Does discarding count as dying?

Does Discarding Count as Dying in Magic: The Gathering?

The short and direct answer is: no, discarding does not count as dying in Magic: The Gathering (MTG). This distinction is critical for understanding card interactions and mechanics within the game. While both actions involve a card ending up in the graveyard, they originate from different zones, and this difference is fundamental to the rules of MTG. Let’s delve deeper into the specifics.

Understanding “Dying” in MTG

In the precise language of Magic: The Gathering, the term “dies” has a very specific meaning. According to rule 700.4, “The term dies means ‘is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.'” This means that for a creature or planeswalker to be considered as having “died,” it must have been on the battlefield and then moved to the graveyard. This is a critical distinction. This rule is what dictates when abilities that trigger upon death work.

What is Discarding?

The keyword action discard is defined as moving cards from a player’s hand to their graveyard. It’s an evergreen action, meaning it’s a core mechanic that appears frequently in various forms on different cards. When a card effect tells you to discard, this is precisely what happens. You are taking a card, or cards, from your hand and putting them in your graveyard.

The Key Difference: Origin Zones

The critical difference between dying and discarding comes down to the zone of origin of the card. Dying involves a transition from the battlefield to the graveyard. Discarding involves a transition from the hand to the graveyard. Although the graveyard is the destination for both actions, the source of the cards is completely different, meaning that these actions are not interchangeable. This distinction has big consequences for how cards interact with one another.

Why the Distinction Matters

The separation of these terms is intentional and important for gameplay. Many cards in MTG have abilities that trigger when a creature “dies,” or they interact with cards in the graveyard. If discarding were considered the same as dying, these abilities would trigger whenever a player discarded a card. This would cause many problems with card interactions, leading to unintentional benefits, or very powerful combos. Because these actions are treated differently, we can ensure the integrity of the game.

Sacrifice vs. Discard

It’s worth noting another related action: sacrificing. Sacrificing is the action of moving a permanent from the battlefield to the graveyard. So while sacrificing also moves a card to the graveyard, it is another term that differs from discard in source. Sacrificing a permanent on the battlefield does constitute “dying”, while discarding does not.

Discarding and “The Narcissist”

The idea of “discard” has become a popular topic outside the game as well. In many communities, being “discarded” by a narcissist means a sudden end to the relationship, leaving the victim feeling confused and lost. MTG does not have anything to do with this concept, but it is a common thought. In the game, discarding is a normal action that any player can take. It usually means having to dispose of a card in hand that is useless, or in order to activate an ability.

Common Misconceptions

Many players, especially newer ones, get confused between these different ways of interacting with the graveyard. The terms used in the game are very specific, and understanding the difference will help you to master the game. It is very important to understand the differences when trying to use certain cards or combos that revolve around these interactions.

FAQs: Does Discarding Count as Dying?

1. Does discarding trigger abilities that say “when a creature dies”?

No, discarding does not trigger abilities that say “when a creature dies” because the card is not moving from the battlefield to the graveyard.

2. If a card is discarded, does it still go to the graveyard?

Yes, when a card is discarded, it is moved to the graveyard unless a specific card effect says otherwise.

3. Does a creature being sacrificed count as dying?

Yes, a creature being sacrificed counts as dying because it is moved from the battlefield to the graveyard.

4. Can you choose to discard whenever you want?

No, you can only discard when a card effect or game rule specifically instructs you to do so, such as at the end of turn when your hand size is above 7.

5. Does milling count as discarding?

No, milling does not count as discarding. Milling refers to moving cards from the top of your deck into the graveyard, not from your hand.

6. What happens if a creature with deathtouch is discarded?

If a creature with deathtouch is discarded, its deathtouch ability has no effect because it was not on the battlefield when it went to the graveyard.

7. Does regenerating prevent a creature from being considered “dead”?

Yes, if a creature is regenerated, it doesn’t go to the graveyard, and therefore doesn’t “die”. The creature remains on the battlefield with any damage removed.

8. Can indestructible beat deathtouch?

Yes, indestructible creatures cannot be killed by “lethal damage”, meaning that deathtouch cannot destroy an indestructible creature.

9. If a creature with hexproof is dealt damage from deathtouch, will it die?

Yes, hexproof does not prevent damage from deathtouch. Deathtouch simply needs to deal damage. Hexproof does not protect from this.

10. Can you lose life past 0 in MTG?

Yes, your life total can go below 0 in MTG without losing the game in some circumstances. For example, cards like Phyrexian Unlife can keep you alive even with a negative life total. Usually however, hitting 0 life will cause you to lose.

11. What happens when you “discard your hand?”

When you are instructed to discard your hand, you will take all the cards in your hand and move them to the graveyard.

12. Is discarding the same as removing a card?

No, discarding specifically moves a card from the hand to the graveyard. Removing a card implies taking a card out of the game.

13. What does it mean to send a card to the graveyard?

Sending a card to the graveyard is a general term that refers to a card being placed into the graveyard from anywhere. Discarding is one of the many ways a card can end up in the graveyard.

14. Can a card in the graveyard be considered “discarded”?

No, a card in the graveyard is simply in the graveyard. It has previously been discarded, sacrificed or died, but is not considered discarded once in the graveyard.

15. What is the “discard phase” in Magic?

There isn’t a specific “discard phase” in Magic. Players discard cards at the end of their turn if they have more than the maximum hand size. This is simply part of the cleanup step.

Conclusion

In the world of Magic: The Gathering, understanding the nuances of terminology is essential for effective gameplay. Discarding and dying are distinct actions with different triggers and implications. While both actions often lead to cards ending up in the graveyard, the zone from which the card originates makes all the difference. Always remember, discarding is from the hand to the graveyard and dying is from the battlefield to the graveyard. By grasping this fundamental rule, you’ll be well on your way to mastering the game!

Leave a Comment