Does hex have to target 6 creatures?

Mastering the Arcane: Does Hex Really Need Six?

The question of whether Hex needs to target six creatures in Magic: The Gathering is a crucial one for any aspiring spellcaster. The short answer is: Yes. Hex absolutely must target six different creatures upon casting. If you cannot legally target six distinct creatures, you cannot cast Hex. This isn’t a suggestion; it’s a hard and fast rule baked into the very essence of the spell. Let’s delve deeper into why this is the case and explore the nuances surrounding this potent, if demanding, spell.

The Nitty-Gritty of Hex Targeting

Hex, in its design, demands a certain scale of devastation. It’s not a pinpoint removal spell; it’s designed to cripple an opponent’s board state. The requirement to target six creatures reflects this. Think of it as a magical decree affecting a broad swathe of the battlefield.

The exact wording of Hex is key here. The spell states you “target six different creatures.” That word “different” is vital. You can’t target the same creature multiple times to satisfy the requirement. You need six unique targets.

Furthermore, this targeting must be legal at the time of casting. You can’t attempt to target six creatures and hope some of them become valid later. All six targets must be legal and selectable when you put Hex on the stack. If your opponent only has four creatures on the battlefield, you can’t target those four and then two of your own to reach the required six.

What Happens if Targets Disappear?

This is where things get interesting, and it’s a common point of confusion. If, after you successfully cast Hex with six legal targets, one or more of those targets become illegal before Hex resolves, the spell will still resolve and destroy the remaining legal targets.

Imagine this scenario: You cast Hex, targeting six of your opponent’s creatures. In response, your opponent sacrifices one of those creatures. When Hex resolves, the sacrificed creature is no longer a legal target. However, the other five creatures will still be destroyed. The spell doesn’t “fizzle” completely just because one target vanished.

The key takeaway is that legality is checked at two crucial times: at the time of casting and at the time of resolution. All six targets need to be legal at casting. Any remaining legal targets will be affected at resolution.

Practical Considerations for Hex in Gameplay

Knowing the intricacies of Hex’s targeting is more than just academic. It informs how you play and build your deck. Here are a few practical considerations:

  • Board State Awareness: Before committing to casting Hex, meticulously count the available targets. Are there truly six legal targets? Don’t prematurely tap your mana, only to realize you can’t actually cast the spell.

  • Targeted Removal Resistance: Be mindful of your opponent’s ability to remove or protect creatures in response to your Hex. If they have instant-speed removal or protection spells, consider whether it’s worth the risk.

  • Political Tool: In multiplayer formats like Commander, Hex can be a powerful political tool. It can be used to negotiate alliances or break up threatening board states, potentially benefiting you and your allies.

  • Combating Hexproof and Shroud: Remember the crucial distinction between hexproof and shroud. While hexproof prevents opponents from targeting a permanent, shroud prevents anyone from targeting it, including its controller. Be careful not to target your own creatures with shroud accidentally.

Hex: A Rewarding but Demanding Spell

Hex is undoubtedly a potent card in Magic: The Gathering, offering the potential to swing the game heavily in your favor. However, its demanding targeting requirements mean it’s not always a straightforward choice. Understanding the rules surrounding Hex is critical for effectively utilizing this powerful spell and avoiding costly misplays.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Hex

Here are some frequently asked questions about Hex to further clarify its mechanics:

1. Can Hex target the same creature twice?

No, Hex cannot target the same creature twice. The spell specifically states that you must target six different creatures.

2. What happens if my opponent sacrifices one of the targeted creatures in response to Hex?

If a targeted creature is sacrificed in response to Hex, it becomes an illegal target. However, Hex will still resolve and destroy the remaining legal targets. The spell only fails if it can’t destroy the number of creatures the spell is made for.

3. Can I target my own creatures with Hex?

Yes, you can target your own creatures with Hex, as long as you can also target enough of your opponent’s creatures to reach a total of six different targets.

4. Can I cast Hex if there are fewer than six creatures on the battlefield?

No, you cannot cast Hex if there are fewer than six creatures on the battlefield. The spell requires you to target six different creatures, and if that’s impossible, you cannot cast the spell.

5. If a creature gains hexproof in response to Hex, what happens?

If a creature gains hexproof after you cast Hex but before it resolves, that creature becomes an illegal target. Hex will still resolve and destroy the remaining legal targets.

6. What is the difference between hexproof and shroud?

Hexproof prevents your opponents from targeting a permanent, while shroud prevents anyone from targeting it, including its controller. You cannot target a permanent with shroud with Hex, even if it’s your own.

7. Does Hex trigger abilities that trigger when a creature is destroyed?

Yes, Hex triggers abilities that trigger when a creature is destroyed, such as “dies” triggers or abilities that trigger when a creature is put into a graveyard from the battlefield.

8. Can I copy Hex with a spell like Twincast?

Typically, no. There isn’t a card that copies Hex.

9. Can I use Hex to target creatures with protection from black?

No, you cannot target creatures with protection from black with Hex, as Hex is a black spell. Protection prevents targeting, damage, enchanting/equipping, and blocking from sources of the specified quality (in this case, black).

10. Does Hex require me to pay any additional costs to target a creature with Ward?

You do not have to pay the ward cost to target your own creatures. Ward will only make you pay if it is targeting an opponent’s creature.

11. Can Hex be countered?

Yes, Hex can be countered by spells or abilities that counter spells, such as Counterspell or Dispel.

12. If one of the targeted creatures is indestructible, what happens?

An indestructible creature will not be destroyed by Hex. However, Hex will still resolve and destroy the other legal targets. The indestructible creature remains on the battlefield.

13. Can I use Hex to remove creatures enchanted with Auras?

Yes, destroying a creature with Hex will cause any Auras attached to it to be put into their owner’s graveyard, unless those Auras have abilities that keep them on the battlefield.

14. What happens if I miscount and declare Hex with fewer than six legal targets?

If you declare Hex targeting fewer than six legal targets, the spell is considered illegally cast and will be put into your graveyard, and any mana spent is wasted. This is why careful counting is essential.

15. Where can I learn more about Magic: The Gathering strategy and gameplay?

You can learn more about Magic: The Gathering strategy and gameplay from various resources, including online articles, videos, forums, and communities. Another excellent resource is the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org, which explores the educational aspects and strategic thinking involved in games like Magic: The Gathering. You can visit them at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/

Leave a Comment