How does Glyph of Warding work with concentration spells?
Glyph of Warding allows a concentration spell to be stored within it, which can be triggered later without requiring the caster to maintain concentration on the spell, as the glyph itself sustains the spell’s effect for its duration once triggered. This means that concentration spells can be used with Glyph of Warding without worrying about the caster losing concentration when casting another spell that requires concentration.
Understanding Glyph of Warding and Concentration Spells
To delve deeper into how Glyph of Warding works with concentration spells, it’s essential to understand the basics of both components. Glyph of Warding is a spell that allows you to create a magical glyph that can store another spell, which is triggered under specific conditions that you set. Concentration spells, on the other hand, are spells that require the caster to maintain concentration to keep the spell’s effect active.
Key Aspects of Glyph of Warding
- Spell Storage: Glyph of Warding can store a spell of up to the same level as the slot used for the glyph.
- Concentration: The stored spell does not require the caster to maintain concentration once the glyph is triggered.
- Trigger Conditions: The spell stored in the glyph is triggered based on conditions set by the caster, such as a creature entering a specific area or touching an object.
Frequently Asked Questions
-
Can you stack concentration spells with Glyph of Warding? Yes, since the glyph does not require concentration to maintain the spell effect once triggered, you can effectively stack concentration spells using Glyph of Warding.
-
Does Glyph of Warding use two spell slots? Storing a spell in your glyph of warding requires a 3rd-level spell slot for the glyph and a spell slot for the spell you want to trigger later.
-
What are the limitations of the glyph of warding? The only limitation is that the object upon which the glyph is cast must not move more than 10 feet from its original position, and the glyph can cover an area no larger than 10 feet in diameter.
-
What are the rules for the glyph of warding? If you choose a surface, the glyph can cover an area of the surface no larger than 10 feet in diameter. If you choose an object, that object must remain in its place; if the object is moved more than 10 feet from where you cast this spell, the glyph is broken.
-
Is a glyph of Warding a trap? A glyph of warding can act as a trap by guarding a bridge, warding a portal, or trapping a chest, triggering its effect when a creature enters the warded area or opens the warded object without the password.
-
Can you cast glyph of Warding multiple times? Yes, you can cast Glyph of Warding multiple times, requiring a spell slot for the glyph and potentially another for the spell stored within it each time.
-
Can you use Glyph of Warding on a weapon? No, according to the spell’s description, the stored spell must target a single creature or an area, not an object, so it cannot be used to imbue a weapon with effects like Holy Weapon.
-
Does Glyph of Consecration reduce damage? The total damage of Consecration is unchanged by this glyph.
-
What is the glyph of warding used for? The best use of Glyph of Warding is to pile multiple buffs onto teammates using buff spells that normally require concentration and creating defensive areas.
-
Can you store 9th-level spells in a glyph of Warding? With a high enough level, spells up to 8th level can be stored in a glyph by using an 8th or 9th-level spell slot, and theoretically, a 9th-level spell could be stored by casting Glyph of Warding and the spell at the same time.
-
Can you put wish in a glyph of Warding? If you can find a way to cast two 9th-level spells, Wish has an interesting interaction with Glyph of Warding, where Wish doesn’t take effect until the glyph triggers.
-
Do ritual spells count for spell slots? Casting a spell as a Ritual does not consume a spell slot, but ritual spells cannot be cast at a higher level.
-
What happens if you cast two concentration spells? Normally, you cannot concentrate on two spells at once, but there are specific conditions and abilities that allow for exceptions, such as one of the spells being a cantrip or cast with a slot no higher than half the caster’s spellcasting ability modifier rounded down.
-
Can you have 2 concentration spells? Under specific conditions, such as one spell being a cantrip or of a low enough level, you can concentrate on two spells at once, but you make concentration saving throws at disadvantage.
-
Can you upcast spells with glyph of Warding? Technically, you could upcast Glyph of Warding to raise the limit of the spell level you can store in it, but you’d still face limitations based on available spell slots and levels.
By understanding how Glyph of Warding works with concentration spells and exploring the related FAQs, players and Dungeon Masters alike can leverage this powerful tool to create complex strategies and scenarios in their D&D games, enhancing gameplay and storytelling. Whether for defensive buffs, area control, or ingenious traps, Glyph of Warding offers a versatile option that can significantly impact the game’s dynamics.