Does mutate count as a new creature?

Decoding Mutate: Is It a New Creature in Magic: The Gathering?

The world of Magic: The Gathering (MTG) is a vast and intricate landscape, filled with countless mechanics, keywords, and interactions. Among the more perplexing, yet fascinating, is the Mutate mechanic, introduced in the Ikoria: Lair of Behemoths set. A common question that arises when delving into Mutate is: Does mutate count as a new creature? The simple answer is no. When you mutate a creature, you’re not creating a brand new creature entity. Instead, you are merging two creatures into a single, enhanced permanent on the battlefield.

Understanding Mutate: A Deep Dive

Mutate is a special ability that allows you to combine two creatures into one. The resulting creature retains characteristics from both cards used in the mutation, creating a new creature with combined stats and abilities.

When casting a creature spell for its mutate cost, you target a non-Human creature you own. When the spell resolves, it doesn’t enter the battlefield as a separate permanent. Instead, it merges with the target creature, becoming a single permanent. This is where the confusion often arises, as the resulting creature has new characteristics, but it’s still considered the same permanent as the original targeted creature.

The key to understanding mutate lies in recognizing that it’s a modification of an existing permanent, not the creation of a new one. The creature on the battlefield is still the same “game object,” even though its appearance and abilities have changed drastically. The permanent only has a single name, and it only has a single set of stats.

How Mutate Works

When resolving a Mutate spell, you choose whether to place the mutating creature card on top or underneath the target creature. The creature on top determines the characteristics of the merged creature, including its name, mana cost, power, and toughness. The creature underneath provides its abilities and text to the merged creature.

Keep in mind that the mutate spell, when cast, is still considered a creature spell. This is important for triggers that look for you to cast a creature spell.

Mutate: A Rules Perspective

The comprehensive rules of Magic: The Gathering define how the mutate mechanic functions. These rules highlight that a mutating creature spell resolves by merging with an existing permanent, rather than creating a new one. This is the core distinction that determines whether it counts as a new creature.

FAQs: Unraveling the Mutate Mystery

To further clarify the intricacies of the Mutate mechanic, here are some frequently asked questions:

1. Does mutate count as multiple creatures?

No. Merged creatures from a mutation are counted as a single creature, even though they are physically represented by multiple cards stacked together. The game treats them as one permanent.

2. Does mutate change the name of the creature?

If you mutate on top, the resulting creature inherits the name of the mutating creature you cast. If you mutate onto the bottom, it maintains the previous creature’s name instead.

3. Does mutate count as a permanent in Magic The Gathering?

A mutating creature spell that resolves doesn’t enter the battlefield as a separate permanent. It becomes part of the permanent it targets, changing that permanent’s characteristics. The resulting creature is a single permanent, not multiple.

4. Does mutate cause summoning sickness?

No, it won’t have “summoning sickness” unless it already had it. The permanenet does not flicker or leave the battlefield, so the resultant creature maintains summoning sickness, or lack thereof.

5. Does mutate count as a creature spell?

A mutating creature spell is indeed a creature spell, even though it won’t enter the battlefield as a creature. This is important for effects that trigger when you cast a creature spell.

6. What happens if you blink a mutate creature?

All the components return separately. The mutated creature is exiled, then becomes separate objects. When they are returned, the individual creatures that made up the mutation enter the battlefield as new permanents.

7. Does mutate work with Beast Whisperer?

Yes. When you use mutate, the spell you’re casting is still the original creature spell in every way. It is still a creature spell, of that name, with the CMC of the original card (not the mutate cost). You will draw a card off Beast Whisperer for it.

8. Does mutate get rid of legendary?

No. That means that if you mutate on top of a legendary creature, you can cast it again (if you have another copy in your hand) without it being affected by the legend rule.

9. Can you mutate the same creature twice?

Yes. You can keep mutating new creature spells onto an existing merged creature, creating a taller and taller stack of abilities.

10. Does mutate count as ETB?

No, the resolving mutating creature spell doesn’t enter the battlefield. It simply makes the creature that was already on the battlefield change characteristics. Therefore, “enter the battlefield” effects are not triggered.

11. What is the mana value of mutate?

The mana value of a creature being cast for its mutate cost is based on whatever its mana cost is. The mana value of a mutated creature is based on whatever creature is on the top of the stack. Other creatures in the stack don’t contribute.

12. Can you cast mutate from the graveyard?

Yes. Mutate is an alternate casting method, but it still casts the creature card, which can be done from the graveyard.

13. Is a mutated artifact creature still an artifact?

If you put the artifact on top, it will be an artifact; if you put the mutate creature card on top, it will be a creature. In either case, there is nothing removing the card type.

14. Can you mutate an opponents creature?

No. You can only target a creature that you own.

15. What happens if you return a mutated creature to its owners hand?

You return to your hand all cards making up the mutated creature.

Conclusion

The Mutate mechanic in Magic: The Gathering is a complex yet rewarding mechanic. Understanding that mutate merges creatures into a single permanent, rather than creating a new one, is crucial for navigating its intricacies. The combined power of combined abilities and stats allows for big plays and complicated boardstates. By understanding the answers to these frequently asked questions, you’ll be well-equipped to harness the full potential of mutate in your next game of Magic.

For more educational insights into the world of games and learning, be sure to check out GamesLearningSociety.org.

Leave a Comment