How does a turn work in 5e?

How Does a Turn Work in 5e? A Comprehensive Guide

In Dungeons & Dragons 5th Edition (5e), a turn is the fundamental unit of action within a round of combat or other time-sensitive situations. It represents a single character’s opportunity to perform actions during that specific timeframe. While a round is a defined six-second block of time within which every participant gets a chance to act, a turn is the individual slice of that round dedicated to one specific creature. Each character’s turn involves a set of actions that they can take: a single action, a single movement, a single bonus action (if they have one), one free object interaction, and potentially one reaction. Understanding these components is crucial for effective gameplay, whether you’re a seasoned adventurer or a newcomer to the tabletop. Crucially, a turn is not a measure of time, but an opportunity within the six-second round to perform your chosen actions. Therefore a turn is functionally also equal to 6 seconds.

The Components of a 5e Turn

Action

The core of your turn revolves around your action. This is where you execute the primary task you wish to accomplish. Examples of common actions include:

  • Attacking: Making a melee or ranged attack against an opponent.
  • Casting a Spell: Casting a spell with a casting time of one action.
  • Dashing: Using your movement to double your speed.
  • Dodging: Focusing on avoiding attacks, imposing disadvantage on attack rolls against you.
  • Helping: Giving an ally advantage on their next ability check.
  • Hiding: Attempting to conceal yourself from enemies.
  • Readying: Preparing to take an action later in the round.
  • Searching: Looking for something, typically requiring an ability check.
  • Shoving a Creature: Attempting to push a creature away from you.
  • Using a Special Ability: Activating a special feature or power.

You can only take one action per turn. This emphasizes strategic decision making as you must choose the best action for each situation.

Movement

Every turn you have the ability to move up to your character’s speed. This movement can be split up, occurring before and after your action. Your movement speed is noted on your character sheet and is typically 30 feet for most races. This movement allows you to strategically position yourself on the battlefield, reach enemies, or escape danger. Remember that while movement is limited to your speed, certain abilities and spells can increase your movement range, or impact the cost of movement in difficult terrain.

Bonus Action

Some abilities, spells, and class features grant you a bonus action. These actions are typically quick or less impactful than your main action. A few examples include:

  • Casting a Spell: Casting a spell with a casting time of one bonus action.
  • Using a class feature: Such as a rogue’s cunning action.
  • Activating a feat: Such as the dual wielder feat allowing you to draw an additional weapon.

You can only perform one bonus action per turn, and you can only use it if you have a feature that allows you to use bonus action. If you do not have a bonus action ability, then you won’t be able to use a bonus action, and it is not something every class or race gets.

Object Interaction

On your turn, you can interact with one object for free. This is generally done along with movement or actions but is considered a separate thing. This can include:

  • Drawing or stowing a weapon.
  • Opening or closing a door.
  • Picking up an item.
  • Retrieving an item from your pack.

Interacting with additional objects usually requires an action.

Reaction

A reaction is a special type of action that you can take in response to a trigger, which can happen during your turn or other creatures turns. Unlike other parts of your turn, a reaction can be used outside of your turn, provided the trigger has been met. Triggers are specific abilities or events that enable you to react. A few examples are:

  • Making an opportunity attack: When a creature leaves your reach.
  • Casting Shield: Responding to an attack that would hit you.
  • Casting Counterspell: To interrupt another spellcaster.

You have one reaction per round, between the start of your turn and the start of your next turn, meaning that you can’t use another reaction again until the start of your next turn.

Order of Operations

While you have all these options available on your turn, there isn’t a set order in which you must complete them. You can choose to move before or after your action, or even break your movement up. You are able to freely mix and match. For example, you can move part of your speed, take your action, and then move the rest of your speed. The only limit is that it all must happen on your turn, and within your turn’s time frame.

FAQs: Understanding Turns in 5e

1. How Long is a Turn in 5e?

A turn in 5e functionally lasts for 6 seconds, as turns are considered portions of the 6 second round.

2. Can I Hold my Turn in 5e?

No, there is no mechanic to delay your turn. The order of turns in a round is determined by initiative at the start of combat, and players must take their turn when their initiative comes up. You can Ready an action to activate it on another creature’s turn, but this is a specific action and not the same as delaying your turn.

3. How Many Times Can I Use a Cantrip in a Turn?

You can cast a cantrip as an action once per turn as many times as you like. There is no limit to the number of cantrips you can cast per day. If you were to cast a spell that uses a bonus action, then you could still cast a cantrip using your action.

4. How Many Turns is 1 Minute in 5e?

Since one round is 6 seconds long and each character takes one turn in a round, 1 minute of combat equals 10 turns for each participant.

5. Can I Throw Two Weapons in a Turn?

Throwing multiple weapons in a turn is limited by the action economy. You can only interact with one object for free on your turn, so throwing a single weapon is part of that free object interaction, but throwing two requires either a full action or a bonus action depending on class and feats.

6. Can I Counterspell on my Own Turn?

Yes, you can counterspell on your turn as long as you have not already cast a spell with a casting time of 1 bonus action. Casting a spell as a bonus action limits your spell options for the same turn.

7. Can I Use a Reaction During My Turn?

Yes, you can use a reaction during your turn if you meet the appropriate trigger. A common example would be using the Shield spell in response to an opportunity attack from an enemy.

8. Do I Fall at the Start of My Turn?

Falling usually occurs at the start of the round you start falling in, rather than the beginning of a given character’s turn, unless the fall is expected. The fall usually all happens within that round (6 seconds). Some particularly long falls are broken down using the rules from Xanathar’s Guide to Everything and fall at a rate of 500 feet per round.

9. What Does “Once Per Turn” Mean in 5e?

Once per turn” means you can do it once during your turn, or if you take a reaction that meets the requirement for a “once per turn” action, that counts as another instance of that action. The rogue thief gets a second action at 17th level, and a “once per turn” action can be used in both of their turns.

10. How Many Reactions Do You Get Per Turn?

You only have one reaction between the start of your turn and the start of your next turn, regardless of how many times a trigger occurs.

11. How Many Spells Can I Cast Per Turn?

A spellcaster can cast one spell of 1st-9th level per turn. However, If a bonus action spell is cast, then the spellcaster may also cast a cantrip using their action.

12. How Fast Do You Fall in a Turn in 5e?

In 5e, you fall 500 feet per round (6 seconds). You also take damage if you fall over 10 feet, equal to 1d6 bludgeoning damage for each 10 feet you have fallen.

13. What Does “5 to Hit” Mean in D&D?

The phrase “5 to hit” is the attack roll modifier of a creature. It includes the ability modifier you use to cast, plus your proficiency bonus. For example, a 1st-level Wizard with a +3 Intelligence modifier would add +5 to their roll to hit.

14. Can I Cast 2 Cantrips in 1 Turn?

Yes, you can cast two cantrips in one turn, but you have to cast one using a bonus action (if the spell’s casting time allows) and one with your regular action.

15. Can You Shove Twice in a Turn?

You can only shove a creature once using your action. If you have other actions from class or magic then you can shove again using those actions, but one action can only do one shove, but multiple attacks can be replaced by a shove. So a fighter with 3 attacks using action surge could do three shoves on their turn.

Understanding the intricacies of a turn in D&D 5e is critical for mastering the game and maximizing the potential of your character. By keeping these components in mind and considering your options carefully, you can navigate combat effectively and make the most of each six-second slice of time.

Leave a Comment