How does first strike and Deathtouch work against multiple blockers?

First Strike & Deathtouch vs. Multiple Blockers: A Comprehensive Guide

How Do First Strike and Deathtouch Work Against Multiple Blockers?

When a creature with first strike and deathtouch attacks and is blocked by multiple creatures, it creates a powerful scenario that can be advantageous to the attacker. Here’s how it works:

  1. First Strike Damage Step: Because the attacking creature has first strike, it deals its damage before creatures without first strike. This occurs in what is known as the first strike damage step.

  2. Deathtouch Application: Due to deathtouch, any amount of damage that the attacking creature deals is considered lethal to the defending creatures. The attacking player chooses the order in which the damage is assigned to the blocking creatures, meaning they can allocate just one point of damage to each blocker they wish to destroy.

  3. Lethal Damage and Destruction: In the first strike damage step, any blocking creatures that were assigned at least 1 damage from the attacker with deathtouch will be destroyed. This happens before the blocking creatures have a chance to deal their combat damage.

  4. Normal Combat Damage Step: Since the blockers have been destroyed in the first strike damage step, they are no longer present to assign damage in the normal combat damage step. The attacker takes no combat damage from the previously blocking creatures.

In short, an attacking creature with first strike and deathtouch can effectively eliminate multiple blocking creatures during the first strike damage step, without taking any combat damage in return. This strategy is highly efficient at removing blockers.

Understanding the Mechanics in Detail

The Power of First Strike

First strike allows a creature to deal combat damage before other creatures without first strike, in a separate damage step. This is crucial because it can allow your creature to destroy a blocker before that blocker can retaliate. If the attacker with first strike has enough power to destroy the blocker (or all blockers), it will do so. This mechanic is particularly powerful when combined with other abilities.

The Devastation of Deathtouch

Deathtouch changes the rules of combat damage. Normally, damage has to equal or exceed a creature’s toughness to destroy it. However, any amount of damage dealt by a creature with deathtouch is considered lethal, meaning that even 1 damage will destroy a blocker. This drastically enhances the effectiveness of low-power creatures, turning even 1/1 creatures into potent threats.

Synergistic Combination

When combined, first strike and deathtouch create a synergistic effect that maximizes combat effectiveness. The first strike ensures that your attacker has the chance to remove threats before they can deal damage, and the deathtouch ensures that minimal damage is needed to destroy those threats. Together, these abilities provide a potent method of clearing blockers for a clean path to victory or for achieving combat advantages.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. How does the order of damage assignment work when using First Strike and Deathtouch against multiple blockers?

The attacking player chooses the order in which they assign damage from their first strike and deathtouch creature to the multiple blockers. They can assign at least 1 damage to each blocker they wish to destroy, based on the power of their attacking creature.

2. Can a creature with First Strike and Deathtouch destroy multiple blockers with low power?

Yes, absolutely. Because deathtouch makes any damage dealt lethal, a creature with both first strike and deathtouch can destroy multiple blockers by dealing only 1 damage to each blocker during the first strike damage step.

3. If I block with an indestructible creature, can a creature with Deathtouch still destroy it?

No. Indestructible means a creature cannot be destroyed by “lethal damage.” Therefore, deathtouch won’t be able to bypass this effect. Damage will still be dealt, but the indestructible creature will remain on the battlefield.

4. How does Double Strike interact with Deathtouch when facing multiple blockers?

A creature with double strike deals damage in both the first strike damage step and the normal combat damage step. If it also has deathtouch, it will deal lethal damage with each of those strikes. If it is blocked by multiple creatures, the attacker will deal deathtouch damage and potentially destroy multiple creatures in each damage step.

5. Does Deathtouch affect planeswalkers?

No, deathtouch only affects creatures. It makes damage from a source lethal to creatures, but it has no effect on planeswalkers. To deal damage to a planeswalker, you need to use abilities that target or can redirect combat damage to a planeswalker.

6. Can a creature with First Strike and Deathtouch be blocked by a creature with First Strike and Deathtouch?

Yes, the creature with first strike and deathtouch will still deal damage in the first strike damage step. Both creatures have first strike and deathtouch so any damage dealt will be lethal. The creatures will trade lethal damage.

7. Does a creature with Lifelink gain life for each blocker that takes damage?

No. Lifelink grants life equal to the total damage dealt by the creature. It doesn’t matter how the damage is divided among multiple blockers. For example, if an attacking creature with lifelink deals 5 total damage, the controller will gain 5 life, regardless of how the damage is split up.

8. Can a creature with First Strike and Deathtouch negate trample?

It is unlikely to negate trample on its own. If the first strike and deathtouch creature destroys the blockers before damage is assigned then, trample can be dealt to the defending player, however, without first or double strike, the creature with trample will deal damage alongside the blocker. If you want to negate trample, use first strike or double strike together with deathtouch.

9. What happens if a creature with First Strike blocks a creature with Double Strike?

The creature with double strike deals combat damage in both the first strike damage step and the normal damage step. If a creature with only first strike blocks it, the creature with first strike deals its combat damage in the first strike damage step. If the first strike damage kills the double strike creature, then no more combat damage is dealt by the double strike creature. If the first strike creature survives then both damage steps will apply, and the creature with double strike will deal damage again in the second damage step.

10. Does Hexproof stop Deathtouch?

No, hexproof only prevents a creature from being the target of spells or abilities your opponents control. Deathtouch is an ability that modifies how damage from a creature is treated. Deathtouch does not target, so hexproof does not prevent it.

11. Can I block with multiple creatures?

Yes, you can block with multiple creatures against a single attacking creature. You can choose which attacking creature you want to block with each of your defending creatures.

12. Does Deathtouch cancel out another instance of Deathtouch?

No, two instances of deathtouch do not cancel each other out. Both instances of the ability will function as intended. A creature with two deathtouch abilities functions the same as a creature with one.

13. If a creature has Deathtouch, can a blocker take into account that the damage is lethal?

Yes. The blocker can consider that any combat damage dealt by a creature with deathtouch is lethal. Therefore, damage from a deathtouch creature can cause a blocker to be killed or otherwise removed from combat.

14. Does first strike have any impact when defending?

Yes, first strike also applies when a creature is defending. A creature with first strike will deal combat damage in the first strike damage step, before creatures without first strike. This allows the first strike blocker to potentially deal lethal damage to an attacker before it gets to deal its normal combat damage.

15. What happens when a creature with Double Strike is blocked by multiple creatures?

A creature with double strike will deal damage in both damage steps. When blocked by multiple creatures, it will deal damage to all of those blockers during each damage step. The damage allocation will depend on the attacking player’s decisions, and they can destroy blockers in both the first strike and normal combat damage step.

Leave a Comment