Does Regenerating a Creature Remove It from Combat? A Comprehensive MTG Guide
Yes, regenerating a creature does remove it from combat. The definition of Regenerate in Magic: The Gathering explicitly states: “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.” Therefore, the act of regeneration, when triggered by impending destruction, includes the creature’s immediate removal from the combat phase.
This removal from combat can have significant implications for how the game unfolds. It impacts damage dealing, blocking assignments, and triggered abilities. Understanding the nuances of regeneration and its interaction with combat is crucial for any serious MTG player. Let’s delve into the specifics with a series of frequently asked questions.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Regeneration and Combat
1. What Exactly Does “Remove From Combat” Mean?
When a creature is removed from combat, it stops being classified as an attacking, blocking, blocked, and/or unblocked creature. This effectively takes it out of the combat damage calculation and any other related effects.
2. If a Creature is Regenerated Mid-Combat, Does It Still Deal Damage?
No. Once a creature is removed from combat via regeneration, it will no longer deal combat damage. Regeneration interrupts the normal flow of the combat phase, preventing the destruction and simultaneously taking the creature out of the equation.
3. If a Creature is Blocking, and Then Regenerated, What Happens to the Attacking Creature it Was Blocking?
The attacking creature remains blocked. Even though the blocking creature has been removed from combat, the attacking creature will not be considered unblocked. It will not deal combat damage to the defending player, unless it has trample and exceeds the toughness of the regenerated creature before regeneration happened.
4. Can I Regenerate a Creature That Would Be Destroyed by Combat Damage?
Yes, that’s precisely what regeneration is designed for. If a creature is about to be destroyed due to receiving lethal combat damage, activating its regenerate ability will save it. It will be tapped, have damage removed, and be taken out of combat. This creates some interesting dynamics in the game, as explored by organizations like the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.
5. Does Regenerate Stop Sacrifice Effects?
No. Sacrificing a permanent doesn’t destroy it. Regeneration only works against effects that would destroy a permanent. Since sacrifice is a different game action, regeneration won’t prevent a creature from being sacrificed.
6. Can You Regenerate a Creature with 0 Toughness?
No. Regeneration only helps against destruction effects. A creature with 0 toughness immediately goes to the graveyard as a state-based action. This isn’t considered destruction, so regeneration won’t apply.
7. Does Indestructible Prevent a Creature From Having 0 Toughness?
No. Indestructible prevents destruction, but not having 0 toughness. A creature with indestructible will still go to the graveyard if its toughness is reduced to zero or less. Indestructible only protects the creature from effects that specifically “destroy” it or from lethal damage.
8. If I Regenerate a Creature, Does It Get Untapped?
No, regeneration specifically states that the creature is tapped as part of the regeneration process. It does not untap the creature. You would need a separate effect to untap it if you wanted it to be able to block again (in a subsequent combat, if applicable).
9. Does Regenerate Stop Damage Being Dealt?
No. The article clearly states “Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates.”
10. Can You Block with a Regenerated Creature?
It depends on when the creature is regenerated. If it’s regenerated before blockers are declared, then no, unless you find a way to untap it. If it’s regenerated after blockers are declared, then yes, it will still “block,” although it will be tapped and out of combat for the current turn.
11. Does Indestructible Prevent Sacrifice?
No. Indestructible doesn’t stop you from being forced to sacrifice the permanent. Sacrifice is not destruction, so indestructible provides no protection against it.
12. Can You Sacrifice Creatures During Combat?
Yes, you can. You can sacrifice a creature any time you have priority. This is the same rule that lets you play instants during combat. If your opponent has already blocked your creature, sacrificing the blocking creature won’t cause your attacking creature to become unblocked.
13. Does Blinking a Creature Remove It From Combat?
Yes. If you blink a creature during combat, it will be removed from combat and will neither deal nor take any damage. However, if it was already assigned as a blocker, the creature blocked by it will still be considered blocked.
14. Does First Strike Beat Deathtouch?
Yes, first strike can beat deathtouch. A creature with first strike will deal damage first. If that damage is lethal (as it would be with deathtouch), the deathtouch creature dies before it gets a chance to deal damage.
15. If a Creature with Deathtouch Deals 0 Damage, Does it Still Destroy the Creature it is Blocking?
No. According to the rules, “If a source would deal 0 damage, it does not deal damage at all.” For deathtouch to apply, some amount of damage must be dealt to the creature. If the deathtouch creature’s power is reduced to 0, and therefore deals 0 damage, then the creature it is blocking is not destroyed.