Does the Legendary Rule Apply Before ETB Effects in Magic: The Gathering?
No, the Legendary Rule does not apply before an enters-the-battlefield (ETB) effect. The Legendary Rule is a state-based action (SBA), and SBAs are checked after a permanent has entered the battlefield, but before triggered abilities are put on the stack. This means that the ETB trigger will indeed trigger, but it won’t go onto the stack until after the Legend Rule has been applied. The sequence is crucial for understanding how interactions play out in Magic: The Gathering.
Understanding the Timing of the Legendary Rule and ETB Triggers
The key to understanding this interaction lies in the specific timing of game actions. Here’s a breakdown:
- Permanent Enters the Battlefield: A legendary permanent enters the battlefield.
- ETB Triggers: ETB abilities immediately trigger as the permanent enters. These triggers are not yet put onto the stack.
- State-Based Actions Checked: The game checks for state-based actions, including the Legendary Rule. If you control two or more legendary permanents with the same name, you choose one to keep and the rest are put into your graveyard. This happens instantaneously, without using the stack, meaning players cannot respond.
- Triggers Placed on the Stack: After SBAs are checked and resolved, any triggered abilities that triggered during this process, including the ETB trigger, are put onto the stack in Active Player, Non-Active Player (APNAP) order.
- Players Gain Priority: Players receive priority and can respond to the abilities on the stack.
Therefore, the ETB ability does trigger, it just doesn’t go on the stack until after the Legendary Rule has been applied. The other legendary permanent is sent to the graveyard before you even get the option to respond to the triggers or activate any abilities.
Example Scenario
Let’s say you control a “Jace, the Mind Sculptor” planeswalker and you cast another “Jace, the Mind Sculptor.”
- The second Jace enters the battlefield.
- His ETB ability triggers.
- State-based actions are checked. The Legendary Rule sees that you control two Jace, the Mind Sculptors.
- You choose which Jace to keep (likely the new one, to get a fresh start), and the other Jace is put into your graveyard.
- Jace’s ETB ability is then put onto the stack.
This distinction is vital because if the Legendary Rule applied before the ETB trigger, the ETB trigger would never occur at all.
Impact on Gameplay
This timing has several important implications for gameplay:
- Value Extraction: Even if a legendary permanent is immediately sacrificed due to the Legendary Rule, its ETB ability will still trigger, potentially providing value.
- Combo Potential: Players can use this timing to set up combos that rely on ETB triggers, even if the legendary permanent doesn’t stick around.
- Interaction with Other Abilities: Understanding the timing allows players to correctly sequence their plays and responses.
Why This Matters
Knowing this distinction is crucial for playing Magic: The Gathering effectively. Misunderstanding the timing of state-based actions and triggered abilities can lead to incorrect play decisions and missed opportunities. The Games Learning Society is an excellent resource for players looking to deepen their understanding of these complex game mechanics. You can find more resources at GamesLearningSociety.org.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the Legendary Rule and its interaction with ETB triggers:
1. What is the Legendary Rule in MTG?
The Legendary Rule states that if a player controls two or more legendary permanents with the same name, that player must choose one and put the others into their owner’s graveyard. This is a state-based action and does not use the stack.
2. When are State-Based Actions Checked?
State-based actions are checked whenever a player would receive priority. This is after a spell or ability resolves, during the cleanup step, and at the beginning of each step and phase.
3. Does the Legendary Rule count as sacrificing?
No, the Legendary Rule does not count as sacrificing a permanent. While the result is similar (the permanent ends up in the graveyard), the distinction is important because sacrifice effects often trigger other abilities.
4. Does the Legendary Rule count as dying?
Yes, a creature put into the graveyard due to the Legendary Rule is considered to have “died”. This means any abilities that trigger upon a creature dying will trigger as normal.
5. What is an ETB trigger?
An ETB (Enters the Battlefield) trigger is an ability that triggers when a permanent enters the battlefield. It is denoted by the phrase “When [this permanent] enters the battlefield,” or “Whenever [this permanent] enters the battlefield.”
6. If I control a permanent that prevents sacrificing, does that protect my legendary permanent from the Legendary Rule?
No. Since the Legendary Rule does not involve sacrificing, effects that prevent sacrificing will not protect your legendary permanent.
7. What happens if two players control legendary permanents with the same name?
The Legendary Rule only applies to permanents controlled by the same player. If two different players each control a legendary permanent with the same name, both permanents remain on the battlefield.
8. Can I respond to the Legendary Rule?
No, you cannot respond to the Legendary Rule. It is a state-based action and happens instantaneously without using the stack. This means you cannot cast spells or activate abilities in response to it.
9. Does the Legendary Rule apply to tokens?
Yes, the Legendary Rule applies to legendary tokens just as it applies to legendary permanents.
10. Are planeswalkers affected by the Legendary Rule?
Yes and No. Previously, the “Planeswalker Uniqueness Rule” made it so that you could not control two planeswalkers of the same type (i.e. two planeswalkers named Jace). However, this rule was changed in 2017. Now, the “Legend Rule” applies to planeswalkers, which means that you cannot control two planeswalkers with the same name. For example, you can control both “Jace Beleren” and “Jace, the Mind Sculptor” at the same time, because they have different names.
11. What happens if a card says the Legendary Rule doesn’t apply?
Cards that say the Legendary Rule doesn’t apply allow you to control multiple legendary permanents with the same name. A prime example is Mirror Gallery. This can lead to powerful synergies and board states.
12. What is Rule 0 in MTG?
Rule 0 refers to the unwritten rules of engagement in Magic: The Gathering, often related to the social contract and pre-game discussions about power levels and desired play experiences. It encourages players to agree on acceptable boundaries before playing.
13. Does copying a legendary permanent trigger the Legendary Rule?
Yes, if you copy a legendary permanent and you already control a permanent with the same name, the Legendary Rule will trigger as soon as the copy enters the battlefield.
14. Can I use a flicker effect (exile and return) to avoid the Legendary Rule?
Yes, if you flicker your legendary permanent in response to casting another one with the same name, the original permanent will leave the battlefield and then re-enter as a “new” permanent. This lets you keep both.
15. Does the Legendary Rule apply in all MTG formats?
Yes, the Legendary Rule is a fundamental rule of Magic: The Gathering and applies in all formats unless a specific card effect states otherwise.