Decoding Trample in Magic: The Gathering’s “Fight” Mechanic: A Comprehensive Guide
In the intricate world of Magic: The Gathering (MTG), understanding keyword abilities is crucial for mastering the game. One such ability that often sparks confusion is Trample, especially in relation to the “fight” mechanic. So, does trample work with fight? The short answer is no. Trample is a static ability that only modifies how an attacking creature assigns combat damage. Since “fight” is a noncombat ability, trample doesn’t function during fights. Creatures dealing damage via the “fight” mechanic do not trample over to other targets, even if they have the Trample ability.
Understanding Trample and Combat Damage
To fully grasp why trample doesn’t apply during a “fight,” let’s dissect what trample actually does.
Trample: A Key to Overwhelming Opponents
Trample is a static ability that comes into play during the combat damage step. Its reminder text often reads, “This creature can deal excess combat damage to the player or planeswalker it’s attacking.” Essentially, when a creature with trample attacks and is blocked, it must assign enough damage to the blocking creature(s) to deal lethal damage to them. After doing so, any remaining damage can be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker. This is how an attacking creature can “trample over” the blockers.
The “Fight” Mechanic: A Noncombat Duel
The “fight” mechanic, on the other hand, is a noncombat ability found on various spells and creatures. It allows one creature to deal damage to another creature equal to its power, and vice versa. A classic example is the spell “Prey Upon.” The critical distinction here is that this damage isn’t considered combat damage. Consequently, abilities that specifically interact with combat damage, like trample, are irrelevant.
Why Trample Doesn’t Trigger in “Fight”
The Comprehensive Rules of Magic: The Gathering are very clear. Rule 702.19a definitively states: “Trample is a static ability that modifies the rules for assigning an attacking creature’s combat damage. The ability has no effect when a creature with trample is blocking or is dealing noncombat damage.”
The key takeaway is that trample is exclusively tied to the combat damage step when a creature is attacking. When creatures “fight”, it does not involve combat, blocking, or attacking so trample will not happen. Even if a creature with trample has a high power and “fights” a weaker creature, the excess damage doesn’t spill over. The fight simply resolves with each creature dealing damage equal to its power to the other, potentially resulting in one or both creatures being destroyed.
Dissecting Common Misconceptions
The confusion often arises because both trample and “fight” involve creatures dealing damage to each other. However, understanding the distinction between combat damage and noncombat damage, as defined in the rules, is key to avoiding this pitfall. So, a creature with trample that engages in a “fight” is essentially just a creature dealing damage equal to its power.
FAQs: Trample and Related Mechanics
To further clarify the intricacies of trample and its interactions with other MTG mechanics, here are 15 frequently asked questions:
1. Does Deathtouch work with Fight?
Yes! Deathtouch works any time a creature deals damage to another creature. Since the “fight” mechanic causes creatures to deal damage to each other, deathtouch will work.
2. Does indestructible prevent Deathtouch?
Yes, indestructible creatures are immune to deathtouch. Normally, a creature with deathtouch dealing damage would destroy the creature it damages. However, indestructible creatures can’t be destroyed, rendering them immune to deathtouch’s effect.
3. Does trample damage count as combat damage to a player?
Absolutely. All trample damage dealt to a player is considered combat damage. This is crucial for effects that trigger specifically from combat damage.
4. Does double strike damage trample?
Yes. A creature with both double strike and trample deals combat damage twice. The damage dealt during the first strike damage step is factored in when determining how much damage can trample through in the second damage step.
5. Does color protection stop trample?
Yes, but indirectly. Protection from a color means the creature can’t be damaged by sources of that color. The trampling creature only needs to assign enough damage to the protected creature to account for its toughness.
6. Does trample overcome indestructible?
While you can’t destroy an indestructible creature with trample, you still have to assign enough damage to it that would ‘normally’ be lethal. Any remaining damage will trample over to the defending player.
7. Does Deathtouch cancel Deathtouch?
No, the deathtouch abilities do not cancel each other out. They both are still in effect.
8. Does trample work with double strike?
Yes. See number 4.
9. Does trample happen if the creature dies?
If a creature with trample deals lethal damage to a blocker during the combat damage step, any remaining damage will trample through, even if the blocker dies from the initial damage.
10. Does trample work with toxic?
Yes. If a creature with toxic and trample is blocked, it can assign lethal damage to the blocker and trample the rest to the defending player. The player will receive poison counters based on the amount of damage assigned to them with toxic.
11. Does first strike stop trample?
Yes, in certain scenarios. If a creature with first strike deals lethal damage to a creature with trample before the trample creature gets a chance to deal damage, the trample creature will die and won’t deal any damage.
12. Does regenerate beat Deathtouch?
Yes. If a creature with regenerate is dealt lethal damage by a deathtouch creature, using the regenerate ability will prevent it from being destroyed.
13. Does Hexproof negate Deathtouch?
No. Hexproof only prevents a creature from being targeted by an opponent’s spells or abilities. Deathtouch doesn’t target; it’s a static ability that triggers when damage is dealt.
14. Does Deathtouch work on Planeswalkers?
Deathtouch affects creatures, not Planeswalkers. To deal lethal damage to a planeswalker, you need to deal damage equal to its loyalty.
15. What is the rule of trample?
The rule of trample is that during the combat damage step, an attacking creature with trample must assign lethal damage to its blockers. Any remaining damage can then be assigned to the defending player or planeswalker.
Mastery Through Understanding
In conclusion, while trample is a powerful ability that can lead to devastating attacks, it’s essential to remember that it only functions during combat damage. It has no effect when creatures are “fighting” outside of combat. By understanding this distinction and reviewing the FAQs above, you’ll be better equipped to strategize and dominate your MTG games. For more insights into the nuances of gameplay and the wider world of learning through games, explore the resources available at the Games Learning Society (GamesLearningSociety.org).