Does Double Strike Count in Blocking? The Definitive Guide
Yes, double strike absolutely counts when blocking. A creature with double strike deals damage in both the first strike damage step and the normal combat damage step. When blocking, this means it has two opportunities to deal damage to the attacking creature it is blocking. However, it’s crucial to remember that double strike doesn’t magically make a creature block twice. It simply deals damage twice.
Think of it this way: your creature with double strike is essentially participating in two separate combat damage phases. The first phase happens alongside creatures with first strike, and the second happens concurrently with creatures that have neither ability. This can drastically alter combat outcomes and is a powerful tool for defense. The attacker is still considered blocked for the turn.
Understanding the Nuances of Double Strike and Blocking
The interaction between double strike and blocking isn’t always intuitive. Let’s break down the key aspects to truly understand how this ability functions on defense.
The Order of Combat Damage Steps
Magic: The Gathering has a structured combat phase. When first strike or double strike are in play, it adds another layer of complexity. The combat phase proceeds as follows:
- Beginning of Combat Step: Players can cast spells and activate abilities.
- Declare Attackers Step: The attacking player chooses which creatures will attack.
- Declare Blockers Step: The defending player chooses which of their untapped creatures will block the attackers. Multiple creatures can block a single attacker.
- Combat Damage Step (First Strike): Creatures with first strike or double strike deal their combat damage simultaneously. If a creature with double strike is blocking, it deals its damage to the attacker during this step.
- Combat Damage Step (Normal): If any creatures involved in combat haven’t dealt damage yet (usually because they lack first strike), this is their chance. A creature with double strike that survived the first damage step deals its damage again during this step.
- End of Combat Step: Players can cast spells and activate abilities.
Lethal Damage and Removal
The key to understanding the effectiveness of double strike lies in its ability to potentially remove threats before they have a chance to retaliate.
- If a creature with double strike deals lethal damage to the attacker in the first combat damage step, the attacker won’t deal any damage in the second combat damage step, as it is no longer in combat.
- However, even if a creature is destroyed during the first combat damage step, the creature it was blocking remains blocked.
- If the blocking creature with double strike doesn’t deal lethal damage in the first step, both the blocker and the attacker will deal damage in the second combat damage step.
Trample Considerations
When a creature with double strike is blocked and has trample, the rules become even more intricate. The creature with trample must assign enough damage to the blocker in each combat damage step to be considered lethal. This is a significant boost to the Trample ability.
Deathtouch and Indestructible
When a creature has deathtouch, any amount of damage it deals is considered lethal. This ability is very helpful to remove creatures with high toughness.
On the other hand, if the attacking creature has indestructible, it cannot be destroyed by damage. Therefore, a creature with double strike will still deal damage in both combat damage steps, but the indestructible attacker will survive.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Double Strike and Blocking
Here are some common questions about double strike and blocking in Magic: The Gathering, answered to help clarify the interactions:
- If my double strike blocker kills the attacker in the first damage step, does the attacker still deal damage? No. If your double strike blocker deals lethal damage in the first damage step, the attacker is removed from combat and deals no damage in the second damage step.
- Does double strike block twice? No, double strike does not allow a creature to block twice. It only allows it to deal damage twice. Once a creature is declared as a blocker, it remains blocked for the rest of the combat phase, regardless of whether the blocker survives the first strike damage step.
- Can I respond to the damage dealt by a creature with double strike in the first damage step? You cannot respond during the resolution of damage. However, both players receive priority after the first strike damage step and before the regular damage step, allowing you to cast spells or activate abilities.
- If I double block a creature with double strike, how does damage assignment work? The attacker with double strike assigns its damage in the first damage step. It must assign lethal damage to at least one of the blockers before assigning damage to the other. If the first blocker dies, it assigns the damage accordingly to the remaining blockers. This process repeats during the regular combat damage step.
- Does double strike work with deathtouch? Yes. If a creature with double strike also has deathtouch, any amount of damage it deals is considered lethal. This makes it exceptionally effective at destroying creatures.
- What happens if a creature with double strike blocks a creature with trample? The creature with trample must assign lethal damage to the blocker in each damage step. If the double strike blocker survives the first damage step, the trampling creature must assign lethal damage to it again in the second damage step before any damage can “trample over” to the defending player.
- Can I give a creature double strike multiple times? No. Multiple instances of double strike are redundant. Having double strike and first strike is essentially the same as just having double strike.
- Does first strike work when blocking? Yes. First strike works the same way whether the creature is attacking or blocking. It allows the creature to deal damage in the first combat damage step.
- Does hexproof prevent deathtouch damage? No, Hexproof does not stop deathtouch. Hexproof only prevents a creature from being targeted by spells or abilities an opponent controls. Deathtouch is a static ability that affects damage dealt, not targeting.
- If a creature with double strike is blocked by an indestructible creature, what happens? The double strike creature deals damage in both combat damage steps, but the indestructible creature does not die from the damage.
- Does double strike trigger “whenever this creature deals combat damage” effects twice? Yes. Since a creature with double strike deals combat damage twice, it will trigger effects that trigger when damage is dealt twice in that combat. For example, a sword of Fire and Ice will trigger twice if unblocked.
- Does double strike work with fight spells? No, damage dealt during a fight is not combat damage, so double strike has no effect.
- If a creature with double strike attacks and is blocked by a creature that is then removed from combat before the first strike damage step, what happens? The attacking creature with double strike becomes unblocked. It will deal its combat damage to the defending player in both combat damage steps.
- How does menace interact with double strike when blocking? Menace requires a creature to be blocked by two or more creatures. Double strike only affects how damage is dealt, not the blocking requirements imposed by menace. If a creature with menace is blocked by two creatures, double strike works as usual.
- Where can I learn more about Magic: The Gathering rules and strategies? There are many online resources available, including the official Magic: The Gathering website and various fan-created sites. For more on the educational and social aspects of gaming, you can also visit the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.
Strategic Implications
Understanding how double strike works in blocking scenarios allows for more strategic gameplay. It can influence your decisions on whether to attack, how to assign blockers, and which creatures to include in your deck. Being able to calculate the potential outcomes of combat involving double strike is a crucial skill for any Magic player.
Double strike is a versatile and powerful ability that significantly impacts combat in Magic: The Gathering. When used defensively, it provides a way to eliminate attacking threats quickly. By understanding the intricacies of how double strike interacts with other abilities like trample, deathtouch, and indestructible, you can make more informed decisions and gain a competitive edge.