Does a Reaction Count as a Bonus Action in D&D 5e?
No, a reaction does not count as a bonus action in Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (D&D 5e). These are two distinct types of actions with their own rules and limitations within the game’s combat system. While both are crucial for effective gameplay, they function differently and cannot be used interchangeably. Confusing them is a common mistake among new players, but understanding the differences is vital for mastering the action economy in D&D 5e.
Understanding the Action Economy
The action economy in D&D 5e governs what a character can do on their turn and in response to other characters’ actions. Each turn, a character typically has access to a single action, a single bonus action, movement, and a single reaction. It is crucial to understand that while the rules treat them as actions in some ways they are fundamentally different. These elements are carefully balanced to ensure that combat remains engaging and fair.
What is a Bonus Action?
A bonus action is a special type of action that a character can perform in addition to their main action. It’s designed to represent swift or minor actions, often tied to class features, spells, or feats. The key characteristic of a bonus action is that it is limited to one per turn. Also, you can only perform a bonus action if a specific feature, spell or ability allows you to do so. You can’t, for example, declare that you are now using your attack as a bonus action. Examples of bonus actions include:
- Rogue’s Cunning Action (Dash, Disengage, Hide)
- Some spells, such as Healing Word
- Off-hand attacks with dual-wielding
Critically, the rules state that anything that would prevent you from taking an action would also prevent you from taking a bonus action. They both are very closely related but they are both distinctly separate actions in the rules.
What is a Reaction?
A reaction is an immediate response to a specific trigger or event, and not necessarily a deliberate action on your turn. Unlike an action or a bonus action, it’s not limited to your turn. Instead, a reaction can occur at any point, even during another player’s turn or after a creature’s action. You get only one reaction per round and the reaction must occur before the start of your next turn. Common triggers for reactions include:
- Opportunity Attack: Triggered when an enemy moves out of your reach.
- Shield Spell: A defensive spell cast in response to being attacked.
- Certain feats and class abilities
The most crucial aspect of a reaction is that it’s an instantaneous response to an external event. It’s not something you plan to do on your turn, but something you must do when a specific circumstance arises. A reaction could even be as simple as choosing to do nothing.
The Key Differences
Here are some key differences highlighting why a reaction cannot be a bonus action:
- Timing: Bonus actions are used on your turn only, whereas reactions occur in response to triggers, and can occur at any point in the round.
- Limitation: You have only one bonus action per turn and one reaction per round, but they do not interact and are separate pools of actions to draw from.
- Requirement: Bonus actions always require a specific ability, feature, or spell, whereas reactions are not always tied to specific player abilities.
- Preclusion: Anything that prevents you from taking an action also prevents you from taking a bonus action. But these limitations do not apply to reactions.
- Purpose: Bonus actions are used for additional actions, while reactions are used as an immediate response.
Why this Distinction Matters
Understanding this difference is critical for several reasons:
- Avoiding Rules Confusion: Separating the two prevents misinterpretations of the rules that can lead to overpowered or underpowered gameplay.
- Strategic Planning: Recognizing the limitations of both allows players to plan their actions and reactions more effectively.
- Optimizing Combat: Using both correctly can dramatically increase a character’s effectiveness in combat and how they respond to the game’s situations.
Conclusion
In D&D 5e, a reaction is absolutely not a bonus action. They are distinct actions with different purposes and limitations. Mastering how to utilize both is critical to becoming a proficient player. Ignoring the distinction will lead to confusion and suboptimal play. Always remember, bonus actions occur on your turn while reactions happen as a response to triggers. It’s not a small distinction, and in combat it can mean the difference between success and a total party kill.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
1. Can I use both a reaction and a bonus action on the same turn?
Yes, absolutely. You can use a bonus action on your turn and a reaction at any time in the round (including your own turn if triggered) as long as you have not already used them in the same round. These are two different types of actions.
2. Can I use a reaction if I haven’t used my bonus action?
Yes, you can use a reaction even if you haven’t used your bonus action. These actions are separate. The use of one does not affect the other.
3. Can a bonus action be used as a reaction?
No. A bonus action cannot be used as a reaction. They are distinct actions with different rules and cannot be used interchangeably.
4. Can I cast a spell as a reaction?
Yes, some spells can be cast as a reaction, such as Shield or Counterspell. These spells specifically state they can be cast as a reaction.
5. Can I use my bonus action before or after my main action?
Yes, you can take a bonus action at any time during your turn, unless the bonus action’s timing is specified. It doesn’t have to be before or after your action. It can be in the middle.
6. If I am stunned, can I use a bonus action or a reaction?
No. Being stunned prevents you from taking actions and bonus actions. However, since being stunned does not explicitly stop you from taking a reaction you could still use a reaction, but it’s a very situational answer.
7. Can I use two bonus actions in one turn?
No, you can only use one bonus action per turn, unless a specific feature says otherwise.
8. Can I use two reactions in one round?
No, you can only use one reaction per round.
9. Can I use my bonus action to make an off-hand attack?
Yes, if you are wielding two light weapons, you can use a bonus action to make an attack with your off-hand weapon.
10. Can I use a cantrip as a reaction?
No, you cannot cast a cantrip as a reaction unless it specifically says so (and there are not any cantrips that are cast with a reaction)
11. Can I use my reaction on someone else’s turn?
Yes, a reaction can be used on any turn, including your own or another character’s, if the triggering event occurs.
12. Is “Readying an action” a reaction?
No. “Readying an action” uses your action. Your reaction will be used to complete your action if and when the specified event occurs.
13. Can I use a reaction on my turn?
Yes, a reaction can be used on your turn if the appropriate trigger occurs, such as an enemy triggering an Attack of Opportunity while walking away.
14. If I cast a spell with a bonus action can I also cast another spell?
Yes, but only another cantrip with a casting time of 1 action. For example, if you use Healing Word as a bonus action, you can still cast Fire Bolt as your action. If you used a leveled spell as a bonus action, you cannot.
15. Can movement be used as a bonus action?
Yes, some features allow you to use movement, such as a dash or disengage, as a bonus action. However, this is a specific rule and not an action everyone has access to.