Decoding Urborg: Is it a Swamp? Unveiling the Mysteries of this MTG Land
Yes, Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth does count as a Swamp. This iconic land card from Magic: The Gathering boasts a static ability that fundamentally alters the landscape of any game in which it’s played. Its rules text states that “Each land is a Swamp in addition to its other land types.” This means that Urborg itself is not only Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth, but also a Swamp. Consequently, it can be tapped for black mana, even though it doesn’t explicitly have the “TAP: add {B} to your mana pool” ability printed on the card. It gains this ability by virtue of being a Swamp, and all lands with the Swamp subtype inherently possess that mana-producing capability. Understanding this simple yet powerful interaction is crucial for mastering many black-centered strategies.
Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth: FAQs
Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth can be a complex card to master due to its unique interaction with other lands and card abilities, here are some common questions and answers about this card.
Does Urborg Make All Lands Tap for Black Mana?
Urborg bestows upon all lands on the battlefield, including itself, the Swamp subtype. Lands with the Swamp subtype gain the intrinsic ability “TAP: Add {B} to your mana pool.” Therefore, the answer is yes, Urborg effectively makes all lands tap for black mana in addition to whatever mana they already produce. If you have a Forest out, with Urborg in play, you can tap it for green or black mana.
Does Urborg Affect Lands in My Deck or Hand?
No, Urborg’s ability only affects lands that are physically present on the battlefield. Lands in your deck, hand, graveyard, or exile zone are not affected by Urborg’s ability. Its influence is confined to the in-game zone where permanents (like lands) reside while in play.
Does Urborg Make Lands Basic Lands?
Absolutely not. Urborg does not change lands into Basic lands. It simply adds the Swamp subtype to them, alongside their existing types. This is a crucial distinction because effects that specifically target or affect basic lands won’t apply to lands modified by Urborg unless they were already basic lands to begin with.
If I have Two Urborgs out, can I tap my lands for Double Black Mana?
No. Having multiple Urborgs on the battlefield doesn’t stack their effect in that way. Each land, including the Urborgs themselves, is simply a Swamp in addition to its other types. You still only tap a land for one source of black mana if you choose to tap it for black mana.
Does Urborg affect non-basic lands?
Yes, Urborg doesn’t discriminate when adding the Swamp subtype. Whether a land is basic (like a Plains or Island) or non-basic (like a shock land or fetch land), it will become a Swamp in addition to its other land types. This makes Urborg extremely versatile and powerful.
Does Urborg work with Cabal Coffers?
Yes! This is one of Urborg’s most famous and powerful synergies. Cabal Coffers produces black mana equal to the number of Swamps you control. Since Urborg makes all lands into Swamps, it significantly boosts Cabal Coffers’ mana generation, often leading to explosive turns and game-winning plays. This synergy is a major reason for Urborg’s high price tag.
Can Urborg be countered?
Like any other land card, Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth cannot be directly countered by most counterspells. Counterspells typically target spells, and lands are played, not cast, unless a card effect allows you to cast a land. Some effects, like [[Voidslime]] or [[Stifle]], can counter triggered or activated abilities, but they wouldn’t stop Urborg from entering the battlefield.
What happens if Urborg gets destroyed?
If Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth leaves the battlefield, its effect immediately ceases to exist. All lands immediately lose the Swamp subtype they had gained from Urborg, and they can no longer tap for black mana based on that effect. The game state reverts to its previous condition.
Can Urborg turn other special lands into Tapped Swamps?
Yes. Even if a special land doesn’t normally produce mana, Urborg makes it a swamp allowing it to tap for black mana. Urborg says each land, so it affects all other lands and itself.
How does Urborg interact with Blood Moon?
The interaction between Urborg and Blood Moon is governed by timestamp order, and usually Blood Moon wins. Blood Moon turns all nonbasic lands into Mountains. So If Blood Moon is already on the battlefield, and you then play Urborg, Blood Moon’s effect will override Urborg’s, because Blood Moon was there first, and Urborg will still be a Mountain and all other nonbasic lands will also be Mountains. If Urborg is already out and Blood Moon enters after, then Urborg is in play, so it gets to turn all lands including itself into a swamp first, then Blood Moon makes all the non basic lands into mountains. So Blood moon would turn everything into mountains and then those mountains would get Urborg’s effect and become swamps.
Does Urborg make lands in my graveyard swamps?
Urborg’s ability only affects lands on the battlefield, not in any other zone. It only effects lands in play.
Does Urborg turn lands into basic lands?
Lands are not turned into basic Swamps. Urborg gives the lands the Swamp subtype. It will not affect any type of basic lands because they already exist as basic lands, like swamps and mountains.
Is Yawgmoth a powerful card?
Yawgmoth is a powerful card advantage engine that can also control the board when used with undying creatures and combo kill the opponent as well. Those undying creatures are Young Wolf and Strangleroot Geist. Yawgmoth is great because it makes you draw cards and remove creatures.
What is the largest swamp in the world?
At more than 42 million acres, the Pantanal is the largest tropical wetland and one of the most pristine in the world. It sprawls across three South American countries—Bolivia, Brazil and Paraguay—and supports millions of people there, as well as communities in the lower Rio de la Plata Basin.
Can you put Urborg in any deck?
They have color identifier and can be put into any deck! Yes since they have no colors in their color identity. They are colorless and so they don’t necessarily force you to play a black mana deck.
The Legacy of Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth
Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth is more than just a land card; it’s a strategic linchpin for black-based strategies in Magic: The Gathering. Its ability to transform all lands into Swamps opens up a wealth of synergies, most notably with cards like Cabal Coffers, dramatically accelerating mana production. This card exemplifies the intricate interplay between card design and deckbuilding, where a single land can reshape the entire game. Interested in learning more about the strategic and social aspects of gaming? Check out the Games Learning Society at https://www.gameslearningsociety.org/ for insights into how games influence learning and culture.