Does Multiattack Apply to Spells? A Comprehensive Guide
No, Multiattack does not apply to spells. Multiattack is a specific monster ability outlined in the Monster Manual and other official D&D sources, and it exclusively allows a creature to make multiple weapon attacks as part of its action. Spells are cast using the Cast a Spell action, which is distinct from the Attack action, and Multiattack never interacts with spells.
Understanding Multiattack in Detail
Multiattack is a monster-specific ability often found on creatures that rely on physical prowess and melee combat. It’s designed to give monsters a way to threaten multiple opponents or focus their attacks on a single target more effectively. Let’s delve deeper into its mechanics.
What is Multiattack?
Multiattack allows a creature to make a specified number of weapon attacks as part of its action. This is a crucial point. The description will usually state something like: “The [creature] makes two attacks with its claws.” This means the creature can use its action to make both claw attacks. Importantly, the attack action is different from the “Cast a Spell” action.
Key Features of Multiattack
-
Monster Ability: Multiattack is exclusively a monster ability. Player characters do not have access to Multiattack in the standard rules. Features like the Extra Attack available to Fighters and other martial classes are similar but function slightly differently.
-
Weapon Attacks Only: Multiattack only applies to weapon attacks. These are attacks made with weapons, natural weapons (like claws or bites), or unarmed strikes.
-
Action Economy: Multiattack uses the creature’s Action. They can’t make additional attacks from Multiattack if they use their action for something else.
-
Specific Number of Attacks: The description of the Multiattack ability specifies the number and type of attacks that can be made. For example, a monster might have “Multiattack. The creature makes one bite attack and two claw attacks.”
-
No Mixing with Spells: Most crucially, and the core focus of this article, Multiattack never allows a creature to cast spells as part of the same action. Spells require the Cast a Spell action, which is separate from the Attack action used in Multiattack.
Examples of Multiattack in Action
Consider a Werewolf. Its stat block might include:
- “Multiattack. The werewolf makes two attacks: one with its bite and one with its claws.”
This means the Werewolf, using its action, can perform one bite attack and one claw attack. It cannot cast a spell instead of one of these attacks.
Another example could be an Ogre:
- “Multiattack. The ogre makes two greatclub attacks.”
The Ogre’s Multiattack allows it to swing its greatclub twice. Again, spells are not part of this equation.
Why Multiattack Doesn’t Apply to Spells
The separation between Multiattack and spells is fundamental to the game’s design. Here’s why they don’t mix:
-
Action Economy: D&D relies on a careful balance of action economy. Allowing a creature to cast a spell and make multiple weapon attacks within the same action would severely unbalance encounters, particularly at lower levels.
-
Specificity of Abilities: The description of Multiattack is very specific: it allows for multiple weapon attacks. Spells are cast using the “Cast a Spell” action, which is a different action entirely. If a creature has an ability that allows them to combine actions, it would explicitly state that.
-
Spellcasting as a Distinct Activity: Spellcasting is a distinct and often powerful activity. It requires focus, somatic gestures, verbal components, and sometimes material components. Integrating it seamlessly with weapon attacks would trivialize the cost and complexity of spellcasting.
-
Balance Considerations: Imagine a monster with Multiattack and powerful spells. It could devastate a party in a single turn. The game is designed to prevent such overwhelming power combinations without specific features designed to allow for it.
Exceptions and Nuances
While Multiattack itself never applies to spells, there are some related concepts and exceptions to be aware of:
-
Creatures with Both Multiattack and Spellcasting: Many creatures have both Multiattack and spellcasting abilities. However, they must choose which action to use each turn. They can use their action to Multiattack or to cast a spell, but not both simultaneously using Multiattack. An example could be a Drider.
-
Legendary Actions: Some legendary creatures have Legendary Actions that might allow them to make an attack and cast a spell in the same round, but these are distinct from the Multiattack ability. Legendary actions happen outside of the creature’s turn.
-
Homebrew Rules: Some Dungeon Masters might choose to create homebrew rules that alter this interaction. However, this is not part of the core rules of D&D 5e and should be approached with caution to avoid unbalancing the game.
-
Class Features that Mimic Extra Attacks with Cantrips: The Bladesinger Wizard and certain Eldritch Knight Fighter features allow for an attack and a cantrip to be cast in the same turn. These features are not Multiattack and come with explicit rules to define how they work.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the relationship between Multiattack and spells:
1. Can a creature with Multiattack cast a spell as one of its attacks?
No. Multiattack only applies to weapon attacks, not spellcasting. The Cast a Spell action is different from the Attack action.
2. If a monster has Multiattack and spellcasting, can it use both in the same turn?
Typically, no. The monster must choose to either use its action to Multiattack or use its action to cast a spell.
3. What if a monster’s Multiattack description includes a “special attack” that resembles a spell?
If a creature has a special attack that mimics the effect of a spell, the description of the Multiattack ability will explicitly state how that attack functions. It’s still considered an attack, not a spell.
4. Does Extra Attack, a class feature similar to Multiattack, allow for spellcasting?
No. Extra Attack allows for multiple attacks, and the Cast a Spell action is distinct. There are specific class features like the Bladesinger’s Extra Attack that allow for a cantrip and an attack.
5. Are there any spells that can be cast as part of an attack action?
Some spells, such as Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade, require you to make a melee weapon attack as part of the spellcasting process. However, you are still casting a spell; the attack is a component of the spell.
6. Can a monster with Multiattack use a bonus action spell after making its attacks?
Yes, if the monster has a bonus action spell and hasn’t used its bonus action for something else. Multiattack only affects the action.
7. If a monster’s stat block lists both a weapon attack and a spell, can I assume it can use both in the same turn?
No. Unless specifically stated otherwise in the monster’s stat block, it can only use one action per turn. It must choose between attacking and casting a spell.
8. What if a creature is concentrating on a spell? Does Multiattack break that concentration?
Being attacked while concentrating on a spell might force the creature to make a Constitution saving throw to maintain concentration. Multiattack simply increases the chance of the creature taking damage and potentially losing concentration.
9. Can a creature with Multiattack use its action to cast a ritual spell?
No. Casting a ritual spell typically takes much longer than a single action.
10. Are there any feats that allow a character to cast a spell and make multiple attacks in the same turn?
Not directly. The War Caster feat allows you to cast a spell as an opportunity attack, but it doesn’t combine with Multiattack or Extra Attack.
11. If a monster has both Multiattack and the ability to summon creatures, can it summon and attack in the same turn?
Generally, summoning a creature requires an action. Therefore, the monster would have to choose between using its action to Multiattack or using its action to summon.
12. What about innate spellcasting? Does that interact with Multiattack differently?
Innate spellcasting follows the same rules as other spellcasting. It requires the Cast a Spell action and doesn’t combine with Multiattack unless specifically stated.
13. Can a monster with Multiattack use its Reaction to cast a spell?
Yes, if the spell has a casting time of 1 reaction and the trigger condition has been met. This is separate from its Action and Multiattack.
14. Does having multiple attacks from Multiattack increase the chance to hit a target with a spell?
No. Multiattack only applies to weapon attacks. Spells have their own mechanics for determining whether they hit or affect a target, typically involving attack rolls, saving throws, or automatic effects.
15. If I use the Haste spell, can I use the extra action to cast a spell and Multiattack?
No. The Haste spell grants an additional action that can only be used to Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object. It cannot be used to cast a spell or use the Multiattack ability.