How does The Ozolith work?
The Ozolith is a powerful artifact card in Magic: The Gathering that allows players to move +1/+1 counters from creatures that leave the battlefield onto itself, and then onto other creatures at the beginning of combat. By utilizing triggered abilities and static abilities, The Ozolith provides a unique way to manage and distribute counters among creatures, making it a valuable addition to various deck builds.
Understanding The Ozolith’s Abilities
The Ozolith has two main abilities: one that allows it to gain +1/+1 counters from creatures that leave the battlefield, and another that enables players to move those counters onto other creatures at the beginning of combat. This synergistic combination makes The Ozolith an attractive choice for players seeking to create powerful creature combinations.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is The Ozolith’s first ability?
The Ozolith’s first ability triggers whenever a creature controlled by the player leaves the battlefield, allowing the player to move any +1/+1 counters from that creature onto The Ozolith.
How does The Ozolith interact with Modular?
The Ozolith and Modular are both triggered abilities that create new +1/+1 counters on target creatures, but they do not move existing counters, which might cause them to be unavailable for the other ability.
What is a Ozolith?
The term “Ozolith” is derived from the Greek word “όζος” (ozos), meaning “branch” or “twig“, and the Russian word “узел” (uzel), meaning “knot“, which aligns with the card’s description of twisting upwards around a core.
What is the Ikoria set symbol?
The Ikoria set symbol is a monstrous eye, and the Showcase cards feature a comic book style, connected to the mutate mechanic.
How does Proliferate work in Magic: The Gathering?
Proliferate is a keyword action that allows players to choose any number of players and/or permanents with counters on them and put another of each kind of counter already there on these players or permanents.
Does Ozolith trigger Hardened Scales?
Yes, The Ozolith triggers Hardened Scales, which can lead to significant increases in +1/+1 counters on creatures.
How does Maskwood Nexus work?
Maskwood Nexus is a colorless card that allows creatures with different types to benefit from each other’s tribal abilities, while also providing an unending stream of 2/2 creatures that share in those tribal effects.
What is ETBS in Magic: The Gathering?
ETBS stands for “Enters the Battlefield“, referring to the process of putting a permanent onto the battlefield or triggering an ability when a permanent is put onto the battlefield.
Does The Ozolith work with +1 counters?
The Ozolith can gain +1/+1 counters, but these counters only have an effect if The Ozolith becomes a creature.
Is Modular an ETB triggered ability?
Modular is both a static ability and a triggered ability, representing a keyword ability that allows a permanent to enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters and move those counters to other artifact creatures.
Does Hardened Scales double counters?
No, Hardened Scales does not double +1/+1 counters, but instead adds a fixed number of counters to creatures controlled by the player.
How does Inkmoth Nexus work?
Inkmoth Nexus is a land that can become a 1/1 Phyrexian Blinkmoth artifact creature with flying and infect until the end of the turn.
Is Maskwood Nexus better than Arcane Adaptation?
Maskwood Nexus is generally more powerful than Arcane Adaptation, but the choice between the two ultimately depends on the specific needs of the player’s deck.
Is Maskwood Nexus a blue card?
No, Maskwood Nexus is a colorless card, and although it allows players to create blue token creatures, it itself is not blue.
Are artifacts permanents in Magic: The Gathering?
Yes, artifacts are a type of permanent in Magic: The Gathering, defined by the Comprehensive Rules.
Can I proliferate 1/+1 counters?
Yes, players can proliferate +1/+1 counters using the Proliferate keyword action.
Can you proliferate for zero?
Yes, players can choose to proliferate zero permanents or players, effectively passing the turn without adding any counters.
Can you proliferate +1 counters?
Yes, players can proliferate +1/+1 counters onto permanents or players that already have +1/+1 counters, increasing the total number of counters.