Does flurry of blows stack with Martial Arts?

Does Flurry of Blows Stack with Martial Arts?

The short answer is no, Flurry of Blows does not stack with Martial Arts in the way many players might initially think. Both are powerful Monk features, but they occupy the same niche within a combat round: they both utilize your bonus action. This shared limitation means you must choose between using your Martial Arts bonus attack or the Flurry of Blows feature in any given turn; you cannot combine them for a flurry of additional attacks using both.

This limitation is often a point of confusion and frustration for new Monk players, as both features seem designed to enhance the character’s combat prowess. Understanding the nuances of how these features function individually, and how they interact, is essential for playing an effective Monk.

Understanding the Core Mechanics

To fully grasp why these features don’t stack, let’s break down what each one does.

Martial Arts

The Martial Arts feature grants several benefits to Monks, including:

  • Unarmed Strike Damage: Allows you to use a special damage die for your unarmed strikes, which increases as you level up.
  • Dexterity-based Unarmed Attacks: You can use Dexterity instead of Strength for attack and damage rolls with your unarmed strikes.
  • Bonus Action Attack: When you take the Attack action on your turn and attack with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon, you can make one additional attack as a bonus action with an unarmed strike.

The bonus action attack from Martial Arts is key here, as it’s the point of contention with Flurry of Blows. This extra attack is limited to a single unarmed strike.

Flurry of Blows

Flurry of Blows is another core Monk feature that, like Martial Arts, uses a bonus action. It allows you to:

  • Make up to three additional attacks with it. Each flurry of blows attack needs to target a different creature on your turn.
  • Use these attacks after you take the Attack Action on your turn.

This feature is designed for situations where the Monk needs to unleash a rapid series of strikes. Importantly, Flurry of Blows can use unarmed attacks or monk weapons and, with the Monastic Weaponry feature, any melee weapon with the monk trait.

The Bonus Action Conflict

The reason Martial Arts and Flurry of Blows don’t stack lies in their use of the bonus action. You only get one bonus action per turn, so you can either make a single extra unarmed attack using Martial Arts or make up to three additional attacks via Flurry of Blows, not both.

Strategy and Optimization

While these features cannot be used in the same turn, knowing when to use one over the other is key to mastering the Monk class. In general, here’s a quick guide:

  • Use Martial Arts: This bonus action attack will always be available assuming you have your monk weapon or are using unarmed strikes.
  • Use Flurry of Blows: When facing multiple enemies, Flurry of Blows can provide a substantial damage boost over time. Remember though, that each of those attacks must target a different creature each turn.

Understanding your available options in combat will help you to make the correct decision. These features enhance your combat potential.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. What weapons can be used with Flurry of Blows?

Normally, Flurry of Blows is designed for unarmed strikes. However, Monastic Weaponry allows you to use any melee weapon with the monk trait for any monk ability that normally requires unarmed attacks. This means you can use a Bo Staff, Short Sword, or any other eligible weapon for Flurry of Blows if you have Monastic Weaponry.

2. Is Flurry of Blows 3 or 4 attacks?

Flurry of Blows is up to three additional attacks, not including the base attacks you take as part of your Attack Action. The text for flurry of blows clearly states the monk can make up to three additional attacks.

3. Can you use Flurry of Blows before attacking?

No. Flurry of Blows must occur after you take the Attack Action. You must attack at least once with your normal action before you can use your bonus action to do Flurry of Blows.

4. Can Flurry of Blows target multiple enemies?

Yes. In the game, you can target multiple enemies, with up to three additional attacks from your Flurry of Blows as long as each of those attacks target a different enemy each turn.

5. Does Flurry of Blows stack with two-weapon fighting?

No, Flurry of Blows does not stack with two-weapon fighting. Both require a bonus action to activate. You choose between one or the other.

6. Can you use Flurry of Blows and two-weapon fighting in the same turn?

No, you cannot use two-weapon fighting, martial arts, or a flurry of blows on the same turn since they all require the same bonus action. You can either use two-weapon fighting or a Flurry of Blows.

7. Can you use Flurry of Blows in armor?

A Sohei monk can still use Flurry of Blows if they are wearing light armor, but not if they are wearing medium armor.

8. Can you perform combat maneuvers during a Flurry of Blows?

Yes. You can substitute disarm, sunder, or trip combat maneuvers for unarmed attacks during a flurry of blows.

9. Can you use Flurry of Blows if you miss an attack?

Yes. It doesn’t matter whether your attack hits or misses. As long as you take the attack action on your turn, you can use Flurry of Blows.

10. Can I use Flurry of Blows twice in a round?

No. You only get one bonus action in a round. Since Flurry of Blows is a bonus action, you can only perform it once per turn.

11. Can you use Flurry of Blows with a spell?

No. Spell combat is a specific full-round action, and Flurry of Blows is also a full-attack action. These actions cannot be combined.

12. Is Flurry of Blows considered a full-round action?

Yes, a full-attack action like Flurry of Blows is a kind of full-round action. You generally cannot combine other full round actions while using it.

13. Does Flurry of Blows add your Dexterity modifier to damage?

Yes. Monks apply their ability modifier (Strength or Dexterity) to their damage rolls with unarmed attacks or monk weapons, including those made during a Flurry of Blows.

14. Can a Monk use two-weapon fighting?

Yes. You can use two-weapon fighting as long as they are using monk or light weapons. You follow the rules for two-weapon fighting, and the monk weapons increase in damage based on monk level.

15. Can I rage and use Flurry of Blows?

Yes, you can. Moreover, at 6th level, when you use the Flurry of Blows monk ability, you may spend one additional ki point to give both strikes advantage to hit.

Conclusion

While Flurry of Blows and Martial Arts cannot be used simultaneously due to the bonus action limitation, both are incredibly valuable assets to the Monk class. By understanding how each works and when to use them, you can optimize your Monk’s effectiveness in combat. The choices you make between these powerful abilities will be crucial to your Monk’s success. This choice between abilities can change how you play and how your character progresses.

Leave a Comment