How long can you hold a prepared spell?

How long can you hold a prepared spell?

You can hold a prepared spell until the trigger occurs, and the only thing that can cause the spell to be lost is to lose concentration. The duration for which a spell can be held is not explicitly limited by time, but rather by the caster’s ability to maintain focus and concentration on the spell.

Understanding Prepared Spells

To delve deeper into the concept of holding prepared spells, it’s essential to understand how prepared spells work. Whenever a character capable of preparing spells finishes a long rest, they prepare a list of spells that they are capable of casting that day from their class’s spell list.

FAQs About Prepared Spells

General Questions

  1. Can you use a prepared spell more than once? Yes, you can cast any spell you have prepared as many times as you have spell slots.
  2. How many times can you cast a prepared spell? You can cast any spell of a given level a number of times equal to the number of spell slots you have of that level.
  3. How does preparing a spell work? Preparing a new list of spells requires time spent in prayer and meditation for clerics or studying your spellbook for wizards, with at least 1 minute per spell level for each spell on your list.
  4. What is the duration of a spell? A spell’s duration is the length of time the spell persists, which can be expressed in rounds, minutes, hours, or even years.

Specific Spellcasting Scenarios

  1. Can you cast a prepared spell and a cantrip in the same turn? You can’t cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
  2. Do always prepared spells count against your daily limit? No, once you gain a domain spell or an oath spell, you always have it prepared, and it doesn’t count against the number of spells you can prepare each day.
  3. Can you change your prepared spells? Yes, you can change your list of prepared spells when you finish a long rest.

Spell Types and Limitations

  1. Can you counterspell a prepared spell? Yes, Counterspell must be used when the spell is cast, on the caster’s turn.
  2. Can you have more prepared spells than spell slots? No, the rules mean that you can only ever prepare as many spells of a given level as you have slots in that level.
  3. Do ritual spells count against prepared spells? No, ritual spells do not consume a spell slot, and do not need to be prepared for classes like the Wizard.

Class-Specific Questions

  1. How many prepared spells can a level 1 wizard have? The number of spells that a wizard can prepare is their Intelligence modifier plus their level.
  2. Can a Paladin turn undead? Yes, a Cleric or Paladin possessing Turn Undead gains additional charges equal to their Charisma modifier.

Miscellaneous

  1. What is the least useful spell in Harry Potter? Some spells, such as Brackium Emendo, Lumos/Nox, Locomotor Wibbly, are considered less useful or even potentially damaging.
  2. What spell killed Voldemort? Harry used Expelliarmus, a disarming spell, on Voldemort in the final battle.
  3. Can cantrips be changed? Yes, when you gain a level, you may swap one cantrip for another that you have available, and as a Downtime Activity, a cantrip can be swapped for another after 10 days of practice and the expenditure of 20gp.

Leave a Comment