Does crew have summoning sickness?

Does Crew Have Summoning Sickness in Magic: The Gathering?

Yes and no. The Crew ability itself does not have summoning sickness. Crew is an activated ability that you can use on the turn you play a Vehicle, regardless of whether your creatures that are doing the crewing have summoning sickness. However, the Vehicle itself does have summoning sickness the turn it enters the battlefield, and any Vehicle will have summoning sickness the turn it becomes a creature. This means you can crew a Vehicle the turn you play it, or the turn that you take control of it, and use it to block, but you generally can’t attack with it unless it has Haste.

The interplay between Crew, Vehicles, and summoning sickness can be a little confusing for newer players. Let’s break down the key concepts and address some frequently asked questions to clear things up!

Understanding the Crew Mechanic and Summoning Sickness

Before diving into the specifics of how Crew interacts with summoning sickness, it’s important to understand the basics of each mechanic.

  • Crew: This is an activated ability found on Vehicle cards. The Crew ability turns the Vehicle into an artifact creature until end of turn. The cost of the ability involves tapping a number of untapped creatures you control with total power equal to or greater than the Crew number specified on the card. For example, a Vehicle with “Crew 2” requires you to tap creatures with a combined power of 2 or more. The Crew ability does not have the tap symbol, so creatures with summoning sickness can still be used to crew a Vehicle.

  • Vehicles: These are artifact cards that aren’t creatures by default. They sit on the battlefield like any other artifact until their Crew ability is activated. After the ability resolves, they become artifact creatures, usually with decent power and toughness, until the end of the turn.

  • Summoning Sickness: This rule affects creatures when they first enter the battlefield under your control. A creature with summoning sickness cannot attack or use abilities that have the tap symbol (T) or the untap symbol (Q) in their activation cost. The only exception to this is if the creature also has Haste, which allows it to ignore summoning sickness. Note that the Crew ability does not use the tap symbol, so creatures with summoning sickness can still use it.

The Crew-Summoning Sickness Interaction: Deeper Dive

The reason why you can Crew a vehicle the turn you play it is because the Crew ability does not use the tap symbol. Therefore, creatures with summoning sickness are still able to activate it.

However, even if you can crew a Vehicle the turn you play it, this does not give the Vehicle haste. The Vehicle becomes a creature when you activate its Crew ability, and because it just entered the battlefield, it is affected by summoning sickness. This means that even though you can crew a Vehicle the turn you play it, you generally won’t be able to attack with it. However, you can use it to block, or activate any abilities it has that don’t use the tap symbol.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Crew and Summoning Sickness

Here are some common questions that arise when discussing Crew and summoning sickness in Magic: The Gathering:

Can I Crew a Vehicle the turn I play it?

Yes! While the Vehicle will have summoning sickness once it becomes a creature, you can still activate the Crew ability on the turn you play it to turn it into a creature.

Can a creature with summoning sickness crew a Vehicle?

Yes, because the Crew ability doesn’t use the tap symbol. You can tap creatures with summoning sickness to pay the Crew cost.

If I take control of an opponent’s Vehicle, can I crew it that turn?

Yes. You can crew it, but the Vehicle is still subject to summoning sickness, so you cannot attack with it unless it has Haste.

If I crew a Vehicle on my opponent’s turn, can I attack with it on my turn?

Yes! If you Crewed the Vehicle on your opponent’s turn, the summoning sickness wears off by the time your turn begins, allowing you to attack (assuming it’s still a creature).

Can I use a crewed Vehicle to crew another Vehicle?

Yes, a crewed Vehicle can be used to crew another Vehicle. Remember that a Vehicle only remains a creature until the end of the turn. If it is still your turn, the crewed Vehicle is a creature that can be tapped to crew another one.

What happens if a Vehicle loses its Crew status during combat?

If a Vehicle ceases to be a creature (e.g., the turn ends) during combat, it’s removed from combat. It will no longer deal or receive combat damage.

Does Haste affect Vehicles?

Yes, Haste allows a Vehicle to attack the turn it becomes a creature, regardless of whether that’s the turn it entered the battlefield. If a Vehicle has Haste, it bypasses summoning sickness.

What does “Crew N” mean?

“Crew N” means you need to tap creatures you control with a combined power of N or greater to turn the Vehicle into an artifact creature until end of turn.

Can a Planeswalker crew a Vehicle?

Only if the Planeswalker is also a creature, like [[Gideon, Ally of Zendikar]]. Most Planeswalkers cannot crew Vehicles.

If I fail to crew, can I still activate the Crew ability?

No, you can’t “fail” to crew. You must tap the required power to pay the Crew cost and activate the ability.

Can I crew a Vehicle in the graveyard?

No, you can’t activate the Crew ability of a Vehicle in the graveyard. It needs to be on the battlefield.

What is the strategic value of crewing a Vehicle on an opponent’s turn?

Defensive crewing can turn your Vehicle into a blocker to protect you or your Planeswalkers from attackers.

How does Deathtouch interact with Vehicles?

If a Vehicle that is also a creature is dealt damage by a source with Deathtouch, the Vehicle is destroyed.

Can I crew a vehicle twice in the same turn?

Yes. Vehicles can be crewed even if they have already been turned into a creature, as long as you have sufficient power to crew them.

How does modifying cars in the crew relate to Magic the Gathering?

This question is actually in reference to the video game “The Crew”. In that video game, modifying cars lets you change their visual aesthetics and performance. While it does not directly relate to Magic the Gathering, many players of Magic also enjoy other forms of gaming. Video games, CCGs and TCGs share many principles, which can be explored further through educational resources like those available at the GamesLearningSociety.org.

Final Thoughts

The Crew mechanic offers unique gameplay possibilities in Magic: The Gathering, especially regarding artifact creatures and combat strategies. Understanding how Crew interacts with summoning sickness is essential for playing Vehicles effectively. Remember, the Crew ability is immune to summoning sickness, but the Vehicle itself is not. This nuanced distinction can make all the difference in your games!

Leave a Comment