Does Ward affect blocking MTG?
Ward does not affect blocking in Magic: The Gathering (MTG), as it only triggers when a creature would be targeted by a spell or ability, and blocking a creature is not considered targeting it. The Ward ability is a triggered ability that counters a targeted spell or ability from an opponent unless the Ward cost is paid, but it does not interfere with the blocking process.
Understanding Ward and Blocking in MTG
To further clarify the relationship between Ward and blocking in MTG, let’s examine some frequently asked questions and their answers:
Frequently Asked Questions
- What is Ward in MTG?: Ward is a keyword that counters a targeted spell or ability from an opponent unless the Ward cost is paid, which can be paying life, discarding a card, or paying a mana cost.
- Does Ward work on the stack?: Ward increases the cost to target a creature by requiring the opponent to pay more mana or perform some other action, and it uses the stack and can be responded to by opponents.
- Can you block a creature with Ward?: No, Ward only triggers when a creature is being targeted by a spell or ability an opponent controls, and attacking, blocking, and dealing combat damage are not spells or abilities that target.
- Does protection stop blocking MTG?: Protection from a color stops damage, enchanting/equipping, blocking, and targeting, but it doesn’t do anything against other kinds of effects.
- Is Ward better than Hexproof?: Ward and Hexproof are different, as Ward counters a spell that’s being cast, while Hexproof prevents it from being targeted by a spell that your opponent controls to begin with.
- Can you counter a spell with Ward MTG?: Yes, Ward counters a targeted spell or ability from an opponent unless the Ward cost is paid.
- Does Ward affect board wipes?: No, Ward is not universal protection and doesn’t save you from board wipes or effects that force you to sacrifice.
- Can you sacrifice a creature with Ward?: If you sacrifice your own warded creature, the creature remains and the Ward token is removed.
- Does shroud protect from board wipes?: No, creatures with shroud are difficult to deal with, but board wipes and any other spells that don’t target will be useful, and you can still block them with your creatures.
- Does trample work when blocking?: No, trample is a static ability that modifies the rules for assigning an attacking creature’s combat damage and has no effect when a creature with trample is blocking.
- Does Ward only apply to opponents?: Yes, any spell or ability controlled by an opponent can be affected by Ward.
- Can you block with a Planeswalker?: No, players can attack planeswalkers, but can’t use them to block.
- Does indestructible prevent Deathtouch?: Yes, indestructible creatures also ignore Deathtouch, as they can’t be destroyed.
- How does protection work with blocking?: A creature with protection from one or more colors of magic cannot be affected by any magic of those colors, including being blocked by creatures of those colors.
- What is the difference between Ward and sacrifice?: Ward says “If a creature with a Ward counter on it would be damaged or leave play, instead discard the Ward counter on it,” while sacrifice says “that player must discard the card from play.”
By understanding how Ward interacts with blocking and other mechanics in MTG, players can make more informed decisions during gameplay and improve their overall strategy. Whether you’re a seasoned pro or a new player, mastering the intricacies of Ward and blocking can help you stay ahead of the competition and enhance your Magic: The Gathering experience.