Does minds desire count as casting?

Decoding Mind’s Desire: Casting, Playing, and the Storm

Does Mind’s Desire count as casting? Yes, partially. Cards cast as a result of Mind’s Desire contribute to the storm count, while copies created by the storm ability do not. This distinction is crucial for understanding how this powerful, and ultimately ban-worthy, card functioned within the rules of Magic: The Gathering. Let’s delve into the specifics.

Mind’s Desire: A Stormy Retrospective

Mind’s Desire, a sorcery from the Scourge set, is infamous for its storm ability. The storm ability states: “When you cast this spell, copy it for each spell cast before it this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.” What made Mind’s Desire so potent was its additional effect: “Exile the top card of your library. You may play that card without paying its mana cost. Repeat this process until you exile three cards.”

This effect allowed players to potentially cast several spells for free, further fueling the storm count for subsequent copies of Mind’s Desire, creating a cascading effect. The interplay between casting the initial Mind’s Desire, generating copies via storm, and then playing exiled cards from the library is where the rules intricacies lie.

The Crucial Distinction: Casting vs. Playing

The core of the issue rests on the difference between casting and playing in Magic: The Gathering.

  • Casting: To cast a spell means taking a card from a zone (usually your hand), putting it onto the stack, and paying its costs. This action triggers abilities like storm.
  • Playing: Playing is a broader term. You play lands, and you can also play spells. The text on Mind’s Desire instructs you to “play” the cards you exile. The rules clarify that if you “play a card,” you cast it if it’s a spell, and you simply put it onto the battlefield if it’s a land.

Therefore, any nonland cards you play off of Mind’s Desire count as being cast, because the text of Mind’s Desire instructs you to play those cards, and to play a spell, you cast it.

Storm and Copies: A Separate Matter

The copies of Mind’s Desire created by the storm ability are not cast. They are simply put onto the stack. This is a vital distinction. Because copies aren’t cast, they don’t trigger the storm ability again, and they don’t increase the storm count for other spells.

This is stated in the comprehensive rules, “To copy a spell, activated ability, or triggered ability means to put a copy of it onto the stack; a copy of a spell isn’t cast and a copy of an activated ability isn’t activated.”

Why Mind’s Desire Was Banned

Mind’s Desire was originally banned from Legacy a mere six days after its release, a testament to its overwhelming power. The card highlighted some of the inherent problems with the storm mechanic when combined with free or reduced-cost spells. It enabled explosive turns where players could cast a series of spells, generate a huge storm count, and then unleash a devastating final spell, often winning the game on the spot. The card’s ability to create virtual card advantage and generate massive storm counts made it too efficient and consistent for the Legacy format.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the nuances of Mind’s Desire and its interactions with the casting and playing rules.

1. What exactly does “storm” do?

The storm ability triggers when you cast a spell with storm. It creates a copy of that spell for each spell cast before it this turn. You can choose new targets for these copies.

2. Does playing a land count as casting a spell?

No. Playing a land is a special action that doesn’t use the stack and is not considered casting.

3. If I copy a spell, does that count as casting it?

No. Copying a spell does not count as casting it. The copy is simply placed directly onto the stack.

4. If a card says “play,” does that mean I’m casting it?

Not necessarily. “Play” is a broader term than cast. If you “play” a card and it’s a spell, you cast it. If you “play” a card and it’s a land, you simply put it onto the battlefield.

5. Does the order in which I cast spells matter for Mind’s Desire?

Absolutely. The storm ability copies Mind’s Desire based on the number of spells cast before it. So, casting cheaper spells first to build up the storm count is crucial.

6. Can I counter the copies created by Mind’s Desire’s storm ability?

Yes. The copies created by the storm ability go on the stack, and each can be countered individually, however if the original spell resolves, there is no way to prevent a player from playing the exiled cards.

7. What happens if I exile a land with Mind’s Desire?

If you exile a land with Mind’s Desire, you may put it onto the battlefield. This doesn’t count as casting, and it doesn’t add to the storm count.

8. What happens if all three exiled cards are lands?

If all three cards exiled are lands, you simply put them onto the battlefield. You’ve essentially gotten three “free” land drops.

9. If I “cast” a spell from exile using an ability other than Mind’s Desire, does that count towards the storm count?

Yes. Any time you cast a spell, regardless of where it’s cast from (hand, graveyard, exile, etc.), it adds to the storm count.

10. Is Mind’s Desire legal in any formats?

As of right now, Mind’s Desire is still banned in legacy.

11. What are some other cards that combo well with the storm mechanic?

Rituals (like Dark Ritual and Pyretic Ritual) are excellent for generating mana to cast multiple spells quickly. Cards that draw extra cards (cantrips) help you find more spells to cast. Finally, effects that reduce mana costs further enhance storm’s explosive potential.

12. What does it mean for a spell to be on “the stack”?

The stack is a zone where spells and abilities wait to resolve. Players can respond to spells and abilities on the stack before they resolve, leading to counter wars or other interactions.

13. If I cast Mind’s Desire and my opponent counters it, do I still get the storm copies?

No. If the original Mind’s Desire is countered, the storm ability doesn’t trigger, and no copies are created.

14. Where can I learn more about MTG rules and mechanics?

The official Magic: The Gathering website is a great resource. You can also find helpful communities and discussions on various Magic: The Gathering forums and websites, also visit the Games Learning Society website at GamesLearningSociety.org to learn more about games and learning. The Games Learning Society is a great resource for information about educational games.

15. Does using a card like “Show and Tell” to put Mind’s Desire directly onto the battlefield count as casting it?

No. Show and Tell allows you to put a card from your hand directly onto the battlefield. This doesn’t count as casting the spell, so it doesn’t trigger the storm mechanic.

Leave a Comment