How does Hammer of Nazahn work?

Unveiling the Might of Hammer of Nazahn: A Comprehensive Guide

Hammer of Nazahn is a powerful piece of Equipment in Magic: The Gathering (MTG), capable of dramatically altering the battlefield dynamics. Its primary function is to rapidly equip itself and other equipment, providing a substantial power boost and indestructibility to the creatures wielding them. Specifically, Hammer of Nazahn has the following card text: “Whenever Hammer of Nazahn or another Equipment enters the battlefield under your control, you may attach that Equipment to target creature you control. Equipped creature gets +2/+0 and has indestructible.” This text outlines a two-part effect: a triggered ability that allows for free equipment attachments and a static ability granting +2/+0 and indestructible to the equipped creature. Let’s delve deeper into how this potent artifact functions.

Understanding the Core Mechanics

Triggered Attachment

The most significant aspect of Hammer of Nazahn is its triggered ability. This ability activates whenever Hammer of Nazahn itself, or any other Equipment, enters the battlefield under your control. When this occurs, you have the option (the card text uses “may”) to attach that Equipment to a target creature you control. This is a crucial element, allowing you to circumvent the typical “equip” cost, which usually needs to be paid at sorcery speed. This makes it incredibly efficient to set up and re-equip your creatures, especially when you’re deploying multiple pieces of Equipment.

Power Boost and Indestructibility

The other part of the Hammer’s effect is a static ability that enhances the equipped creature. While equipped, the creature receives +2/+0, making it a more aggressive threat. More importantly, the equipped creature gains indestructible. This is a game-changer, preventing the creature from being destroyed by damage or effects that say “destroy.” This does not make it impervious to all removal, as other effects like sacrifice or exile will bypass indestructible. Still, it makes the creature much harder to deal with through conventional means.

Strategic Implications

Hammer of Nazahn’s effects combine to create a potent combination of fast attachment, aggressive boosts, and resilience. It’s ideal for decks centered around Equipment synergies, particularly those using multiple pieces of Equipment. The ability to quickly transfer an Equipment to another creature as others are brought into play can create a powerful, dynamic board state. The synergy is compounded by the fact that even if the equipped creature becomes subject to exile or sacrifice, the equipment remains, ready to be moved again through the trigger ability.

Early and Late Game Utility

Early in the game, Hammer of Nazahn can enable an immediate power and resilience boost to a single creature. This can be particularly important with early aggression strategies or to help your creatures survive the initial push from opponents. Late-game, when more Equipment is available, Hammer of Nazahn can facilitate a rapid re-equipping strategy, transferring the resilience bonus and attack boosts to different creatures as needed and rapidly scaling the offensive potential.

Limitations

While very strong, Hammer of Nazahn has some limitations. It cannot target or equip creatures you do not control, and it cannot attach to itself if it becomes a creature. Its main utility is as a reactive equipping enabler, so it is vulnerable to board wipe spells or effects that remove or counter triggered abilities and spells.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. Can you equip creatures you don’t control using Hammer of Nazahn?

No, the triggered ability of Hammer of Nazahn specifically states that you may attach Equipment to a “target creature you control”. This means you cannot use this ability to equip your opponent’s creatures, though the static boost will still apply to anything equipped, even if the other player gains control.

2. If the equipped creature dies, what happens to the equipment?

If the equipped creature dies, the Equipment will simply become unattached and remain on the battlefield. It does not go to the graveyard, and it is then available to be attached to a different creature.

3. Can you sacrifice a creature equipped with Hammer of Nazahn?

Yes, you can sacrifice a creature equipped with Hammer of Nazahn. Indestructible prevents destruction, but not other forms of removal like sacrifice. The Equipment will remain on the field after the creature is sacrificed.

4. If you gain control of a creature equipped with Hammer of Nazahn, do you gain control of the equipment?

No. Gaining control of a creature does not grant you control of the Equipment attached to it. The Equipment remains under its original controller, who can still use it. You still get the benefits from the +2/+0 and the indestructible, but the other player can move it.

5. Does indestructible prevent a creature from dying if its toughness is reduced to zero?

No, indestructible does not prevent a creature from dying if its toughness is reduced to zero. Effects like Grasp of Darkness or Pestilent Haze can still send an indestructible creature to the graveyard.

6. Can Hammer of Nazahn equip itself if it becomes a creature?

No, if Hammer of Nazahn itself becomes a creature, it cannot equip itself, nor can another copy be attached to it. Equipment can only be attached to creatures, not other pieces of equipment that become creatures.

7. Does Hammer of Nazahn’s trigger activate when the equip ability of another equipment is used?

No, Hammer of Nazahn’s trigger only activates when an equipment enters the battlefield under your control, not when you use the equip ability of another piece of equipment.

8. If you transform a creature, does the equipment attached to it fall off?

No, transforming a permanent does not affect any Auras or Equipment attached to it. The Equipment remains attached to the transformed creature.

9. If you copy a creature equipped with Hammer of Nazahn, does the copy have the equipment?

No, copying a creature does not copy Equipment attached to it, nor does it copy the effects of that equipment. You would just get a copy of the base creature.

10. Does deathtouch cancel deathtouch if two creatures with deathtouch battle each other?

No. Deathtouch does not cancel out with another instance of Deathtouch. Any amount of damage will result in the destruction of the creature that has taken damage. Two instances of Deathtouch against each other do not negate the effect.

11. If an Equipment is also a creature, can it equip another creature?

No, an Equipment that is also a creature cannot equip another creature. An Equipment must be an artifact and not a creature itself to be able to use its equip ability.

12. Does a creature with summoning sickness get summoning sickness again if its equipped with Hammer of Nazahn?

The creature is subject to summoning sickness only when it has not been under your control since the beginning of your most recent turn. When you equip the creature, you do not lose control of the creature itself and it remains under the control of the same player. The creature remains subject to summoning sickness based on when you initially gained control of it. If you gain control of a new creature and equip it with Hammer, then the creature will be affected by summoning sickness.

13. Can you sacrifice an indestructible creature?

Yes, indestructible only prevents destruction by damage and destroy effects, not by sacrifice. A creature with indestructible can still be sacrificed.

14. If you destroy a creature will this stop its triggered ability?

No, once a triggered ability is on the stack, it exists independently of its source. Destroying the creature that created the trigger does not stop the ability from resolving.

15. Does Hexproof protect against all card effects?

No, Hexproof protects against any spells or abilities that target. It does not protect against effects that do not target, such as board wipes, or effects from a specific card type or color. Only from effects that use the word ‘target’.

Conclusion

Hammer of Nazahn is a unique and powerful piece of Equipment, offering a potent blend of fast attachment, power boosts, and resilience. Mastering its triggered ability is key to making the most of its potential in your deck and can transform an average board into an unstoppable force. Its strategic value, in both early and late games, makes it a valuable tool in many MTG decks. Understanding the finer details of its mechanics and how it interacts with other game rules and cards is crucial for fully utilizing its strength and exploiting its full potential on the battlefield.

Leave a Comment