Does Deathtouch Destroy? Unraveling the Lethal Magic of Deathtouch
The short answer is a resounding yes, deathtouch destroys creatures. But, like many mechanics in trading card games (TCGs), particularly Magic: The Gathering, the devil is in the details. Deathtouch is a powerful static ability that completely alters how combat damage is perceived, and understanding its nuances is key to mastering strategic gameplay. Let’s dive deep into how deathtouch works, what it affects, and what it doesn’t.
What Exactly is Deathtouch?
Deathtouch, in essence, redefines what constitutes lethal damage. Ordinarily, a creature is destroyed when it takes damage equal to or greater than its toughness. However, when a source (typically a creature) has deathtouch, any amount of damage it deals to another creature becomes lethal. This means that even a single point of damage from a deathtouch creature is enough to destroy another creature, regardless of the defender’s toughness.
It’s crucial to understand that deathtouch itself doesn’t “deal” damage. Rather, it’s an ability that modifies the effect of damage dealt by a source that has deathtouch. It’s not a triggered ability that activates after damage; it is always active and in effect.
How Does Deathtouch Function in Combat?
When a creature with deathtouch attacks or blocks, any damage it deals will destroy the other creature. For example, a 1/1 creature with deathtouch can destroy a 5/5 creature by dealing just one damage to it. The damage still happens; however, the rules around lethal damage are modified. It doesn’t matter how much excess damage was dealt, the main purpose of the deathtouch is to destroy the creature.
Interactions with Other Abilities
The complexity arises when deathtouch interacts with other abilities. Some abilities can bypass deathtouch while others can complement it. For example:
- First Strike and Double Strike: Creatures with first strike or double strike can sometimes avoid the lethal effect of deathtouch. If a first strike creature blocks a creature with deathtouch, the first strike creature will deal its damage in the first combat damage step, potentially destroying the deathtouch creature before it can deal its damage.
- Trample: A creature with trample and deathtouch is a particularly potent combination. It will deal lethal damage to a blocking creature (thanks to deathtouch), and any excess damage will trample through to the defending player.
- Indestructible: Indestructible creatures ignore deathtouch. This is a crucial exception, as indestructible creatures cannot be destroyed by damage, including damage from a source with deathtouch. This is because deathtouch does not bypass the indestructible keyword.
The Limitations of Deathtouch
While incredibly potent, deathtouch isn’t a universal solution. It has notable limitations that need careful consideration:
- It Requires Damage: A creature with deathtouch needs to actually deal damage for the ability to take effect. If a creature with 0 power has deathtouch, it can’t destroy anything since it can’t deal damage.
- It Doesn’t Target: Deathtouch itself does not target a specific creature. Therefore, abilities like shroud or hexproof that prevent targeting do not stop deathtouch from working. The game action is that damage is dealt by a deathtouch creature to a creature and the rules state that if that damage is dealt, the target is destroyed.
- It Only Applies to Creatures: Deathtouch only works on creatures, not planeswalkers or players. While you can damage a planeswalker with a creature, the deathtouch ability will not increase the damage dealt, or destroy it (since planeswalkers cannot be destroyed by damage).
Frequently Asked Questions About Deathtouch
Let’s address some common questions about deathtouch:
1. Does Deathtouch do damage?
Yes, deathtouch doesn’t change the fact that damage is dealt. What it changes is how that damage is treated. A creature with deathtouch still deals damage as usual. Deathtouch is a static ability that makes any amount of damage dealt by the source lethal to creatures.
2. Does Deathtouch kill indestructible?
No, indestructible creatures ignore deathtouch. Indestructible means the creature cannot be destroyed by damage. Deathtouch doesn’t bypass this; it simply changes the rules of lethal damage. The source may still do damage, but it is not a lethal amount.
3. Does Deathtouch kill immediately?
Yes, the destruction of a creature from deathtouch damage is immediate. Once damage is dealt by a creature with deathtouch to another creature, the rules immediately state that the creature that received the damage must be destroyed.
4. What are the rules for deathtouch?
The fundamental rule for deathtouch is that any amount of damage dealt by a source with deathtouch to a creature is enough to destroy it. This effect is irrespective of the recipient creature’s toughness.
5. Does Deathtouch happen before damage?
No, creatures with deathtouch deal damage during the regular combat damage step. Deathtouch doesn’t happen before damage, it works when damage is dealt. The application of deathtouch is a consequence of damage.
6. Does Deathtouch work with 0 damage?
No, if a creature with deathtouch has 0 power, it cannot deal damage, and therefore cannot destroy a creature. The deathtouch ability can’t do anything without damage.
7. What wins: Indestructible vs Deathtouch?
Indestructible wins against deathtouch. Indestructible creatures simply cannot be destroyed by damage.
8. Does Hexproof block Deathtouch?
No, hexproof doesn’t block deathtouch. Hexproof prevents spells and abilities your opponents control from targeting the hexproof creature. Deathtouch does not target.
9. Can Deathtouch kill Fog Bank?
While Fog Bank prevents damage from being dealt, it doesn’t make the creature indestructible. If damage is dealt by a deathtouch creature, Fog Bank will be destroyed. If it prevents the damage from being dealt, then deathtouch will have no effect because no damage is dealt.
10. Does Deathtouch kill planeswalkers?
No, deathtouch only works on creatures. Planeswalkers are not creatures, and therefore are not impacted by deathtouch.
11. Does Deathtouch trigger blocking?
No, deathtouch does not trigger anything to happen when a creature blocks. Deathtouch is a passive effect when damage is dealt by a source with deathtouch to another creature. Deathtouch functions whenever damage is dealt; whether from an attacker or a blocker.
12. Does Protection stop Deathtouch?
Yes, protection from a color (such as protection from black) will stop all damage dealt by sources of that color, including damage from creatures with deathtouch. If damage is prevented by protection then deathtouch does not apply.
13. Does Double Strike beat Deathtouch?
Yes, a creature with double strike can often deal damage first (in the first strike combat damage step), destroying the creature with deathtouch before it can deal its damage.
14. Does Deathtouch work on flying?
Yes, deathtouch works against creatures with flying. However, a deathtouch creature cannot block flying creatures unless it also has the reach ability.
15. Does Deathtouch beat trample?
Not necessarily, if a creature with trample has enough power to deal lethal damage to a blocker with deathtouch, it can deal excess damage and trample through to the player. If the deathtouch creature is also blocking another creature with trample, and it is the only blocker, the trample damage can proceed to the defending player.
Conclusion
Deathtouch is a powerful ability that can control the battlefield, changing the way players think about combat. It allows small creatures to become extremely dangerous to even the largest of creatures. While it has its limits, understanding how deathtouch works, and how it interacts with other abilities, is vital to fully appreciate its impact in the game. Mastering these mechanics is essential for any player looking to improve their strategy. It’s not just about dealing damage, it’s about understanding what happens when that damage is dealt.