Unleashing the Lethal Combo: Rabid Bite and Deathtouch in Magic: The Gathering
Yes, Rabid Bite absolutely works with Deathtouch in Magic: The Gathering, and it’s a fearsome combination! When you cast Rabid Bite, you’re essentially forcing your creature to fight another creature, dealing damage equal to its power. If your creature possesses the Deathtouch ability, even a single point of damage dealt through Rabid Bite is enough to destroy the opponent’s creature, regardless of its toughness. It’s a powerful way to take down even the most formidable threats!
Understanding the Synergy
The magic behind this synergy lies in the way Deathtouch modifies the rules for damage. Normally, a creature needs to deal damage equal to or greater than a creature’s toughness to destroy it. However, Deathtouch bypasses this requirement. As the deathtouch text says, any amount of damage dealt by a source with deathtouch is considered lethal to a creature. Thus, even if your creature with deathtouch only has one power, the single point of damage it deals via Rabid Bite is enough to eliminate almost any creature on the board (with a few exceptions which we’ll get to!).
A Practical Example
Imagine you control a 1/1 creature with Deathtouch and your opponent has a massive 6/6 creature. Normally, your little creature wouldn’t stand a chance in combat. However, if you cast Rabid Bite, targeting your creature and the opponent’s behemoth, your 1/1 deals 1 damage to the 6/6. Because your creature has Deathtouch, that 1 damage is lethal, and the 6/6 is destroyed. Your creature emerges unscathed, ready for the next fight.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Rabid Bite, Deathtouch, and Related Mechanics
Here are some common questions regarding Rabid Bite, Deathtouch, and how they interact with other mechanics in Magic: The Gathering. Let’s dive in!
1. Does Rabid Bite Work on Tapped Creatures?
No, Rabid Bite does not require the target creature to be tapped. Rabid Bite is a spell that causes your creature to deal damage to another creature. Whether or not that target creature is tapped is irrelevant. Tapping a creature also doesn’t remove it from combat.
2. Can Rabid Bite Target Creatures with Hexproof?
No, you cannot target a creature with Hexproof with Rabid Bite. Hexproof specifically prevents a creature from being the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. Since Rabid Bite is a spell you control, you cannot target a creature with Hexproof.
3. Does Deathtouch Work with Other Non-Combat Damage Spells and Abilities?
Yes, Deathtouch works with any source of damage, not just combat damage. If a creature with Deathtouch deals damage through an activated ability, a triggered ability, or another spell, that damage is still considered lethal.
4. What Beats Deathtouch?
Several things can “beat” Deathtouch:
- First Strike/Double Strike: If a creature with First Strike or Double Strike deals enough damage to destroy the creature with Deathtouch during the first combat damage step, the creature with Deathtouch will die before it can deal damage, thus “negating” the Deathtouch.
- Indestructible: Creatures with Indestructible cannot be destroyed by damage or Deathtouch.
- Protection: Protection from the relevant color (usually green for Rabid Bite variants) will prevent the damage from being dealt in the first place, negating the need for Deathtouch.
- Preventing Damage: Effects that prevent damage will also stop Deathtouch from taking effect.
5. Does Indestructible Stop Deathtouch?
Yes, Indestructible completely ignores Deathtouch. A creature with Indestructible cannot be destroyed by damage, regardless of whether that damage comes from a source with Deathtouch.
6. Does Protection Stop Deathtouch?
Yes, Protection from the color of the spell (in this case, likely green for Rabid Bite variants) will prevent all damage dealt by the source with Deathtouch. Since no damage is dealt, Deathtouch has no effect.
7. Can a Creature with Shroud Block a Creature with Deathtouch?
Yes, Shroud only prevents a creature from being targeted by spells or abilities. It doesn’t prevent creatures from blocking or being blocked. If a creature with Shroud blocks a creature with Deathtouch, and the creature with Deathtouch deals damage, the creature with Shroud will be destroyed.
8. Does Deathtouch Work on Planeswalkers?
No, Deathtouch only applies to creatures. Damage dealt to a Planeswalker doesn’t automatically destroy it, regardless of whether the source has Deathtouch. Some cards, like Vraska, Swarm’s Eminence, give creatures the ability to apply deathtouch to planeswalkers.
9. Can Deathtouch Be Countered?
Deathtouch itself is an ability, not a spell, so it can’t be countered directly. However, you can counter the Rabid Bite spell itself. You can also use removal spells to eliminate the creature with Deathtouch before it has a chance to use Rabid Bite.
10. If a Deathtouch Creature Has Trample, How Does the Damage Work?
Deathtouch combined with Trample is a potent combination. When a creature with both Deathtouch and Trample deals damage to a blocking creature, only one damage needs to be assigned to the blocker to destroy it, and the rest of the damage can trample over to the defending player. This is especially useful with Rabid Bite, as you can destroy a blocker and still deal significant damage to your opponent.
11. What Happens If a Deathtouch Creature Deals 0 Damage?
If a creature with Deathtouch deals 0 damage (perhaps because it has 0 power or the damage is prevented), Deathtouch has no effect. The creature does not get destroyed.
12. Does Deathtouch Affect Combat Damage from Multiple Creatures?
Deathtouch only applies to the damage dealt by the specific source with Deathtouch. If multiple creatures are dealing combat damage to a single creature, only the damage from the creature with Deathtouch is subject to the Deathtouch effect.
13. How Does Deathtouch Interact with Lifelink?
If a creature with both Deathtouch and Lifelink deals damage, the controller of that creature gains life equal to the amount of damage dealt. This damage is still lethal to the creature it damages if the creature has Deathtouch.
14. If a Creature Deals Damage to Another Creature With Both Indestructible and Hexproof, Does Deathtouch Do Anything?
No, Deathtouch will not affect a creature with both Indestructible and Hexproof. Hexproof prevents your opponent from targeting the creature with Rabid Bite in the first place. But even if it was targeted and the spell was cast, because the target creature has Indestructible, it cannot be destroyed by damage or Deathtouch.
15. Does Deathtouch Trigger Abilities That Check for Damage?
Yes, Deathtouch does trigger abilities that check for damage. Even though only 1 damage needs to be dealt for it to be lethal, the creature still technically deals damage. This can be relevant for abilities that trigger when a creature is dealt damage.
Mastering the Strategy
By understanding how Rabid Bite and Deathtouch interact, you can leverage this powerful combination to control the board and eliminate your opponent’s most threatening creatures. It is a strategy that relies on the efficient removal of opposing threats. So, go forth and experiment with this deadly duo in your next Magic: The Gathering game, and experience the satisfaction of watching your opponent’s carefully constructed defenses crumble before your very eyes!
For more information on the intersection of games and learning, check out the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org. They explore the educational potential of games and interactive media.
Disclaimer
Magic: The Gathering is a collectible and digital collectible card game created by Wizards of the Coast (WotC). All rights reserved to WotC. This article is for educational and entertainment purposes only and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Wizards of the Coast.