Does trample still happen with Deathtouch?

Does Trample Still Happen with Deathtouch?

The answer to the question of whether trample still happens with Deathtouch is yes, trample does still occur even when a creature with Deathtouch is involved in combat, as Deathtouch only affects the creature it deals damage to, not the trample ability itself. When a creature with both trample and Deathtouch becomes blocked, it first assigns damage to the blocking creature, which is then destroyed by Deathtouch if it’s not indestructible, and any excess damage tramples over to the opponent.

Frequently Asked Questions

General Questions

  1. How does trample work with Deathtouch?: If an attacking creature with Deathtouch and trample becomes blocked, the attacking creature first assigns damage to the creature(s) blocking it, and then any excess damage tramples over to the opponent.
  2. Does trample still go through indestructible?: Although an indestructible creature can’t be destroyed, trample still works by dealing excess damage to the opponent after assigning lethal damage to the indestructible creature.
  3. Does Deathtouch kill indestructible?: No, indestructible creatures are immune to Deathtouch because they can’t be destroyed.

Specific Scenarios

  1. How does Deathtouch trample work against indestructible?: When a creature with Deathtouch and trample fights an indestructible creature, the indestructible creature will not be destroyed but the trample damage will still be assigned to the opponent.
  2. Does first strike Deathtouch negate trample?: First strike can prevent trample if the creature with first strike and Deathtouch deals damage before the opponent’s creature, killing it before trample can occur.
  3. What is the difference between indestructible and Deathtouch trample?: Indestructible prevents destruction, while Deathtouch causes any amount of damage from the source to be lethal to the creature, unless it’s indestructible.

Interactions with Other Abilities

  1. Does Deathtouch stop Hexproof?: No, Hexproof only prevents a creature from being targeted by spells or abilities, and Deathtouch does not target the creature.
  2. Can first strike beat Deathtouch?: Yes, if a creature with first strike or double strike blocks a creature with Deathtouch, it can deal damage first, potentially killing the Deathtouch creature before it can deal damage.
  3. Does Deathtouch kill Planeswalkers?: No, Deathtouch only affects creatures, not Planeswalkers.

Specific Rules and Interactions

  1. Does Deathtouch cancel Deathtouch?: There’s a misconception that two instances of Deathtouch cancel each other out, but this is not a rule; Deathtouch works regardless of the opponent’s abilities.
  2. How does trample work with indestructible?: When a creature with trample attacks an indestructible creature, it assigns enough damage to be lethal (if it weren’t indestructible) and any excess damage tramples over.
  3. Does blocking trigger trample?: Trample is triggered when a creature with trample is blocked and deals damage in excess of the blocker’s toughness.
  4. What is the Deathtouch rule?: Deathtouch is a mechanic where any amount of damage from a source with Deathtouch to another creature is considered lethal, unless the creature is indestructible.

Edge Cases

  1. Does preventing damage stop Deathtouch?: Preventing all combat damage would indeed prevent Deathtouch from taking effect since Deathtouch requires damage to be dealt.
  2. Does Deathtouch work with non-combat damage?: Yes, Deathtouch applies to any damage dealt by a creature, including non-combat damage, making it a powerful and versatile ability in various situations.

Leave a Comment