Does Trample Roll Over Deathtouch?
Trample does indeed interact with deathtouch in specific ways, particularly in how damage is assigned during combat, but essentially, trample can roll over deathtouch if the creature with deathtouch doesn’t have first strike or double strike, allowing the trampling creature to assign lethal damage to it and then deal any excess damage to the defending player. The key to understanding the interaction between trample and deathtouch lies in the order of operations during the combat damage step and the specific abilities of the creatures involved.
Understanding Trample and Deathtouch
To delve deeper into how trample and deathtouch work together, it’s essential to first understand what each ability does on its own. Trample allows a creature to deal excess damage to the opponent if it’s blocked by a creature with a lower toughness, while deathtouch causes any amount of damage dealt by a creature with this ability to be lethal to the creature it’s dealing damage to, unless the target is indestructible.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. How Does Trample Work with Deathtouch?
Trample works by allowing a creature to assign excess damage to the opponent after dealing lethal damage to the blocking creature. If a creature has deathtouch and trample, it can still assign lethal damage to a blocker and then trample over any excess damage.
2. Does Trample Roll Over Indestructible?
Trample can still deal damage to an indestructible creature, but that creature won’t be destroyed. The excess damage can then be assigned to the defending player.
3. How Does Deathtouch Trample Work Against Indestructible?
Any amount of damage from a creature with deathtouch is lethal, but indestructible creatures can’t be destroyed by damage, making them immune to the destruction effect of deathtouch but not preventing the damage from being dealt.
4. Does First Strike Deathtouch Negate Trample?
First strike paired with deathtouch can prevent trample if the creature with first strike and deathtouch kills the blocking creature before it can deal damage.
5. What IS Deathtouch?
Deathtouch is a static ability that makes any amount of damage dealt by a creature with this ability lethal to another creature, unless the target is indestructible.
6. Does Indestructible Negate Deathtouch?
Indestructible creatures are not destroyed by deathtouch, as they can’t be destroyed by damage.
7. What are the Rules for Deathtouch?
Any amount of damage dealt by a creature with deathtouch to another creature is lethal.
8. Does Deathtouch Cancel Deathtouch?
No, deathtouch abilities do not cancel each other out; each instance of deathtouch will still deal lethal damage.
9. What is the Difference Between Indestructible and Deathtouch Trample?
Indestructible prevents destruction by damage, while deathtouch trample involves dealing lethal damage and potentially trampling over for excess damage.
10. Does Protection Block Deathtouch?
Protection prevents damage, which in turn prevents deathtouch from having an effect since it relies on damage being dealt.
11. Does Double Strike Damage Trample Over?
A creature with double strike and trample can deal damage twice and trample over any excess in the second combat damage step.
12. Do Blockers Deal Trample Damage?
No, trample is an ability that allows an attacking creature to deal excess damage to the defending player, not the blockers.
13. Does Trample Work on Planeswalkers?
No, trample does not work when attacking planeswalkers, as trample damage can only be assigned to the defending player, not to planeswalkers.
14. Does Deathtouch Work When Two Creatures Fight?
Yes, deathtouch applies to all damage dealt by a creature, including fight.
15. Does Hexproof Cancel Deathtouch?
No, hexproof does not prevent deathtouch because deathtouch does not target the creature; it’s an effect that occurs when damage is dealt.