Does Spinal Embrace Have to Target a Tapped Creature?
No, Spinal Embrace does not have to target a tapped creature. This is a common point of confusion, and it’s understandable, given that the card includes the text “untap it.” However, the key is to understand how targeting works in Magic: The Gathering and how the game handles impossible instructions. Let’s dive into the specifics to clarify this.
Understanding Spinal Embrace’s Targeting
The card text of Spinal Embrace generally reads something like: “Gain control of target creature, untap it, and it gains deathtouch until end of turn.” The crucial part here is the phrase “target creature.” The targeting restriction is simply a “target creature”, which does not specify the creature needs to be tapped or untapped. This means that any creature, regardless of whether it is currently tapped or untapped, is a legal target for Spinal Embrace.
The fact that the spell then says “untap it” is a separate instruction. If the targeted creature is already untapped, the game simply ignores the “untap” instruction as it is an impossible action. However, the rest of the spell will continue to resolve, granting you control of the creature and giving it deathtouch.
This concept of ignoring impossible instructions is vital to understanding many interactions in Magic. The game only performs actions that are possible within the current game state.
The Importance of Targeting Rules
In Magic: The Gathering, the targeting rules are explicit and must be followed exactly. Unless a card specifies that it can only target a tapped creature or only an untapped one, any creature is a legal target. A good way to remember this is to understand that the targeting criteria is defined before the spell’s effects are resolved, and the game’s rules are designed to only try to do the possible actions. If you try to untap an untapped creature, nothing happens, but the rest of the instructions are followed. This principle applies to many similar effects in the game.
A Quick Example
Imagine you are playing against an opponent. They have a creature on the battlefield that is already untapped. You cast Spinal Embrace, targeting that creature. Because the creature was already untapped, the “untap it” part of the spell does nothing. However, you still gain control of the creature until end of turn and it gains deathtouch because the card text doesn’t state “if the creature is tapped untap it”, it just states “untap it” meaning if the action is possible, do it, if not, move on.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Tapped and Untapped Creatures
Here are some common questions about tapped and untapped creatures, further clarifying the rules related to Spinal Embrace and similar card effects:
1. Can you target a tapped creature with a spell that says “untap it”?
Yes, you can. The “untap it” part of the spell will simply not have any effect, but the rest of the spell will resolve, and the rest of the effects will still happen.
2. Can you tap an already tapped permanent?
No, you cannot. To tap a permanent, you turn it sideways. If a permanent is already turned sideways (tapped), you can’t turn it sideways again, hence the action would be impossible. However, the game allows spells to be cast on tapped creatures/permanents unless the spell states otherwise.
3. Do you have to untap a creature to gain control of it with Spinal Embrace?
No, you don’t need to untap it to gain control. The untapping is a separate instruction, which will occur only if the target is currently tapped. If the target is untapped, you still gain control of it and it gains deathtouch.
4. Can you target a creature with Spinal Embrace if it has summoning sickness?
Yes, you can target a creature with summoning sickness. Summoning sickness only prevents a creature from attacking and from using tap or untap abilities. It does not prevent it from being targeted by spells.
5. Does a tapped creature have any specific restrictions other than not being able to attack?
Yes. Tapped creatures cannot attack, and they can’t use activated abilities that require them to be tapped as a cost. They can still use abilities that do not require tapping and they can still block if it was already declared as a blocker.
6. Can you deal damage to a tapped creature?
Yes, being tapped doesn’t affect whether a creature can be dealt damage. Unless a card says otherwise, any creature can be targeted by damage.
7. Can a tapped creature be exiled?
Yes, if a card effect allows you to exile a creature, whether it’s tapped or untapped doesn’t matter.
8. Can a creature with vigilance be tapped?
Yes, a creature with vigilance can still be tapped, whether it’s for a cost, by an ability, or to attack. Vigilance only prevents the creature from tapping when it attacks. It can still be targeted by cards that tap creatures.
9. What happens if a creature with “enters the battlefield tapped” is targeted by Spinal Embrace?
If a creature that enters the battlefield tapped is targeted by Spinal Embrace, the “untap it” effect will not trigger because the creature is already tapped when Spinal Embrace is resolving, but the rest of the spell’s effect would continue to happen.
10. Does Sleep affect tapped creatures?
Yes, Sleep will change the status of all creatures it targets to “tapped”. If those creatures were already tapped, the status stays the same.
11. Can a tapped creature fight another creature?
Yes, tapped or untapped status does not affect whether a creature can fight another creature. The rules for fight do not require creatures to be untapped.
12. Can you tap a land in response to it being tapped for mana?
No. Tapping a land for mana is a mana ability, and mana abilities do not use the stack, so they cannot be responded to.
13. Can a creature use its activated abilities if it’s tapped?
It depends on the ability. If the activated ability does not use the tap symbol in its costs, then yes, a tapped creature can use those abilities.
14. Can you return a tapped land to your hand?
Yes, a tapped land can be returned to your hand if an effect allows it. However, it can not be tapped again unless it becomes untapped.
15. Does summoning sickness affect a creature’s ability to be tapped?
Summoning sickness does not affect a creature’s ability to be tapped. It prevents the creature from attacking and from using activated abilities that require a tap cost.
Conclusion
In conclusion, Spinal Embrace doesn’t require its target to be tapped. It can target any creature, and it will still function correctly, ignoring impossible instructions. By understanding these core rules of targeting and spell resolution, you can confidently navigate complex situations in Magic: The Gathering. Always remember to pay close attention to the precise wording of the cards, as the difference between a “target creature” and a “target tapped creature” can be the key to a successful play.