Does Smite Count as Magic?
To directly address the question, smite does not count as a spell, but it is magical in nature, meaning it can be affected by antimagic fields and other effects that disrupt magic. The primary distinction lies in how smite is categorized in the game mechanics, being a class ability that utilizes spell slots rather than being classified as a spell itself.
Understanding Smite
Definition and Mechanism
Smite, particularly Divine Smite in Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) 5th edition, is a class feature available to certain classes, most notably the Paladin. It allows the player to expend a spell slot to deal radiant damage to a target, in addition to the damage from their weapon attack. This feature is not a spell but rather a unique ability fueled by spell slots, making it distinct from traditional spellcasting.
Effect of Antimagic Fields on Smite
Despite not being a spell, smite can be affected by antimagic fields because it is magical in nature. This distinction is crucial for understanding how smite interacts with other game mechanics.
FAQs
-
Does smite count as magic damage? Yes, smite deals magic damage because it is fueled by spell slots and its description implies it’s magical.
-
Is smite a spell? No, smite is not considered a spell; it’s a class ability that uses spell slots.
-
Can you smite and cast a spell? Yes, according to the rules, you can smite and then cast a spell as they are considered different actions.
-
What type of spell is smite? Smite is not a spell; it’s a class feature. However, there are smite spells in the game that have different properties.
-
How do smite spells work? Smite spells require a bonus action to cast, last up to 10 rounds, and are consumed on a hit.
-
Does smite count as a spell for rage? No, smite does not count as a spell for the purposes of rage, allowing its use during rage.
-
Can you smite twice? Yes, you can smite twice in a turn if you have the Extra Attack feature and sufficient spell slots.
-
Can you cast smite as a reaction? No, Divine Smite does not require an action, bonus action, or reaction, and it can only be used on a confirmed hit.
-
Is a Paladin’s smite a spell? Mechanically, a Paladin’s Divine Smite is a class ability, not a spell, despite using spell slots.
-
Is smite doubled on a crit? Any damage dice from smite that are part of an attack that hits critically are doubled according to the rules.
-
Does smite cost a spell slot? Smite only uses a spell slot if the attack lands; missing does not expend the slot.
-
Can you smite after hitting? Yes, you declare Divine Smite after hitting with a melee attack.
-
Can you twin smite spells? No, smite spells have a range of Self, making them ineligible for Twinned Spell.
-
Does smite do more damage? Smite adds extra damage based on the level of smite used, with higher levels increasing the damage output.
-
Can you smite with a thrown weapon? No, Divine Smite requires a melee attack and cannot be used with thrown weapons or ranged attacks.
Conclusion
In conclusion, while smite is not classified as a spell, it embodies magical qualities and is influenced by magic-related game mechanics such as antimagic fields. Understanding the nuances of smite and its interaction with other game elements is crucial for strategic gameplay and maximizing the potential of characters who possess this class feature.