Does Extra Attack Work with a Held Action 5e?
The Extra Attack feature in D&D 5e does not work with a held action, as it specifically requires taking the Attack action on your turn to benefit from the additional attacks. This means that if you use the Ready action to hold an action, such as attacking, until a specific trigger occurs, you will not be able to use your Extra Attack feature when you finally take that action, since it is not being taken on your turn.
Understanding Extra Attack and Held Actions
To fully grasp how Extra Attack interacts with various mechanics in D&D 5e, it’s essential to understand the basics of both Extra Attack and held actions. Extra Attack allows characters, typically at higher levels, to make additional attacks when they take the Attack action on their turn. On the other hand, held actions involve using the Ready action to delay taking an action until certain conditions are met.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Can You Use Extra Attack on a Reaction?
No, the Extra Attack feature is worded so that you only benefit from it when you attack in your turn, not as a reaction to something.
2. How Does Extra Attack Work in 5e?
Extra Attack gives you an extra attack anytime you take the Attack Action on your turn, allowing for multiple attacks regardless of the outcome of the first attack.
3. Does Extra Attack Apply to Two-Weapon Fighting?
Two-Weapon Fighting refers to primary (including extra attack) and off-hand attacks, meaning Extra Attack can work with two-weapon fighting but doesn’t inherently give you an extra attack for dual wielding.
4. Can You Use a Bonus Action Before Your Action in D&D 5E?
Yes, you can use a bonus action before your action; the order is flexible, allowing for strategic planning.
5. What Are the Rules for Bonus Actions in D&D?
You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action.
6. Does Extra Attack Work with Dual Wielding?
Extra Attack works with dual wielding in the sense that if you have Extra Attack, you can use it with your primary hand, but dual wielding itself doesn’t grant an extra attack without Extra Attack.
7. Can You Shove and Attack with Extra Attack?
Yes, you can shove and then attack, and if you have Extra Attack, you can make additional attacks after the shove.
8. What is the Extra Attack Rule?
The Extra Attack rule allows you to make more than one attack when you take the Attack action on your turn.
9. Can You Use Extra Attack After Moving?
Yes, you can move between attacks if you have Extra Attack, allowing for greater mobility in combat.
10. Does Extra Attack Work with Multiattack?
No, taking the Multiattack action does not allow you to use Extra Attack, as Extra Attack specifically applies to the Attack action.
11. Does Breath Weapon Work with Extra Attack?
Yes, breath weapons can be used as part of Extra Attack, but only once per turn.
12. Can You Grapple and Attack with Extra Attack?
Yes, you can grapple and then attack, benefiting from Extra Attack if you have it, allowing for grappling and attacking multiple times.
13. Do Extra Attacks Stack?
No, the Extra Attack feature does not stack between different classes.
14. Can I Use Sneak Attack and Two-Weapon Fighting?
Yes, you can use Sneak Attack with Two-Weapon Fighting, but you can only apply Sneak Attack once per turn.
15. Can You Attack Multiple Enemies with Extra Attack?
Yes, with Extra Attack, you can make multiple attacks against one or more enemies when you take the Attack action, though each attack is resolved individually for convenience and clarity in combat resolution.