grapeshot will create three copies. This includes instants, sorceries, creatures, enchantments, artifacts – any type of spell.

If My Original Storm Spell is Countered, Do the Copies Still Resolve?

Yes, they do. The storm ability triggers when you cast the spell, not when it resolves. Once the storm ability is on the stack, it’s independent of the original spell. Even if the original Grapeshot is countered, the copies created by the storm ability will still resolve (unless those are also countered individually).

How Can I Stop a Storm Deck?

Stopping a storm deck requires a multi-pronged approach. Here are a few strategies:

  • Counterspells: Countering the key spells in their combo can disrupt their game plan, though be mindful that countering the initial storm spell doesn’t stop the copies.
  • Stifle-Effects: Effects like Stifle can counter the storm triggered ability itself, preventing any copies from being created. This is often the most efficient way to shut down the entire storm play.
  • Hand Disruption: Cards like Thoughtseize and Duress can remove crucial combo pieces from their hand before they can be cast.
  • Increasing Costs: Cards that increase the cost of spells can make it difficult for the storm player to cast enough spells in a single turn to generate a lethal storm.
  • Rule of Law Effects: Cards like Rule of Law or Eidolon of Rhetoric, which only allow one spell to be cast per turn, severely hamper the storm strategy.

Does Kicker Affect Storm?

Kicker itself doesn’t directly affect storm. However, if you cast a spell with kicker, and you pay the kicker cost, the kicker effect is included in the copied spells created by storm. The original spell, and all copies, will have the benefits provided by the kicker cost.

What Happens if I Overload a Spell and Then Storm?

If you cast a spell with overload and storm, the copies created by storm will also be overloaded. The overload effect modifies the spell as it’s cast, so the copies inherit that modification.

Do Copies of Creature Spells Count as Tokens?

Yes. When a copy of a permanent spell (like a creature spell) resolves, it becomes a token on the battlefield. This is an important distinction because certain effects care about creating tokens specifically. However, the fact that it’s a token doesn’t affect whether it contributes to the storm count (which it doesn’t, because it wasn’t cast as a copy).

Can You Copy a Spell From Exile?

This depends on the effect that put the spell in exile. Some effects, like Isochron Scepter, allow you to cast a copy of a card from exile. In this case, the cast copy would contribute to the storm count. However, if you are simply copying a card name in exile for example, you are not casting anything and therefore will not be affecting storm.

What Happens if I Copy a Spell That Has Already Resolved?

You generally cannot copy a spell that has already resolved. Once a spell resolves, it leaves the stack and goes to its appropriate zone (graveyard for instants and sorceries, battlefield for permanents). Copying effects usually target spells on the stack.

Does “Playing” a Spell Count Towards Storm?

Yes, the term “playing” was previously used in older Magic cards to refer to the action of casting a spell. If a card text uses “play“, it almost always means cast, and therefore the card played contributes to the storm count.

How Is Storm Relevant to Education and Cognitive Skills?

The storm mechanic is relevant to education because it involves complex calculation, decision-making, and strategic planning. Playing with or against a storm deck requires players to assess the storm count, evaluate potential outcomes, and anticipate their opponent’s moves. These cognitive skills are vital not only in Magic: The Gathering but also in various educational and professional settings. The Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org explores the intersections of games, learning, and cognition in a very interesting and relevant way.

Why Is Storm So Powerful (and Sometimes Banned)?

Storm is powerful because it can generate a massive amount of value very quickly. If a player can cast enough spells in a single turn, a storm spell like Grapeshot can create enough copies to deal lethal damage to an opponent. The explosive potential of storm has led to numerous cards with the ability being banned or restricted in various formats, to maintain balance and prevent degenerate gameplay. Decks heavily relying on storm can, at times, become too reliable and suppress diversity in strategy.

Hopefully, these FAQs have clarified the intricacies of the storm ability and its interaction with copying effects. Understanding these nuances is essential for mastering Magic: The Gathering and navigating the complexities of competitive play. Now go forth and wield the storm – or skillfully counter it!

Leave a Comment