Does Copying a Spell Trigger Storm?
Copying a spell does not trigger storm, as the copies are put directly onto the stack and are not considered cast for the purpose of storm or any other triggers that care about casting. The storm copies themselves do not generate additional storm copies, and they are not counted by other storm spells cast later during the turn, making copying a spell distinct from casting it in the context of storm.
Understanding Storm and Copying Spells
Storm is a keyword ability that creates a copy of the spell for each spell cast before it this turn. However, these copies are not cast and thus do not trigger storm or other abilities that rely on a spell being cast.
Key Differences Between Casting and Copying
The key difference between casting a spell and copying it is how these actions interact with triggers and other abilities. Casting a spell triggers storm, heroic, proven, and other abilities that rely on a spell being cast, whereas copying a spell does not trigger these abilities because the copy is not cast.
Frequently Asked Questions
-
Does copying a spell count as playing it in MTG? Copying a spell is not the same as playing or casting it. A copy of a spell is put onto the stack but is not considered cast.
-
Do copied spells trigger cascade? No, copied spells do not trigger cascade because cascade requires a spell to be cast, and copies of spells are not cast.
-
Do copied spells trigger heroic? No, heroic abilities do not trigger when a copy of a spell is created because the copy is not cast.
-
Does copying a spell trigger Orvar? No, copying a spell does not trigger Orvar because Orvar cares about spells being cast, and copies are not cast.
-
Does casting a copy trigger prowess? No, prowess triggers when a noncreature spell is cast, and since copies of spells are not cast, they do not trigger prowess.
-
Why do I get triggered when people copy me? Feeling threatened or like your identity is being taken away can cause negative emotions when someone copies you, as individuality is valuable.
-
Do copies trigger Rhystic Study? No, Rhystic Study triggers when a spell is cast, and since copies of spells are not cast, it does not trigger Rhystic Study.
-
Can you kick a copied spell? If a kicked spell is copied, the copy is also kicked, retaining the kicked status of the original spell.
-
Do copies trigger magecraft? Yes, magecraft abilities trigger when a copy of an instant or sorcery spell is created because magecraft cares about the creation of copies of these spell types.
-
Does creating a copy have summoning sickness? It depends on what is being copied. If it’s a creature, then yes, it has summoning sickness. If it’s not a creature, summoning sickness does not apply.
-
Does copying a spell from a spellbook destroy it? No, copying a spell from a spellbook does not destroy the original spell; it remains in the spellbook.
-
Is a copy of a spell considered a spell? Yes, according to MTG rules, a copy of a spell is also considered a spell, even if it has no associated card.
-
When you copy a spell, do you play it? No, copying a spell is distinct from playing or casting it. A spell-copy is never cast.
-
How do you increase storm count in MTG? You can increase the storm count by casting more spells (including instants, sorceries, creatures, artifacts, enchantments, and Planeswalkers) before the storm spell.
-
Does playing a spell count as casting? In MTG, playing a spell is now referred to as casting a spell to clarify the difference between casting and other actions like copying.