Does storm count spells on the stack?

Delving into the Tempest: Does Storm Count Spells on the Stack in Magic: The Gathering?

The Storm mechanic in Magic: The Gathering is a fan-favorite for its explosive potential and mind-bending interactions. It’s also a frequent source of confusion. One of the most common questions is: Does Storm count spells on the stack? The answer is a resounding no. Storm counts the number of spells that were cast before the storm spell was cast on that same turn. Spells that are currently on the stack, but have not yet resolved, are not counted by storm.

To fully understand this, let’s break down how Storm works and explore some related scenarios. Storm is a triggered ability that triggers when a spell with Storm is cast. When the trigger resolves, it copies the spell for each other spell that was cast earlier in the turn. It’s important to emphasize the word cast. A spell is cast when it is moved from its zone (usually your hand) onto the stack, its costs are paid, and it becomes the target of spells and abilities. It is not until this entire process is complete that the storm ability triggers and counts previously cast spells.

Consider this scenario: You cast a Lightning Bolt, and your opponent responds by casting a Counterspell targeting your Lightning Bolt. Then, you cast a Grapeshot with Storm. Even though the Lightning Bolt is on the stack, it has been cast. Thus, the Grapeshot will create one copy for each time a spell was cast before itself – which is a storm count of at least 1, for the Lightning Bolt. If your opponent also cast a Counterspell, your storm count would be at least 2. If Lightning Bolt resolved, then your opponent’s counterspell could be redirected toward another copy on the stack.

Understanding the Stack and Priority

To fully grasp the Storm mechanic, it’s crucial to understand the concept of the stack in Magic: The Gathering. The stack is a zone where spells and abilities wait to resolve. Players can respond to spells and abilities on the stack with their own spells and abilities, creating a layered sequence of actions. After each action, the players take turns to respond to the ability.

When a player casts a spell, it goes onto the stack. Then, all players get a chance to respond, meaning cast instants or activate abilities. In the above example, the player casting Lighting Bolt gets priority first, meaning they can cast an instant spell or activate an ability. Then, the second player gets to respond to the play or pass the ability to respond back to the first player. Then it repeats in an endless loop until the entire stack is resolved.

A player can respond to a spell on the stack by casting a counterspell, which is a spell designed to stop another spell from resolving. After all players pass priority in succession, the spell at the top of the stack resolves and the next spell on the stack will be given priority.

Storm: A Cast Trigger

As mentioned before, Storm is a cast trigger. It only triggers when a spell with Storm is cast. This is a crucial distinction. Copying a spell, putting a spell onto the battlefield without casting it, or putting a card onto the stack through other means will not trigger Storm.

For example, if you use a card like Isochron Scepter to copy an instant spell multiple times, those copies do not increase the Storm count. This is because the copies are being created and put directly onto the stack, rather than being cast. Similarly, if you return a creature to the battlefield with a card like Reanimate, that creature isn’t counted for storm, because it wasn’t cast.

Countering Storm

Countering Storm spells can be tricky due to the sheer number of copies they can create. While you can counter the original Storm spell, the copies will still resolve unless you have a way to counter all of them.

A common strategy for dealing with Storm is to counter the Storm trigger itself, preventing the copies from being created in the first place. Cards like Stifle and Tale’s End can directly counter the Storm trigger, effectively neutering the spell. Some decks have cards that end the turn, like Time Stop, and these can also be useful in preventing the copies from resolving. This makes Storm a high-risk, high-reward strategy that requires careful planning and execution.

Frequently Asked Questions about Storm

Here are 15 frequently asked questions about the Storm mechanic to help you further understand its intricacies:

  1. Does Storm count my opponent’s spells? Yes, Storm counts any spell cast during the turn, regardless of who cast it.

  2. Can I respond to the Storm trigger? Yes, you can respond to the Storm trigger with instants or activated abilities before the copies are put onto the stack.

  3. If I counter the original Storm spell, do the copies still resolve? Yes, if the Storm trigger has already resolved, countering the original spell will not stop the copies from resolving.

  4. Do copied spells add to the Storm count? No, copying a spell is not the same as casting it, so copies do not increase the Storm count.

  5. Can I Stifle the Storm trigger? Yes, Stifle and similar cards can counter the Storm trigger, preventing the copies from being created.

  6. Does casting a land count towards Storm? No, playing a land is a special action and does not use the stack, so it does not increase the Storm count.

  7. If I cast a spell in response to a Storm spell, does it add to the Storm count? No, spells cast in response to the Storm spell occur after the Storm trigger has already happened.

  8. Can I use Strionic Resonator to copy the Storm trigger? Yes, Strionic Resonator can copy the Storm trigger, doubling the number of copies created.

  9. If a spell is countered, does it still count towards Storm? Yes, a countered spell has still been cast, so it counts towards the Storm count.

  10. Does the Storm count reset each turn? Yes, the Storm count resets at the beginning of each turn.

  11. Does Hexproof or Shroud protect a spell on the stack from being countered? No, Hexproof and Shroud only protect permanents on the battlefield, not spells on the stack.

  12. What happens if I cast a Storm spell with no other spells cast that turn? The Storm trigger will still resolve, but it will create zero copies of the spell.

  13. If I cast multiple Storm spells in the same turn, do they count each other? Each Storm spell only counts spells cast before it on that turn.

  14. Can I cast a Storm spell as an instant? Yes, if the Storm spell is an instant, you can cast it at any time you could normally cast an instant.

  15. Are there resources available to learn more about Magic: The Gathering mechanics and strategies? Yes, there are many online resources, including communities like the Games Learning Society, which focuses on the educational aspects of gaming and provides valuable insights into strategic thinking and game mechanics. Visit GamesLearningSociety.org to explore further.

Understanding the nuances of the Storm mechanic can give you a significant edge in Magic: The Gathering. Whether you’re building a Storm deck or trying to defend against one, knowing the rules and interactions is essential for success. With the information above, you can confidently navigate the tempest and emerge victorious!

Leave a Comment