Does First Strike Block Deathtouch? A Comprehensive Guide
The world of Magic: The Gathering is filled with intricate interactions and strategic nuances. One such interaction that often leads to confusion is the clash between First Strike and Deathtouch. So, let’s get right to the heart of the matter: Does First Strike block Deathtouch? Yes, under certain conditions, First Strike can effectively “block” Deathtouch. The key lies in the timing of damage and the creature’s power. A creature with First Strike will deal its damage before a creature without First Strike. If the First Strike creature deals lethal damage (enough damage to destroy the opposing creature, or any amount of damage if the attacking creature has Deathtouch) in the First Strike combat damage step, the creature with Deathtouch will not deal damage at all, effectively negating the Deathtouch ability in that combat.
Understanding First Strike and Deathtouch
Before diving deeper, it’s crucial to understand what each ability does:
-
First Strike: Creatures with First Strike deal combat damage before creatures without it. This means during the combat phase, there’s an initial combat damage step specifically for creatures with First Strike (and Double Strike).
-
Deathtouch: Any amount of damage dealt by a source with Deathtouch to a creature is considered lethal damage. This means even a 1/1 creature with Deathtouch can destroy a 10/10 creature in combat.
How the Interaction Works
The interaction is all about timing. If a creature with First Strike deals enough damage to destroy a creature with Deathtouch during the First Strike combat damage step, the creature with Deathtouch is removed from combat before it can deal its own damage. This scenario effectively prevents the Deathtouch ability from triggering.
Consider this example:
- You attack with a 2/2 creature with First Strike.
- Your opponent blocks with a 3/3 creature with Deathtouch.
During the First Strike combat damage step, your 2/2 First Strike creature deals 2 damage to the 3/3 Deathtouch creature. Since that’s not enough to destroy the blocker, both deal damage in the normal damage step.
Now, let’s change the scenario:
- You attack with a 4/2 creature with First Strike and Deathtouch.
- Your opponent blocks with a 3/3 creature.
During the First Strike combat damage step, your 4/2 First Strike and Deathtouch creature deals 4 damage to the 3/3 creature. Due to the deathtouch, this is lethal, and the creature is destroyed before it can deal damage in the next step. The attacking creature lives.
Key Considerations
-
Sufficient Power: The First Strike creature must have enough power to deal lethal damage to the blocking creature with Deathtouch.
-
Indestructible and Deathtouch: Indestructible creatures are immune to destruction by lethal damage. A creature with deathtouch can deal damage to a creature with indestructible, but this does not destroy it.
First Strike, Deathtouch and the Games Learning Society
Understanding these rules can significantly improve your gameplay and strategic thinking in Magic: The Gathering. It’s all about applying the rules in creative and effective ways. These games, and the communities that surround them, can have a lasting impact on learning and growing. Check out the Games Learning Society at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/ for more on the intersection of games and learning!
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Does First Strike work on blocking?
Yes, you can block a creature with First Strike. The key is to understand that the creature with First Strike will deal combat damage before a creature without First Strike. When declaring blockers, you need to anticipate the damage that will be dealt in the first combat damage step.
How does First Strike and Deathtouch work against multiple blockers?
The attacking creature with First Strike can divide its damage among all declared blockers. If the attacking creature has enough power to destroy multiple blocking creatures during the First Strike damage step and also has Deathtouch, it can eliminate those blockers before they deal combat damage. However, the damage must be assigned appropriately to ensure each blocker receives lethal damage (any amount, thanks to Deathtouch).
Is Deathtouch blocked by Hexproof?
No. Hexproof means a creature can’t be the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. Deathtouch doesn’t target, so hexproof doesn’t prevent it. Deathtouch is an effect that triggers when the source deals damage to a creature, regardless of whether that creature is targetable.
Does indestructible prevent Deathtouch?
No, not completely. Deathtouch causes “lethal damage” to creatures. Indestructible creatures cannot be destroyed by lethal damage. However, if an indestructible creature blocks a creature with First Strike and Deathtouch, and the First Strike damage is lethal, the indestructible creature will still take the damage but won’t be destroyed.
How does First Strike and Deathtouch work together?
If a creature has First Strike and Deathtouch, any creature it damages during the First Strike combat damage step will be destroyed before the normal combat damage step occurs (assuming that the creature has not already left the battlefield). This combination is incredibly powerful, as it allows the creature to eliminate blockers without taking damage in return.
What stops Deathtouch?
Several factors can stop Deathtouch:
- Zero Power: If a creature with deathtouch has zero power, it can’t deal damage and thus cannot destroy an attacking or blocking creature.
- Indestructible: Creatures with indestructible can’t be destroyed by lethal damage.
- Preventing Damage: Spells or abilities that prevent damage can negate the effects of Deathtouch.
- Removing the Creature: Removing the creature with Deathtouch from the battlefield before it deals damage will prevent the Deathtouch effect.
Does Deathtouch work on flying?
Yes, Deathtouch works on flying creatures. It’s not an evasion ability; it’s an ability that affects the damage dealt. If a creature with Deathtouch deals damage to a flying creature, the flying creature will be destroyed.
Does shroud stop Deathtouch?
No, shroud does not protect against Deathtouch. Shroud prevents a creature from being targeted by spells or abilities. Deathtouch doesn’t target; it’s an effect that applies when the creature deals damage.
Does Deathtouch cancel Deathtouch?
No, Deathtouch does not cancel Deathtouch. If two creatures with Deathtouch deal damage to each other, both creatures will be destroyed. Multiple instances of Deathtouch don’t negate the ability; they simply reiterate the effect.
Does Deathtouch do poison counters?
No, Deathtouch alone does not grant poison counters. Poison counters are a separate mechanic, often associated with specific cards and abilities, such as infect.
Does Deathtouch work on Planeswalkers?
No, Deathtouch does not work on Planeswalkers directly. Deathtouch only affects the damage dealt to creatures. However, certain abilities or cards can allow a creature with Deathtouch to deal damage to a Planeswalker.
Can you double block first strike?
Yes, you can double (or triple, etc.) block a creature with First Strike. This can be a strategic way to ensure your opponent’s First Strike creature is destroyed, even if your creatures don’t have First Strike themselves.
Does fight ignore first strike?
Yes, damage dealt while fighting is not combat damage. Therefore, abilities like First Strike and Double Strike have no effect during a fight. The creatures deal damage to each other simultaneously, based on their power.
Does First Strike give haste?
No, First Strike does not inherently grant haste. While some cards might give both First Strike and Haste, they are separate abilities.
Does Hexproof stop sacrifice?
No. Hexproof states that the creature cannot be targeted by spells or abilities that your opponent controls. If the spell or ability causing them to sacrifice targets the player and not the creature, it can still be sacrificed.