Does Teferi Stop Cascade? Unraveling the Interaction
The simple answer to the question, “Does Teferi stop cascade?” is a resounding yes. Teferi, Time Raveler, a powerful and often controversial planeswalker in Magic: The Gathering, has a unique ability that directly interferes with the mechanics of cascade. To understand why, we need to delve into the specific rules and interactions between these two powerful card abilities.
How Teferi, Time Raveler Shuts Down Cascade
Teferi’s primary ability that impacts cascade is his static ability: “Each opponent can only cast spells any time they could cast a sorcery.” This seemingly straightforward statement has profound implications for various mechanics, and cascade is one of the most notable.
Cascade is a triggered ability that reads, “When you cast this spell, exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a nonland card that costs less. You may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then put all cards exiled this way that weren’t cast on the bottom of your library in a random order.” Crucially, cascade allows you to cast a spell as part of the resolution of the ability.
Here’s where Teferi’s static ability comes in. Cascade triggers on the stack when you cast the spell with cascade, and then resolves when the original spell would. Normally, the player who cast the spell can then cast the revealed spell via the cascade ability.
However, Teferi’s static ability restricts when opponents can cast spells to “only when they could cast a sorcery.” This means opponents can not cast spells during the resolution of cascade. Because the card exiled by cascade would have to be cast during cascade’s resolution, Teferi stops that casting entirely effectively neutering the mechanic. The game then puts the exiled card(s) on the bottom of the library.
Therefore, while the cascade ability will still trigger, exile cards, and reveal a spell, the opponent will be unable to cast it. This is because the opportunity to cast the cascaded spell is not granted during a time the opponent could normally cast a sorcery and the opponent is not under any effect that ignores timing restrictions. This interaction significantly hinders decks that rely heavily on cascade as a core mechanic.
Why Teferi’s Ability Prevents Cascade
The crux of the issue lies in the timing rules imposed by Teferi. The game looks at when the player is given the option to cast the spell via cascade. This timing is not during a player’s main phase, and therefore, does not qualify for “any time they could cast a sorcery.” Therefore, Teferi’s rule prevents this casting.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Teferi and Cascade
Understanding the intricate interplay between Teferi and cascade can be complex. Here are 15 frequently asked questions to help you navigate this interaction and related scenarios:
1. Can Cascade Be Countered?
Yes, a spell cast with cascade behaves like any other spell, and it can be countered. Countering the spell cast from cascade will not affect the original spell that triggered the cascade ability. If you successfully counter a spell cast from cascade, the original spell will still resolve.
2. Does Countering the Original Spell Stop Cascade?
No, countering the original spell does not stop cascade. Cascade is a triggered ability, and it exists independently from the spell that triggered it. Therefore, countering the spell will not stop the cascade ability from resolving.
3. Does Teferi, Time Raveler Stop Madness?
Yes, Teferi, Time Raveler’s restriction applies to madness as well. Opponents cannot cast cards using the madness ability if Teferi is in play because madness allows you to cast spells at a time other than when you could cast a sorcery.
4. Does Cost Reduction Affect Cascade?
Cost reduction effects apply to the total cost of the spell you cast from cascade. However, you cannot reduce the mana cost of the spell via cascade since the cascade ability has you cast the spell without paying its mana cost. If the cast spell has additional costs, such as kicker, cost reduction effects can apply to that cost.
5. Can Cascade Ignore Timing Restrictions?
Yes, cascade allows you to ignore timing restrictions when casting the spell. The rules allow you to cast the cascaded spell, even if its type usually has timing restrictions (like a sorcery), as you have been instructed to cast it via cascade’s resolution.
6. Can You Cascade Multiple Times?
Yes, you can cascade multiple times if a spell grants multiple instances of cascade. For instance, a spell such as Yidris, Maelstrom Wielder that gives you cascade on a combat trigger can grant you multiple cascades per turn. Each instance of cascade triggers and resolves separately, giving you multiple opportunities to cast spells.
7. Does the First Sliver Keep Cascading?
If The First Sliver’s cascade ability lets you cast another Sliver card, that Sliver won’t have cascade. The cascade ability has already triggered for that turn. If The First Sliver had multiple instances of cascade, those cascade abilities trigger and resolve separately, meaning The First Sliver can cascade multiple times.
8. What Happens if You Have Two Teferi, Time Ravelers?
Having two Teferi, Time Ravelers on the battlefield has no added effect for stopping the spell cast via cascade. The static ability of Teferi, Time Raveler is not cumulative. Therefore, having more than one in play will not further restrict your opponent’s ability to cast spells.
9. Does Stifle Stop Cascade?
Yes, Stifle or similar effects can stop cascade. Since cascade is a triggered ability, anything that interacts with triggered abilities can interact with cascade. Using Stifle in response to the cascade trigger will counter the cascade ability itself.
10. Can All Players See the Cards Exiled by Cascade?
Yes, all players can see the cards you exile as the cascade ability resolves. This is a part of the game’s rules to help maintain transparency and fair play.
11. Is Teferi, Time Raveler Banned in Pioneer?
Yes, Teferi, Time Raveler was banned in Pioneer. This ban was implemented to help balance the format and reduce the power of strategies that made excessive use of the planeswalker.
12. What Happens if You Cascade Into a Card with an Activated Ability?
You can cast the card from cascade, but you can not immediately activate the activated ability. Activated abilities can only be activated when you have priority, and the resolution of cascade doesn’t provide you with priority.
13. Can You Cascade Into a Card That Costs More Than the Original?
No, the card you cascade into must cost less than the original spell. The cascade ability specifically states “a nonland card that costs less” to guide what you are allowed to cast when cascade resolves.
14. Can You Counter a Spell Cast With Cascade Multiple Times?
Yes, you can counter a spell cast with cascade multiple times, each time it is cast. Each time cascade resolves, you are given the opportunity to cast a spell and an opportunity for a player to counterspell that spell.
15. If You Cascade Into a Spell with Flash, Can You Cast It at Instant Speed?
Yes, if you cascade into a spell with flash, you can cast it at instant speed. The restriction of Teferi, Time Raveler would prevent a player from casting the spell in this scenario. However, if the ability of the spell (flash) was on the spell’s card, you may still cast the spell via cascade’s rules.
Conclusion
Teferi, Time Raveler’s static ability directly and effectively shuts down the cascade mechanic. By restricting when opponents can cast spells, he prevents the casting of spells via cascade. This interaction is a crucial example of how nuanced rules and abilities can impact the game of Magic: The Gathering. Understanding these details allows players to navigate complex scenarios and strategically build their decks for optimal results. The FAQs provided above offer further clarification on specific interactions related to Teferi and cascade, allowing a more comprehensive understanding of these powerful game mechanics.