Does Multiattack work with cantrips?

Does Multiattack Work with Cantrips? A Comprehensive Guide

The question of whether multiattack can be used with cantrips in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e) is a frequent source of confusion. The short answer is generally, no, you cannot typically use a multiattack action and replace one or more attacks with a cantrip. However, like many things in 5e, there are specific exceptions and nuances. Let’s delve into the mechanics to understand why this is the case and when you might encounter a different outcome.

The Core Conflict: Attack Actions vs. Casting a Spell Actions

The fundamental reason why multiattack and cantrips generally don’t mix lies in the distinction between the “Attack” action and the “Cast a Spell” action. Most cantrips require you to use your action to cast them, and the “Attack” action is a separate action type. These two action types are mutually exclusive; you cannot use them within the same action. A multiattack action specifically requires you to make multiple weapon attacks as part of that specific action. It doesn’t inherently allow for substitution with other types of actions such as casting spells.

Here’s a simplified breakdown:

  • Attack Action: Used for making weapon attacks, including multiattack actions for classes and monsters that possess that ability.
  • Cast a Spell Action: Used for casting spells, including cantrips with a casting time of one action.

Thus, normally, you cannot use a multiattack and replace one or more attacks with a cantrip, as they belong to these distinct actions.

The Exception: The Bladesinger Wizard

There is one notable exception to this rule: The Bladesinger wizard. This subclass, introduced in Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything, gains the Bladesong feature. One of the benefits at 6th level allows a Bladesinger to make one weapon attack as part of the Extra Attack feature, and then replace one of those attacks with a cantrip.

This is a highly specific feature that overrides the normal rules, providing a unique way for Bladesingers to weave spells into their melee attacks. It is important to note this is NOT a standard feature; most classes cannot do this. The wording is crucial, specifically allowing replacement of one of the extra attack options with a cantrip.

Why Not? Understanding the Mechanics

The rules are designed to ensure that casters and martial classes operate differently. Martial classes focus primarily on weapon attacks, while full casters focus on spellcasting. Blending the two is not the norm and, for good reason, as it maintains a balance in play. Allowing a multiattack to replace with cantrips would make martial casters overly powerful, granting a single character both consistent attack output and consistent magic output.

Cantrips are powerful, versatile tools that don’t expend spell slots and can be used again and again. Combining them with a multiattack would make the class that could do this incredibly powerful. So, the standard rule of mutually exclusive actions exists to prevent spellcasters from gaining an overwhelming amount of attacks and spells in a single turn.

FAQs: Clarifying Cantrip and Multiattack Rules

Here are some frequently asked questions related to cantrips, multiattack, and the interplay between them, to further clarify the rules and concepts:

Can you cast two cantrips in one turn?

Yes, you can. The rule for casting a spell with a bonus action stipulates that the only other spells you can cast that turn are cantrips with a casting time of one action. You can cast two or even more cantrips in the same turn, provided you have multiple actions (such as through Action Surge) or a way to cast one as a bonus action.

Can you use a cantrip and an attack action in the same turn?

Normally, no. You cannot use a cantrip that requires an action and then take the attack action. However, if you cast a spell as a bonus action (including a bonus action cantrip), you can then take a standard action and cast a cantrip that takes an action. If a cantrip has an attack roll then it is a spell, and not an attack action.

Can you multiattack and cast a bonus action cantrip?

Yes. Since multiattack is the attack action, and a bonus action cantrip is a spell casting action that requires a bonus action, these two actions can be done in the same turn.

Can you cast a cantrip with Extra Attack?

No, unless you are a Bladesinger wizard. The standard Extra Attack feature is still part of the attack action and doesn’t allow replacing an attack with a cantrip.

Can you use metamagic on cantrips?

Yes, you can. Metamagic effects from a Sorcerer can be used to modify cantrips, like using Quicken Spell to cast a cantrip as a bonus action.

Can you cast a cantrip as a bonus action?

Yes, some cantrips specifically have a bonus action casting time. Additionally, features such as the Quicken Spell metamagic from a Sorcerer allow you to turn any spell with a casting time of 1 action, into a spell with a casting time of 1 bonus action, such as a cantrip.

Do cantrips use spell slots?

No, cantrips do not use spell slots. They are unlimited use spells you can cast without spending resources.

Can a cantrip be counterspelled?

No. As written, you cannot use the Counterspell spell against a cantrip. However some creatures and features might have spell immunity that might protect against cantrips.

Do racial cantrips count against cantrips known?

No. Racial cantrips are treated separately from those gained through your class and will not reduce the number of cantrips you can learn through your class progression.

Do cantrips count as attacks?

No, cantrips do not count as attacks. Casting a cantrip is taking a spell action, not an attack action.

Does casting a cantrip break invisibility?

Yes, casting a cantrip breaks invisibility (since it’s a spell), unless a specific feature says otherwise.

Can I cast a spell and a bonus action cantrip in the same turn?

No. You can only cast a cantrip with an action if you cast a spell as a bonus action, that spell may or may not be a cantrip.

What cantrip does the most damage?

Eldritch Blast is often considered to be among the most powerful damage cantrips, especially for Warlocks who have specific enhancements for it.

Can you cast an infinite number of cantrips?

In theory, yes. You can cast as many cantrips as you have actions, since they do not consume any spell slots.

Are cantrips leveled spells?

Yes. Cantrips are spells, but they are considered level 0 spells, not level 1 spells.

Conclusion

Understanding the rules regarding cantrips and multiattack is vital for optimal play in D&D 5e. While the standard rule prevents using them together in the manner most players assume, the Bladesinger offers an exciting exception. Remember that cantrips are not attacks, and the restrictions surrounding actions ensure a balanced and engaging combat system. By grasping these nuances, you’ll be better equipped to make strategic decisions in your next game.

Leave a Comment