Does Ward Work on the Stack? A Comprehensive MTG Guide
The short answer is: no, Ward does not inherently function on the stack in Magic: The Gathering. It’s a common point of confusion, stemming from the fact that Ward interacts with spells and abilities that use the stack. Let’s delve deeper into the intricacies of Ward, how it operates, and address common misconceptions.
Understanding Ward: Protection on the Battlefield
Ward is a keyword ability that protects a permanent, most commonly a creature, on the battlefield. Its function is straightforward: whenever a permanent with Ward becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls, that spell or ability is countered unless that opponent pays an additional cost. This cost is defined within the Ward ability itself. For example, Ward {2} means the opponent must pay two additional generic mana. Ward – Sacrifice a creature means the opponent must sacrifice a creature.
The crucial element to remember is that Ward only triggers when the permanent is already on the battlefield. It doesn’t offer protection while the creature card is a spell on the stack, nor does it interact with the stack directly.
Why the Confusion?
The confusion arises because Ward interacts with spells and abilities that are on the stack. An opponent casts a removal spell (say, Murder) targeting your creature with Ward. Murder goes onto the stack. Your creature’s Ward ability triggers. The opponent now has a choice: pay the Ward cost or have their Murder fizzle. In this way, Ward indirectly interacts with the stack, but it itself is not on the stack. The permanant has to be on the battlefield to activate the ability.
Ward vs. Hexproof vs. Shroud
It’s helpful to distinguish Ward from other similar protective abilities like Hexproof and Shroud.
- Hexproof: Prevents your permanents from being the target of spells or abilities your opponents control.
- Shroud: Prevents your permanents from being the target of any spells or abilities, including your own.
Unlike Ward, Hexproof prevents the targeting altogether. There’s no trigger, no cost to pay. The spell simply can’t target the permanent. Shroud is even more restrictive, preventing all targeting. Both of these abilities function only on the battlefield.
Ward: A Powerful Defensive Tool
Ward is a valuable defensive keyword, providing a robust layer of protection against removal spells and other targeted abilities. It forces opponents to make difficult choices, potentially costing them valuable resources or forcing them to sacrifice creatures or other permanents. Understanding its nuances is critical for strategic gameplay in Magic: The Gathering. If you’re interested in learning more about the intersection of games and learning, consider exploring the Games Learning Society at GamesLearningSociety.org.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Ward
1. Does Ward prevent a creature from being countered while it’s still a spell on the stack?
No. Ward only functions when the permanent is on the battlefield. Counterspells, like Counterspell, target the spell on the stack, not the permanent itself.
2. If a creature has multiple instances of Ward, do the costs stack?
Yes! If a creature has Ward {2} and another Ward {2}, an opponent targeting it must pay an additional {4} (2+2) to prevent their spell from being countered. Each instance of Ward triggers separately.
3. Can I target my own creature with Ward with my own spells?
Yes. Ward only triggers when a permanent becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls. You can freely target your own permanents with Ward.
4. How does Ward interact with sacrifice effects?
Ward doesn’t stop sacrifice effects. Sacrifice effects don’t target the permanent being sacrificed. Therefore, Ward won’t trigger when you sacrifice a creature with Ward.
5. If a creature has Ward and indestructible, what happens when targeted by a destroy effect?
The Ward ability will trigger, and the opponent will have to pay the ward cost. If the opponent pays the ward cost, the creature will be destroyed because indestructible only stops damage and destroy effects, but it will allow you to get the benefit of the ward ability. If they do not pay the ward cost, then the spell fizzles.
6. Can Ward protect against board wipes (non-targeted removal)?
No. Board wipes, such as Wrath of God, don’t target individual creatures. Therefore, Ward does not trigger.
7. Does Ward protect against triggered abilities?
Ward protects against activated abilities. If an triggered ability is triggered, then ward will not protect the creature.
8. What happens if a creature has both Ward and Hexproof?
Hexproof will prevent the opponent from even casting a spell that targets the creature. Because no spell is being cast on the creature, the Ward ability will not be triggered.
9. If an effect puts a creature directly onto the battlefield, does Ward protect it from being immediately targeted?
No. Ward triggers when a permanent becomes the target of a spell or ability. If a creature is put onto the battlefield and then targeted, Ward will function as normal.
10. Does Ward stack with similar abilities like protection from a color?
Yes. They are independent abilities. For example, a creature with Ward {2} and protection from red can’t be targeted by a red spell unless the opponent pays {2}. Even then, if they pay the {2}, the protection from red ability will not allow the creature to be targeted.
11. Can a player respond to the Ward trigger?
Yes. The Ward ability triggers and goes on the stack. Players can respond to this trigger with instants or activated abilities before the opponent decides whether or not to pay the Ward cost.
12. If a creature with Ward is targeted by a spell with Split Second, can the Ward cost still be paid?
Yes. Split Second only prevents players from casting spells or activating abilities. It doesn’t prevent triggered abilities like Ward from triggering, and it doesn’t stop players from paying costs.
13. Does Ward protect against commander tax?
No. Ward only applies when a permanent becomes the target of a spell or ability an opponent controls. Commander tax is an additional cost that is paid when casting a commander from the command zone.
14. Can I choose to pay the Ward cost myself if my opponent wants their spell to be countered?
No. The choice to pay the Ward cost is solely the opponent’s. You cannot choose to pay it for them.
15. How does Ward interact with triggered abilities that target?
Ward works the same way. When a permanent with Ward becomes the target of a triggered ability that an opponent controls, the opponent will have to pay the Ward cost if they want the spell to trigger.
Understanding the rules and interactions within Magic: The Gathering is essential for any serious player, and Ward is no exception. By mastering the intricacies of this ability, you can significantly enhance your strategic gameplay.