Does Shroud Remove Enchantments? A Comprehensive Guide
No, shroud does not remove enchantments. If a creature already has an enchantment attached to it, gaining shroud will not cause that enchantment to fall off. Shroud’s effect only prevents spells or abilities from targeting the permanent with shroud. Existing enchantments are already attached and are not targeting the permanent after the attachment. It is crucial to understand the nuances of targeting versus non-targeting effects in order to fully grasp how shroud interacts with various other game mechanics.
Understanding Shroud: The Basics
Shroud is a static ability in Magic: The Gathering that grants a permanent or player immunity from being targeted by spells or abilities. This means that once a permanent has shroud, no player, including its controller, can cast spells or activate abilities that specifically target it.
What Shroud Blocks
Shroud acts as a protective barrier, preventing:
- Targeted spells: Spells that require you to select a specific target, such as a direct damage spell or a removal spell.
- Targeted abilities: Activated or triggered abilities that require a specific target, such as an equip ability or an ability that grants a bonus to a creature.
What Shroud Doesn’t Block
It’s equally important to know what shroud doesn’t prevent:
- Board wipes: Spells that affect all permanents of a certain type, like “Wrath of God” (which destroys all creatures). These spells don’t target, so shroud is irrelevant.
- Non-targeted abilities: Abilities that don’t require a specific target, such as deathtouch (which causes a creature to destroy any creature it deals damage to).
- Combat: Shroud has no effect on blocking or being blocked. Creatures with shroud can still participate in combat as normal.
- Sacrificing: You can sacrifice a creature with shroud because sacrificing doesn’t target the creature.
- Auras and Equipment already attached: As discussed earlier, gaining shroud doesn’t detach existing auras or equipment.
Shroud vs. Hexproof: What’s the Difference?
Shroud is often confused with hexproof, another protective ability. The key difference lies in who is restricted from targeting.
- Shroud: Prevents anyone, including the controller of the permanent with shroud, from targeting it with spells or abilities.
- Hexproof: Only prevents opponents from targeting the permanent with hexproof. The controller can still target it.
This difference makes hexproof generally more desirable than shroud, as it allows you to buff your own creatures with targeted spells while preventing your opponents from removing them. Consider the strategic implications of these abilities, and how they affect gameplay. The Games Learning Society delves into the intricate rules and strategies of games like Magic: The Gathering, offering valuable insights into the deeper mechanics and educational potential of game-based learning. You can explore more about the integration of games in education at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/.
Auras, Equipment, and Shroud: A Deeper Dive
While gaining shroud doesn’t remove existing enchantments or equipment, it does significantly impact how these permanents can interact with the shrouded creature in the future.
Auras (Enchantments)
Auras are enchantments that are attached to a permanent or player. They enter the battlefield targeting the permanent or player they will be attached to. Once attached, they continuously affect the enchanted permanent or player.
- Applying Auras Initially: You cannot cast an aura spell targeting a creature with shroud. The aura spell requires a target, and the creature with shroud is an illegal target.
- Existing Auras: If an aura is already attached, and the enchanted permanent gains shroud, the aura remains attached.
- Reattaching Auras: You cannot reattach an aura to a creature that has shroud because reattaching typically involves targeting the creature.
Equipment
Equipment cards are artifacts that can be attached to creatures. They require an equip ability that targets a creature you control.
- Attaching Equipment Initially: You cannot use an equip ability to attach equipment to a creature with shroud, since the equip ability requires a target.
- Existing Equipment: If equipment is already attached to a creature, and the creature gains shroud, the equipment remains attached.
- Reattaching Equipment: You cannot re-equip equipment to a creature that has shroud, since the equip ability requires a target.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Shroud and Enchantments
Here are some frequently asked questions about Shroud and Enchantments:
1. If I enchant a creature and then give it shroud, can my opponent destroy the enchantment with a targeted spell?
Yes, your opponent can target and destroy the enchantment. Shroud only protects the permanent it is on. The enchantment itself doesn’t gain shroud.
2. Can I cast an aura on a creature with shroud if the aura doesn’t target?
Most auras target the permanent they will enchant. If an aura specifically states it doesn’t target (which is very rare), you could attach it to a creature with shroud. However, nearly all auras target, making this scenario highly unlikely.
3. If I control an enchantment that gives all my creatures shroud, can I still target them with my own spells?
No. Shroud prevents anyone, including you, from targeting those creatures.
4. Can I use an ability that moves an aura from one creature to another if one of the creatures has shroud?
If the ability targets either creature involved in the aura movement, you cannot perform the action if either creature has shroud. If the ability does not target the creatures, you can move it.
5. If a creature with an enchantment gains shroud, and then the creature leaves the battlefield, what happens to the enchantment?
The enchantment will go to the graveyard as a state-based action. Auras must be attached to a legal permanent or player to remain on the battlefield.
6. Can I block with a creature that has shroud?
Yes, shroud has no interaction with blocking or being blocked. It only prevents targeting by spells and abilities.
7. If I control an enchantment that says “Enchanted creature gets +2/+2 and has shroud,” can I still target that creature with my own spells?
No, that creature has shroud, and shroud prevents anyone from targeting it.
8. Does shroud prevent deathtouch from killing a creature?
No, deathtouch doesn’t target. If a creature with deathtouch deals damage to a creature with shroud, the creature with shroud will be destroyed.
9. Can I sacrifice a creature with shroud for a cost?
Yes, sacrificing a creature doesn’t target it. You can sacrifice a creature with shroud if required.
10. If I control a “board wipe” spell, like Wrath of God, will it affect creatures with shroud?
Yes, board wipe spells like Wrath of God don’t target individual creatures. They affect all creatures, regardless of shroud or hexproof.
11. Can I use a spell or ability to give a creature shroud temporarily?
Yes, there are spells and abilities that can grant a creature shroud for a turn or a specific duration.
12. If a creature with shroud is equipped with an equipment, can I use an ability that moves the equipment to another creature?
If the ability targets either creature involved in the equipment movement, you cannot perform the action if either creature has shroud. If the ability does not target the creatures, you can move it.
13. If a creature gains shroud and has an aura that gives it +1/+1, does it still get the +1/+1 bonus?
Yes, the aura remains attached and continues to provide the +1/+1 bonus. Gaining shroud doesn’t detach existing auras.
14. Can I counter a spell that gives a creature shroud?
Yes, you can counter the spell that grants shroud. Shroud only applies once the creature has the ability on the battlefield.
15. If I have an enchantment that gives my opponent’s creature -2/-2, and then they give that creature shroud, does the -2/-2 still apply?
Yes, the -2/-2 from the enchantment still applies. Shroud does not remove existing enchantments; it only prevents new targeting.
Understanding shroud and its interactions with enchantments, equipment, and other abilities is crucial for mastering Magic: The Gathering. It allows you to make informed decisions, build effective strategies, and navigate complex game states.