Trample and Deathtouch: A Deadly Duo in Magic: The Gathering
The question of whether trample still goes through deathtouch is a common one in Magic: The Gathering (MTG), and the answer is a resounding yes, with a caveat. If an attacking creature has both trample and deathtouch, it only needs to assign 1 damage to each blocking creature for that damage to be considered lethal due to deathtouch. Any remaining damage can then be trampled over to the defending player or planeswalker. The key is that all combat damage is assigned simultaneously, so the deathtouch effect doesn’t “resolve” before the trample. Think of it as a single, devastating blow, where the deathtouch ensures the blocker falls, and the trample carries the momentum through.
Understanding Trample
Trample is a keyword ability that fundamentally alters how damage is assigned during the combat damage step. Without trample, an attacking creature must assign enough damage to each blocking creature to destroy them before any damage can be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker. However, with trample, the attacking creature can assign lethal damage to each blocker and then “trample” over, assigning the remaining damage to the defending player or planeswalker. The rule book defines lethal damage as damage sufficient to destroy the creature.
The Lethality of Deathtouch
Deathtouch, on the other hand, is another keyword ability that defines lethal damage in a different way. If a creature has deathtouch, any amount of damage it deals to another creature is considered lethal. Whether it’s one damage or a thousand, the target creature is marked for destruction. This makes deathtouch incredibly effective at clearing out blockers, regardless of their size or toughness.
Deathtouch and Trample: A Synergistic Combination
When a creature possesses both deathtouch and trample, a powerful synergy emerges. Because any damage from a creature with deathtouch is lethal, the attacking creature only needs to assign 1 damage to each blocking creature. The rest of the damage can be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker, effectively bypassing the blockers and delivering a painful blow directly.
Example Scenario
Imagine you’re attacking with a 5/5 creature that has both deathtouch and trample. Your opponent blocks with a 3/3 creature. You only need to assign 1 damage to the 3/3 blocker (because of deathtouch). The remaining 4 damage can be assigned to the defending player, resulting in 4 damage being dealt to them. The blocker is destroyed due to deathtouch, and the defending player takes significant damage.
Limitations and Interactions
While deathtouch and trample are a potent combination, there are limitations and other interactions to consider. Effects such as indestructible, protection, or shield counters can impact how these abilities function. Let’s delve into some of these scenarios.
Indestructible Creatures
Indestructible creatures cannot be destroyed by damage or effects that say “destroy”. Therefore, while a creature with deathtouch can still assign damage to an indestructible creature, the indestructible creature will not be destroyed. In this case, the trampling creature must assign enough damage to account for the indestructible creature’s toughness before any damage can be assigned to the player. For instance, if the 5/5 deathtouch trample creature blocks a 3/3 indestructible creature, all 5 damage must be assigned to the indestructible creature. The creature is not destroyed, but no damage tramples over.
Protection
Protection prevents damage, targeting, enchanting/equipping, and blocking (DEBT). If a creature has protection from a specific color or source, any damage that would be dealt to it from that source is prevented. For example, if a creature has protection from green, and a green creature with deathtouch and trample attacks it, no damage can be assigned to the protected creature. Any damage beyond that is assignable to the player.
Shield Counters
Shield counters prevent the next damage dealt to a permanent that has one. If a creature with a shield counter is attacked by a creature with deathtouch and trample, the shield counter prevents the damage that would’ve been dealt. Then any damage that tramples over goes through.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify the interaction between trample and deathtouch:
1. Does indestructible prevent Deathtouch?
Yes, indestructible creatures are immune to the destruction caused by deathtouch. They still take the damage, but they are not destroyed.
2. Does first strike Deathtouch negate trample?
Not necessarily. If the creature with first strike and deathtouch deals enough damage to destroy the blocking creature before the combat damage step, then the trampling creature is blocked by nothing and all damage is assigned to the player. However, if the first strike deathtouch creature doesn’t kill all blockers, the trample damage is still assigned as normal.
3. What beats Deathtouch?
Several things can “beat” deathtouch. These include indestructible, protection, shield counters, and regeneration. Additionally, removing the creature with deathtouch before it deals damage is an effective counter.
4. How does Deathtouch trample work with indestructible?
Any amount of damage from a creature with deathtouch is normally lethal, but an indestructible creature cannot be destroyed. The trampling creature must assign enough damage to equal the indestructible creature’s toughness before the damage can “trample” to the defending player or planeswalker.
5. Does Deathtouch work during fight?
Yes, deathtouch applies to all damage dealt by a creature, not just combat damage. So, if a creature with deathtouch fights another creature, any damage dealt is considered lethal.
6. Does trample go through protection?
Yes, trample allows you to assign lethal damage to the creature it is blocking, and the rest goes to the player. Protection can prevent the damage being dealt, but trample is still assigned and will allow the remainder to go through to the player.
7. Does Deathtouch go through shield?
No, shield counters work well against deathtouch because they’re a damage prevention effect. The lethal damage that would’ve been dealt from deathtouch is prevented by the shield counter.
8. Does regenerate beat Deathtouch?
Yes, regeneration can prevent a creature from being destroyed by damage, including damage from a creature with deathtouch.
9. Is there a card that gives all creatures Deathtouch?
Yes, there are several. For example, Venom Connoisseur.
10. Does Double Strike cancel Deathtouch?
Not necessarily. Creatures with deathtouch deal damage during the regular combat damage step. Fortunately, if you block a creature with deathtouch with a creature with first strike or double strike, your creature will deal damage during the first strike damage step, before the deathtouch creature can return fire.
11. Who wins first strike vs Deathtouch?
If a creature with first strike deals enough damage to destroy the creature with deathtouch, the first strike creature wins.
12. Does double strike damage trample over?
If a creature with double strike and trample assigns lethal damage during the first strike combat damage step and there is damage left over, that damage is dealt to the defending player or planeswalker.
13. Does exile beat indestructible?
Yes, exiling a creature is one of the most common ways to remove an Indestructible creature from play! They are still valid targets for “Destroy” spells and damage effects, but do not end up actually destroyed and in the graveyard.
14. How do you defend against trample?
If you don’t have enough creatures to block with, a good removal spell will do the trick. Even the mightiest beasts will fall to a catch-all removal spell like Murder or Banishing Light. If you cast a removal spell on a creature before it deals damage to you, you won’t take any damage, even if it has trample.
15. Does deathtouch resolve before trample?
No. All combat damage is assigned simultaneously. The deathtouch effect does not “resolve” before the trample damage is assigned.
Conclusion
In conclusion, trample does indeed go through deathtouch. The synergy between these two abilities creates a potent attacking force that can be difficult to defend against. Understanding the nuances of how these abilities interact, as well as their limitations when faced with effects like indestructible or protection, is crucial for mastering the intricacies of Magic: The Gathering. Remember that context matters; scenarios involving other keywords or abilities can change the outcome significantly. Further exploration into game mechanics and strategy can be found on sites like the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.