How Does Spell Storing Work? Unlocking the Secrets of Magic in Objects
How does spell storing work? In essence, spell storing involves imbuing an object with magical energy, allowing it to hold a spell for later use. This process isn’t about simply copying a spell; it’s about capturing and containing its essence within the item. The specific mechanics depend on the type of object and its magical properties, but generally, a spellcaster casts the spell into the item, which then becomes a vessel for that spell’s power. Think of it as a magical battery, storing potential energy until it’s released. The stored spell can then be activated by the attuned wearer. This functionality opens up a unique dynamic in how spells are used, blurring the lines between spellcasting and item usage, enabling some powerful combinations. The process often requires a magical item specifically designed for spell storage, like the Ring of Spell Storing. Let’s delve deeper into the complexities of spell storing, exploring how it functions and its limitations.
Spell Storing Item Mechanics
The process of storing a spell typically involves a few key steps:
- The Caster: A spellcaster, usually with the ability to cast the spell being stored, is required. They are not copying the spell; they are transferring its magical energy and essence into the item.
- The Object: A specially crafted object, like the aforementioned Ring of Spell Storing, acts as the recipient and container of the spell.
- The Casting: The spellcaster casts the spell, directing its energy into the object. The spell doesn’t take its normal effect at this time. Instead, it’s imprinted within the object.
- The Storage: The object holds the spell, usually for a limited duration or until its maximum storage capacity is reached. This capacity is often measured in spell levels.
- The Activation: An attuned creature, often anyone who has attunement, can trigger the release of the stored spell. The item acts as an intermediary, allowing someone to produce the spell’s effect as if they cast it themselves.
Key Considerations
Several elements determine the functionality of spell storing:
- Attunement: Many spell storing items require attunement by a creature to use the stored spells. This process creates a magical bond between the user and the item, granting them access to the stored magic.
- Spell Level Limits: Items usually have a maximum spell level or total levels that can be stored. The Ring of Spell Storing for instance can store up to five levels of spells at a time.
- Storage Duration: Some items may have a time limit on how long a spell can remain stored. Others hold a spell until it is used or replaced.
- Caster Attributes: When a stored spell is cast, it typically uses the original caster’s spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability. This means the spell will be powered by the skill of the person who originally stored it.
- Spell Components: Usually, the user must still provide the components (material, somatic, verbal) required to activate the stored spell, though some items may bypass this. This means, you will need to be able to speak, move your hands, and have the required material for the spell to be released, when using a stored spell.
- Number of Uses: Some items allow the stored spell to be used multiple times, often based on the original caster’s Intelligence modifier.
- Concentration: If a stored spell requires concentration, the creature using the item must concentrate as if they were the original caster.
Spell Storing FAQs
Here are some frequently asked questions to further clarify how spell storing works:
1. Does using a spell storing item count as casting a spell?
No. While the effect of the stored spell is produced, the creature using the item is not actually casting the spell. Instead, the item is “producing the spell’s effect.” This distinction means that the effect cannot be counterspelled.
2. Can non-spellcasters use a spell storing item?
Yes, as long as they are attuned (if required), any creature can use a spell storing item and cast the spells within. They do not need to be a spellcaster themselves to activate the spell stored.
3. How do spell slots interact with spell storing?
The spells stored in an item use the spell slots from the original caster when they are being stored and have no further interaction. However, to store the spell the caster needs to expend their own spell slot as they cast the spell into the item.
4. Can I store cantrips in a Ring of Spell Storing?
No, a Ring of Spell Storing specifically states that it can only store spells of 1st through 5th level. It cannot hold cantrips (0-level spells).
5. Can a familiar use a spell storing item?
Yes, a familiar can use a spell storing item if they are attuned (if required). However, they still need to provide the components (verbal, somatic, and material) to activate the spell. Depending on the familiar, this might not always be possible.
6. Can you attune to multiple rings of spell storing?
Yes, you can attune to more than one Ring of Spell Storing at the same time. However, you cannot attune to multiple copies of the same item. For example, you could not have two Ring of Spell Storing if both are the same, only different ones.
7. Can you use metamagic with a stored spell?
Yes, if the item says “you cast the spell” or similar language, then you can apply metamagic options to the stored spell.
8. Can you store a bonus action spell?
Yes, you can store a bonus action spell in a spell storing item, however, when activated, it will still take your bonus action to cast, and it will have the standard limitations to casting other spells that turn.
9. How are stored spell levels calculated in an item with a level limit?
Most items have a total spell level limit, not a limit to the number of individual spells. For example, the Ring of Spell Storing can store a 5th-level spell, or a 3rd-level spell and a 2nd-level spell, but cannot store a 3rd-level spell and two 2nd-level spells at once as that would be 7 levels of spells.
10. Is a spell slot used when using a stored spell?
No, a spell slot is only used by the original caster when they cast the spell into the item. No slot is used when activated.
11. Does the stored spell have the original caster’s spell save DC?
Yes, the stored spell uses the original caster’s spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability, making the stored spells as effective as when the original caster used them.
12. Can you cast two spells if one is stored in an item?
Yes, the rules around bonus actions and action spells still apply, and casting a spell from a spell storing item does not exempt you from these rules. You can only cast one spell as an action and one spell as a bonus action during a single turn, the exception is a bonus action spell, which limits your action to only a cantrip.
13. Does using a wand count as casting a spell?
No, using a wand does not count as casting a spell and that is a distinction. The user is merely producing a spell’s effect using an item. In this situation, the item is casting the spell not the user. However, the rules are different with scrolls, where you are the caster.
14. Do I need to maintain concentration when I activate a stored spell that requires it?
Yes, if the stored spell requires concentration, the user who activates the item must maintain concentration as if they had cast the spell themselves.
15. Do you have to see someone cast a spell to store it?
No. You do not need to see a spell be cast to use it later. As long as the item is correctly attuned, when an item requires it, and the spell is correctly stored, then any creature can use the item regardless of how they came to possess it.
Spell storing is a fascinating and complex part of magical item usage in many systems, offering unique tactical and strategic options for players. By understanding the nuances of these rules, you can unlock the full potential of these magical objects and the powerful spells they hold.